Augusta Precious Metals and Birch Gold Group are two of the most-searched gold IRA providers in the United States. Both hold a Better Business Bureau A+ rating, both serve all 50 states, and both have spent over a decade in the precious metals retirement market. The differences that matter for your decision live in the details: minimum account size, sales-staff compensation, depository options, and the style of onboarding you actually want.
Quick Verdict: Augusta vs Birch at a Glance

Augusta Precious Metals
Best for investors with $50,000 or more in eligible retirement funds who want salaried, non-commissioned educators and a multi-year fee waiver on qualifying rollovers.

Birch Gold Group
Best for smaller accounts of about $10,000 to $50,000 who want a lower entry point, a choice of five named depositories, and an in-house IRA paperwork team.
Account-size minimums are industry-reported figures; neither company publishes a minimum on its home page. Confirm during the free consultation.
Why trust this comparison
Verified against partner sites on May 14, 2026
How We Compared Augusta and Birch
We score gold IRA companies on six dimensions informed by IRS retirement account rules, FINRA investor alerts on precious metals fraud, and Federal Trade Commission affiliate disclosure standards. Both Augusta and Birch are reviewed against the same checklist; the differences are described, not inflated.
Minimum investment threshold
The lowest dollar amount each company accepts for a self-directed IRA, sourced from third-party reviews (Money, Investopedia) since neither company publishes the figure on its home page.
Custodian and depository
IRS rules under Section 408(m) require a qualified custodian and an approved depository. We compare the storage choices each company actually names on its public site.
Sales-staff compensation
Salaried versus commissioned compensation changes the incentive structure for product recommendations. Few providers state this publicly; the ones that do earn a credibility advantage.
Onboarding style
Education-led, application-driven, or specialist-led. We look at how each company actually walks a new customer from inquiry to funded account.
Recognition and complaints
Current Better Business Bureau grade and complaint history, plus third-party rankings from Money and Investopedia where applicable.
Pricing transparency
We note whether annual fees are published, whether any waiver promotion exists, and the terms that gate eligibility.
Authority sources consulted in this comparison: IRS Publication 590-A and 590-B on IRA contributions and distributions, FINRA Investor Alerts on precious metals fraud, SEC investor.gov guidance, and the Better Business Bureau profiles for each company.
Goldiew incorporates verified user reviews submitted by retirement account holders who have used these companies. Our moderation policy requires manual verification before publication, in line with the FTC's 2024 rule on consumer reviews.
Based on our 6-point methodology, Augusta Precious Metals scores highest with Money Magazine #1 ranking (2022-2026), BBB A+ Zero Complaints, and salaried specialists.

Augusta Precious Metals
Education-First, $50K+ minimum, salaried educators
Augusta Precious Metals positions itself at the high-touch end of the gold IRA market. The company was founded in 2012 and is led by chief executive officer Isaac Nuriani. According to Augusta's site, it has been “trusted by American retirees since 2012.” Customer accounts are held through a qualified self-directed IRA custodian following IRS rules, with metals stored in an IRS-approved depository as required under Section 408(m).
Education-First Process
Augusta describes its onboarding publicly as a three-step Education-First Process: Learn with its 2026 Gold IRA Guide, Talk one-on-one with a salaried, non-commissioned educator, then Decide only if it makes sense for the investor (source: augustapreciousmetals.com). Devlyn Steele serves as Director of Education and leads the one-on-one web conferences.
The unusual element here is the compensation structure. Augusta's educators are salaried rather than commissioned, which the company states explicitly on its home page. That structurally reduces the incentive for staff to push premium products over IRA-appropriate bullion. Augusta also openly criticizes “celebrity endorsements built into pricing” and high-pressure sales tactics as red flags to watch for when comparing providers, an unusual stance for a company in this category.
Pricing and the fee waiver
Augusta does not publish a fee schedule on its home page. Specific pricing is disclosed during the free educational consultation. The company runs a multi-year fee waiver promotion for qualifying rollover accounts: the eligibility window, qualifying balance, and fees covered are confirmed during the call. Like every gold IRA provider, customers still pay a markup on the metals themselves and any buyback spread at distribution. The fee waiver does not eliminate metal markups, only the recurring IRA fees.
