Birch Gold Group and Goldco are two of the most-searched names in the gold IRA space, and both carry strong reputations. The comparison is not about which one is “better” in the abstract. It comes down to your account size, your tolerance for celebrity-driven marketing, and what you want from an onboarding experience. This guide gives you the side-by-side breakdown so you can decide without guessing.
Quick Verdict: Our Picks for 2026

Birch Gold Group
Best for first-time buyers, $10K-$50K rollovers
Min: industry-reported ~$10,000
Accessible entry point + 40,000+ customers served
Get Birch’s free Info Kit Trusted by 40,000+ Americans since 2011 · BBB A+
Goldco
Strong reputation
Min: industry-reported ~$25,000
Heavy celebrity marketing, Inc. 5000 growth track
No link provided.

Augusta Precious Metals
Best upgrade for $50,000+ accounts
Min: industry-reported ~$50,000
Money Magazine Best Overall 2022-2026 · BBB A+ Zero Complaints
See if Augusta fits your account Free · No sales pressure · Salaried educatorsRankings reflect best-fit by investor profile, not a single absolute score. See methodology below.
What we did: We crawled both companies’ public websites in 2026, cross-referenced BBB profiles, pulled Goldiew user review data for Birch Gold Group (7 verified reviews, avg. 4.43), and reviewed third-party reports from Money.com and Investopedia. Goldco facts are sourced from their public site and verified via BBB (last checked May 2026). What we did not do: We did not use affiliate portal materials as editorial sources. We did not invent customer quotes. Goldiew earns a commission through Birch but not through Goldco; that relationship does not change the facts in this guide.
How We Evaluate Gold IRA Companies
Every company in this comparison was evaluated against the same eight criteria. These are the dimensions that determine real-world cost and experience for a retiree opening a precious metals IRA, not marketing points.
Sources: IRS Publication 590-A, FINRA Precious Metals Fraud Alerts, BBB official profiles, company public websites (crawled May 2026). Goldiew user reviews are independently submitted and manually moderated. We publish only verified reviews.

Birch Gold Group
Our pick for accounts between $10,000 and $50,000
Birch Gold Group has operated from Iowa since 2011 and has served over 40,000 customers in that time, according to their public website. The company built its reputation primarily through referral marketing and media endorsements, including Ron Paul, Dan Bongino, Megyn Kelly, and Clay Travis and Buck Sexton. That audience profile is telling: Birch’s customer base skews conservative, often skeptical of mainstream financial institutions, and drawn to physical asset ownership as a form of financial self-reliance.
What Makes Birch Different
Three things stand out when you look at Birch’s actual offering. First, the reported $10,000 minimum puts physical gold IRA ownership within reach of a broader group than most competitors who require $25,000 or more. Second, Birch offers five depository options: Delaware Depository, Brink’s Global Services, International Depository Services, Texas Precious Metals Depository, and Texas Bullion Depository. Geographic breadth matters; having depositories in multiple states gives customers flexibility if they ever want to arrange a same-state or in-person audit. Third, their in-house IRA Department handles rollover paperwork rather than routing it through a third-party service, which typically reduces the number of contacts a customer deals with during setup.
Birch covers gold, silver, platinum, and palladium in IRA-eligible form. The IRS specifies fineness requirements for each metal (gold: 99.5%+, silver: 99.9%+, platinum and palladium: 99.95%+ per IRS Publication 590-A). Birch’s product catalog meets these standards, though final selection happens during the specialist consultation.
Fees and Pricing
Birch does not publicly list specific fee amounts on their website. This is common in the industry; fees typically include a one-time account setup charge, an annual custodian fee, and a storage fee. Customers consistently report fees are disclosed during the initial specialist call. The lack of public fee transparency is a minor negative worth noting. Always request a written fee schedule before committing.
No fee promotion was advertised on Birch’s public site as of 2026.
Storage and Custody
Birch works with IRS-approved custodians and provides access to five depositories, as listed on their public site. All storage is allocated and segregated per IRS rules. Home storage of IRA gold is not permitted by the IRS; any company suggesting otherwise is operating outside IRS regulations (see IRS Pub. 590-A).