Augusta free consultation
Augusta publishes a free Gold IRA guide and offers a no-obligation educational consultation. Current promotional terms and qualifying conditions are reviewed during the call.
Get the current offer detailsCustodian, depository, and buyback
Augusta uses a qualified self-directed IRA custodian and IRS-approved depository storage. The company runs a buyback program that allows customers to sell metals back at the prevailing market spot when they take distributions. Specific custodian and depository names are confirmed during the consultation rather than published on the home page.
Recognition
According to Augusta's own site:
- Money Magazine Best Overall Gold IRA Company (2022 to 2026), five years running
- Investopedia Most Transparent Gold IRA Company (2022 to 2026)
- Better Business Bureau A+ with Zero Complaints, accredited since 2014
- 4,000+ 5-star ratings across Trustpilot, Google, and Consumer Affairs
Augusta Pros
- Salaried, non-commissioned educators, stated publicly on the company's home page
- Multi-year fee waiver for qualifying rollover accounts
- Education-First Process: Learn, Talk, Decide
- BBB A+ with Zero Complaints, accredited since 2014
- Money Magazine Best Overall Gold IRA, 2022 to 2026
- Investopedia Most Transparent, 2022 to 2026
- 4,000+ 5-star consumer ratings across major review sites
Augusta Cons
- Higher minimum than Birch (industry-reported around $50,000)
- Education-led process takes longer than a single sales call
- Custodian and depository names not published on the home page
- US residents only, primarily IRA-focused
- Not ideal for investors who want to skip the educational conversation
Augusta free Gold IRA guide
Augusta's free guide includes its company comparison checklist and the current qualifying conditions for the multi-year fee waiver.
Get Augusta's free guide
Birch Gold Group
$10K+ entry, five depository choices, media-endorsed
Birch Gold Group has been in business since 2011 and states it has been trusted by more than 40,000 Americans (source: birchgold.com). The company describes itself as headquartered centrally in the United States, specifically in Iowa, and serves customers across all 50 states. Birch's pitch leans toward storage flexibility and media-recognized brand presence rather than the fee-waiver model used by Augusta.
Public endorsements
Unlike Augusta, Birch foregrounds media endorsements as a brand signal. According to Birch's site, the company is endorsed by Ron Paul, Stephen K. Bannon, Clay Travis and Buck Sexton, Dan Bongino, Megyn Kelly, Chad Prather, and Lance Wallnau, among others. The brand is regularly featured on the Liberty Report with Ron Paul and the War Room with Steve Bannon. Whether endorsement-driven marketing is a positive depends on the investor's preferences, which is part of why Augusta's anti-celebrity stance and Birch's media-forward approach attract different audiences.
Custodian and depository
Birch states publicly that it works with IRS-approved custodians without naming a specific exclusive partner. Where Augusta keeps custodian and depository choices behind the consultation door, Birch lists five named depository options on its site:
- Delaware Depository
- Brink's Global Services
- International Depository Services
- Texas Precious Metals Depository
- Texas Bullion Depository
For an investor who specifically wants to choose where the metals sit, this is the clearest competitive advantage Birch holds over Augusta. Birch also states that storage is fully insured.
In-house IRA paperwork
Birch advertises a one-on-one Birch Gold Specialist plus an in-house IRA Department that handles rollover paperwork. The specialist team answers tax-related questions during onboarding (subject to the standard “consult your tax advisor” disclaimer that applies to any precious metals provider, not just Birch).
Recognition
Per Birch's site: BBB A+ rating, AAA rating from the Business Consumer Alliance, and multiple 5-star ratings on top consumer review sites. Birch does not advertise a Money Magazine or Investopedia ranking comparable to Augusta's.
Birch Pros
- Lower entry minimum than Augusta (industry-reported around $10,000)
- 40,000 plus customer base, in business since 2011
- BBB A+ and Business Consumer Alliance AAA
- Five named depository options publicly listed
- In-house IRA Department handles rollover paperwork
- Strong media presence for investors who follow Ron Paul or the endorsing hosts
Birch Cons
- No multi-year fee waiver comparable to Augusta's
- Heavy reliance on celebrity and political endorsements may not appeal to all audiences
- No Money or Investopedia top-ranking
- Sales-staff compensation structure not stated publicly
- Annual fees apply from year one
Birch Gold info kit
Request Birch's free educational materials and confirm current pricing with its in-house IRA team.