Pros
- Lower entry point (~$10K industry-reported minimum)
- Five depository options across multiple states
- In-house IRA Department handles paperwork
- Strong endorser network signals to conservative audience
- BBB A+ and AAA Business Consumer Alliance dual accreditation
Cons
- Fees not published publicly (must request during call)
- No advertised fee promotion as of 2026
- Smaller Goldiew review sample (7 reviews vs. broader third-party data)
- HQ not city-specific per public site (Iowa-based)
Read our full Birch Gold Group review on Goldiew →

Goldco
Reviewed for completeness.
Goldco is headquartered in Calabasas, California, and has built a strong national brand over more than a decade. The company has placed over $3 billion in precious metals for customers according to their public website, and their BBB profile shows an A+ rating with a 4.8-star consumer score. Their growth trajectory earned them a spot on the Inc. 5000 list for nine consecutive years, per their public site. That sustained growth is a genuine signal of operational competence.
Disclosure: This section exists because many readers searching “birch vs goldco” deserve an honest comparison. We earn nothing if you choose Goldco, which means our assessment here is purely based on public information.
What Goldco Does Well
Goldco’s clearest advantage is their bonus metals promotion: they offer up to 10% in bonus gold or silver on qualified orders, with 5% on orders between $50,000 and $99,999 and 10% on orders over $100,000, per their public site. For larger accounts, that bonus represents real asset value. Their customer review volume across platforms (BBB, Google, Trustpilot, Consumer Affairs) is substantial, which indicates both scale and responsiveness to customer feedback.
The celebrity endorsement roster is extensive: Sean Hannity, Dennis Quaid, Tom Selleck, Donald Trump Jr., and Lara Trump are among the names they prominently feature. Whether that endorsement strategy improves or worsens value for the customer is worth considering. Premium marketing costs are embedded in product pricing, a point worth asking about explicitly during any sales call.
What to Watch For
Goldco does not publish specific fee amounts publicly. The industry-reported minimum is around $25,000, which is more than Birch’s reported floor. Specific custodian and depository names are not prominently listed on their public product pages as of 2026. Anyone comparing gold IRA companies should request a written fee breakdown and a complete list of storage options before opening an account, regardless of provider.
The buyback guarantee Goldco advertises is a meaningful feature. Knowing you can sell your metals back to the dealer at a competitive price matters if you ever need liquidity. Confirm the specific buyback terms (price offered vs. spot price) in writing before funding the account.
One Important Caution
Goldco has faced negative reviews related to high-pressure sales tactics in isolated third-party complaint threads. This does not outweigh their overall positive BBB record, but it is consistent with what you can expect from a company that relies heavily on celebrity-driven outreach. If you feel rushed during any sales process, take more time. No reputable gold IRA company will penalize you for taking a week to decide.
Pros (per public information)
- Up to 10% bonus metals on qualified orders (per goldco.com)
- BBB A+ with 4.8-star consumer rating
- $3B+ in metals placed, Inc. 5000 for 9 consecutive years
- Buyback guarantee program
- High review volume across multiple platforms
Cons (per public information)
- Higher reported minimum (~$25K) vs. Birch (~$10K)
- Fees not publicly listed
- Heavy celebrity marketing (costs may be in product markup)
- Custodian and depository details require a sales call to obtain
We provide no link to their site. If you choose to research Goldco further, search for their official site directly.