Visit Birch Gold GroupAugusta vs Birch: Full Side-by-Side
The table below summarizes every dimension that materially separates the two companies. Cells highlighted in green are points where one company holds a clear, publicly stated advantage. Cells marked not publicly stated reflect facts neither company publishes on its public site.
| Dimension | Augusta Precious Metals | Birch Gold Group |
|---|---|---|
| In business since | 2012 | 2011 |
| Headquarters | Beverly Hills, CA and Casper, WY | Iowa |
| Customer base / signal | 4,000+ five-star reviews | 40,000+ customers |
| BBB Rating | A+ with Zero Complaints (accredited 2014) | A+ |
| Goldiew Rating | 4.71 · Excellent | 4.43 · Good |
| Minimum (industry-reported) | ~$50,000 | ~$10,000 |
| Custodian disclosure | Qualified custodian, named during consultation | IRS-approved custodian, named during consultation |
| Depository options publicly named | Not publicly stated | Five named depositories |
| Onboarding style | Education-First (Learn, Talk, Decide) | Specialist + in-house IRA Department |
| Sales staff compensation | Salaried, non-commissioned | Not publicly stated |
| Multi-year fee waiver | Yes, qualifying terms apply | None advertised |
| Notable rankings | Money 2022 to 2026, Investopedia 2022 to 2026 | BCA AAA, media-endorsed |
| Public brand approach | Education-first, anti-celebrity-endorsement | Media-forward (Ron Paul, Bannon, others) |
| States available | All 50 | All 50 |
| Take action | Get Augusta free guide → | Get Birch Info Kit → |
How to Choose Between Augusta and Birch
The decision usually comes down to three variables: your eligible account balance, the type of onboarding you prefer, and how much weight you put on storage choice versus fee-waiver economics. The cards below map common situations to a clear pick.
Neither, yet
A gold IRA is rarely cost-effective below this level: annual custodian and storage fees consume a meaningful slice of a small account. Wait until you reach the entry threshold or consider direct precious metals purchase outside an IRA wrapper.
Birch Gold Group
Birch is the only one of the two with an industry-reported $10,000 minimum. In business since 2011 with 40,000 plus customers and five named depository options. Expect to pay annual IRA fees from year one.
Get Birch Info Kit →Augusta Precious Metals
The multi-year fee waiver materially changes the long-run economics at this size. Augusta's salaried, non-commissioned model and education-led onboarding match the seriousness of a five-to-six-figure retirement allocation.
Get Augusta guide →Augusta Precious Metals
Augusta's Education-First Process and lifetime team support assigned to the account align with the complexity and decades-long horizon of large retirement balances. The fee waiver carries proportionally larger savings at this size.
Get Augusta guide →Birch Gold Group
Investors who want to choose a Texas-based, Delaware-based, or Brink's-managed depository explicitly have Birch's five public choices. Augusta's storage is qualified but not selectable from a public list.
Get Birch Info Kit →Beyond account size and storage preference, weigh three additional factors before you decide:
Onboarding style
Augusta's educators are salaried and the process is built around a one-on-one web conference. Birch leans on a specialist plus an in-house paperwork team and tends to feel transactional faster.
Brand voice fit
Augusta openly distances itself from celebrity endorsements. Birch foregrounds endorsements from Ron Paul and other media figures. Pick the voice that matches your comfort level.
Total cost over a decade
At $50,000 or more, Augusta's qualifying fee waiver typically delivers lower IRA fees over a decade than Birch's standard annual schedule. Below that, the two are closer on annual fees.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Augusta better than Birch Gold?
For investors with $50,000 or more in eligible retirement funds, Augusta typically wins on three measurable dimensions: salaried (non-commissioned) educators stated publicly, a multi-year fee waiver on qualifying rollovers, and five-year top rankings from Money Magazine and Investopedia (2022 to 2026). For accounts of $10,000 to $50,000, Birch wins on entry threshold and gives explicit choice among five named depositories. The right answer depends on your account size and how much you value depository selection versus fee-waiver economics.
What is the minimum to open an account with Augusta vs Birch?