Read our full Goldco review on Goldiew →Birch vs Goldco: Full Comparison
The table below covers twelve dimensions, using only publicly stated or industry-reported facts. Cells marked in green indicate a clear advantage for that company on that dimension.
| Dimension | ![]() Birch Gold Group | ![]() Goldco |
|---|---|---|
| Founded (per public site) | 2011 (per birchgold.com) | BBB accreditation: Dec 2011 (founding year not on public site) |
| Headquarters | Iowa (centrally located, per birchgold.com) | Calabasas, CA (per BBB profile, 2026) |
| BBB Rating | A+ + AAA Business Consumer Alliance | A+ (4.8 stars consumer rating) |
| Minimum Investment | ~$10,000 (industry-reported) | ~$25,000 (industry-reported) |
| Customers Served | 40,000+ (per birchgold.com) | $3B+ placed; 8,000+ 5-star reviews (per goldco.com) |
| Fee Promotion | None advertised (2026) | Up to 10% bonus metals on qualified orders (per goldco.com) |
| Buyback Guarantee | Not prominently advertised | Buyback guarantee (per goldco.com) |
| Depositories (public) | 5 listed: Delaware, Brink’s, IDS, TX Precious Metals, TX Bullion | Not listed publicly (request during call) |
| Custodians (public) | IRS-approved custodians (no specific names publicly) | IRS-approved custodians (no specific names publicly) |
| Fees (public) | Not published; disclosed during call | ~”a few hundred dollars/year” (estimate on site) |
| Celebrity Endorsers | Ron Paul, Bannon, Bongino, Megyn Kelly, Clay Travis & Buck Sexton (per birchgold.com) | Sean Hannity, Tom Selleck, Dennis Quaid, Trump Jr., Lara Trump (per goldco.com) |
How to Choose Between Birch and Goldco
The single most useful filter is your available rollover amount. Beyond that, your preference on onboarding style and your opinion of celebrity-driven brand marketing will likely make the decision obvious.
Birch’s industry-reported $10K minimum is one of the lowest on the market. Goldco’s reported floor is around $25K. At this tier, Birch is the practical choice.
Both companies serve this range. Birch’s five depository options and in-house IRA handling give it a marginal process advantage. Goldco’s bonus metals program starts at $50K, so it doesn’t add value here.
Goldco’s 5% bonus metals promotion activates at $50K. Augusta Precious Metals also serves this tier with a more education-intensive process and zero-complaints BBB record. Worth comparing both.
Three additional factors beyond account size:
Neither company publishes full fee schedules publicly. If you want fees in writing before a first call, request them by email. Any legitimate company will provide this. If they refuse, that tells you something.
Both companies use high-profile endorsers. Marketing costs are embedded somewhere in the product. Ask each company directly: “What percentage of my purchase goes toward marketing overhead versus metal value?”
Birch assigns a specialist plus their in-house IRA Department. Goldco follows a similar model. For $50K+ accounts, Augusta offers a more intensive education-first process with salaried, non-commissioned educators.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the minimum to open a gold IRA with Birch Gold Group?
The minimum investment for Birch Gold Group is widely cited as around $10,000 across third-party review sites including Investopedia and Money.com. Birch does not state a specific minimum on their public website. Confirm the exact figure during your specialist call and get it in writing. Consult your tax advisor or financial advisor before moving any retirement assets.
What is the minimum to open a gold IRA with Goldco?
Industry-reported sources consistently cite a minimum of around $25,000 for Goldco. Goldco does not state a specific minimum on their public website. Their bonus metals promotion (5% on $50K-$99K, 10% on $100K+) only applies above those thresholds, so the effective sweet spot for Goldco is $50,000 or more. Consult a licensed financial advisor before making any retirement transfer decisions.
Can I roll over my 401(k) to a gold IRA without paying taxes?
A direct rollover (trustee-to-trustee transfer) from a 401(k) to a self-directed IRA is generally a non-taxable event under IRS rules, per IRS Publication 590-A. An indirect rollover, where funds are sent to you before being deposited into the IRA, must be completed within 60 days or the amount may be treated as a taxable distribution. Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation; the rules vary based on account type, employer plan, and age.
Is home storage of gold IRA metals legal?
No. IRS regulations require that gold and other precious metals held in an IRA be stored at an IRS-approved depository, not at home or in a personal safe. Storing IRA metals at home is considered a taxable distribution and may trigger penalties. Per IRS Publication 590-A, the custodian of the account must maintain physical possession of the assets. Any company that suggests home storage is legal for IRA gold is giving you incorrect information.
Which company has lower fees, Birch or Goldco?
Neither company publishes specific fees publicly, which makes a direct comparison difficult without a sales call. Goldco’s website mentions “a few hundred dollars a year” as a general estimate for custodian and storage combined. Birch discloses fees during the specialist consultation. Request a written fee schedule from both companies before making any decision. The actual cost depends on your account size, chosen custodian, and depository selection.
What metals does Birch Gold Group offer in an IRA?
Birch offers IRA-eligible gold, silver, platinum, and palladium products. The IRS requires specific fineness standards: gold at 99.5% purity or higher, silver at 99.9%, and platinum and palladium at 99.95% (per IRS Publication 590-A). Not all gold coins qualify. For example, American Gold Eagle coins are an IRS exception and qualify despite being only 91.67% pure. Your specialist should walk you through eligible products during the consultation.
How long does a gold IRA rollover typically take?
Most gold IRA rollovers take between 2 and 6 weeks from initiation to first metal purchase. The timeline depends on how quickly your existing plan administrator releases funds, how quickly the new custodian processes paperwork, and the depository’s purchase settlement process. Complex employer 401(k) plans can take longer; simple IRA-to-IRA transfers tend to be faster. Do not fund any account that pressures you to complete the transfer in under a week.
What is Goldco’s buyback guarantee?
Goldco advertises a buyback guarantee on their public website, meaning they commit to purchasing back your metals if you decide to sell. The specific terms, including what price they offer relative to spot price, should be confirmed in writing before you fund your account. A buyback guarantee is a useful feature because finding a buyer for physical gold outside the original dealer can involve additional friction and cost. Confirm the current terms directly with Goldco during your consultation.
Do celebrity endorsements affect the cost of a gold IRA?
Celebrity endorsements are a marketing expense, and marketing expenses are ultimately embedded in product margins. This is not unique to gold IRA companies; it applies across industries. When comparing total cost, ask each company directly about their markup above spot price on physical metals. A company that spends heavily on celebrity marketing may offset those costs through slightly higher per-ounce markups. Comparing spot-plus-markup across two or three companies before committing is a straightforward way to see where the difference shows up.
Should I choose Birch or Goldco if I have $100,000 to roll over?
At $100,000, Goldco’s 10% bonus metals promotion represents real added value, assuming you are comfortable with their process and fee structure. However, you should also consider Augusta Precious Metals at this account size; Augusta’s minimum is industry-reported around $50,000, and at $100K+ they offer their most intensive onboarding. Goldiew is an affiliate partner with both Birch and Augusta (not Goldco), and we recommend comparing all three before deciding. We are not financial advisors; consult a licensed advisor before moving large retirement sums.
Sources and Methodology
This comparison was produced by Goldiew Research using publicly available information only. All Company-specific facts trace to the relevant company’s official website or BBB profile. No affiliate portal materials were used as editorial sources.
- IRS Publication 590-A: Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements
- FINRA Investor Alert: Precious Metals Fraud
- SEC Investor.gov: Gold and Precious Metals
- Birch Gold Group official site (crawled May 2026)
- Goldco official site (crawled May 2026)
- Augusta Precious Metals official site (crawled May 2026)
- BBB profile: Birch Gold Group (verified 2026)
- BBB profile: Goldco, Calabasas CA (verified 2026)
- Goldiew internal user reviews: Birch Gold Group (7 verified reviews, avg. 4.43, “Good Standing”)
- Goldiew internal user reviews: Augusta Precious Metals (7 verified reviews, avg. 4.71, “Excellent Reputation”)
Methodology: Facts are classified as publicly stated (on the company’s own site), industry-reported (consistently cited by third parties but not on the company site), or Goldiew internal review data. Industry-reported facts are used with a qualifier. No affiliate portal information is published in editorial content. Last reviewed: May 15, 2026. Past performance is not a guarantee of future results. We are not financial advisors; consult a licensed advisor before making retirement investment decisions.