Augusta's minimum is industry-reported at around $50,000 in eligible retirement funds. Birch's minimum is industry-reported at around $10,000. Neither company publishes the figure on its home page; both confirm exact eligibility during the free consultation. These figures are widely cited in Money Magazine and Investopedia reviews.
Do Augusta and Birch use the same depositories?
Not necessarily. Birch publicly names five depositories on its site: Delaware Depository, Brink's Global Services, International Depository Services, Texas Precious Metals Depository, and Texas Bullion Depository. Augusta uses IRS-approved depositories but does not list specific names on its home page; the depository is confirmed during the consultation. IRS rules under Section 408(m) require an approved depository regardless of provider.
Are Augusta's salespeople really non-commissioned?
Augusta states on its home page that customers “speak one-on-one with a salaried, non-commissioned educator.” That is a publicly stated claim by the company itself, not a third-party observation. It is unusual in the gold IRA category: most competitors do not state their compensation model publicly. Whether it produces a less product-pushy conversation in practice is something each investor can assess during the free consultation.
What does Augusta's multi-year fee waiver actually cover?
Augusta runs a multi-year fee waiver promotion for qualifying rollover accounts. The fees covered (typically setup, custodian, and storage) and the qualifying period are confirmed during the free consultation, where Augusta reviews the current terms with each prospective customer. The waiver applies only to IRA fees; investors still pay the markup on the metals themselves and any buyback spread at distribution. Birch does not advertise a comparable waiver as of this writing.
How long does a gold IRA rollover take with each company?
A typical IRA or 401(k) rollover takes 2 to 8 weeks. Birch's specialist plus in-house IRA Department tends to complete the paperwork in 2 to 4 weeks. Augusta's Education-First Process, with its one-on-one web conference and educational consultation, usually runs 4 to 8 weeks. The exact timeline depends on the prior custodian's release speed, paperwork accuracy, and customer responsiveness during selection.
Are gold IRAs IRS approved?
Yes. The IRS authorizes self-directed IRAs that hold IRS-approved precious metals under Internal Revenue Code Section 408(m). Approved products include American Gold Eagles, certain bullion bars meeting fineness requirements, and other coins specifically listed by the IRS. Both Augusta and Birch only offer products that meet these standards. Home storage of IRA metals is not permitted: the IRS requires a qualified custodian and an approved depository.
Can I roll over a 401(k) into either Augusta or Birch?
Generally yes, if the 401(k) is eligible for rollover. 401(k) accounts from former employers can typically be rolled directly into a self-directed gold IRA at either company. Active 401(k) accounts at a current employer may require an in-service distribution if the plan allows, or you may need to wait until employment separation. Both companies can review your specific 401(k) plan documents during the initial consultation. For your specific tax situation, consult your tax advisor.
What fees should I expect with a gold IRA?
Standard gold IRA fees include a one-time setup fee, an annual custodian fee, and an annual storage fee at the depository. Markups on the metals themselves (commonly 5 to 8 percent over spot for IRA-grade bullion) and buyback spreads at distribution apply across the category. Augusta's multi-year fee waiver, when an account qualifies, reduces or eliminates the recurring IRA fees for the waiver period. Birch's standard annual schedule applies from year one and is disclosed during onboarding.
Which gold IRA company has better customer reviews?
According to each company's public site: Augusta cites 4,000 plus 5-star ratings across Trustpilot, Google, and Consumer Affairs, plus Money Magazine and Investopedia rankings 2022 to 2026 and a BBB A+ with Zero Complaints accredited since 2014. Birch cites a BBB A+, a Business Consumer Alliance AAA rating, and a customer base of 40,000 plus. On Goldiew's own moderated user reviews, Augusta currently averages 4.71 out of 5 and Birch averages 4.43 out of 5. Both ratings reflect verified user submissions, not paid endorsements.
Sources and Methodology
This head-to-head comparison draws on the following primary sources, verified May 14, 2026:
- augustapreciousmetals.com, home and about pages
- birchgold.com, home and about pages
- IRS Publication 590-A, Contributions to IRAs
- IRS Publication 590-B, Distributions from IRAs
- IRS guidance on retirement plan rollovers
- FINRA Investor Alert on precious metals fraud
- SEC investor.gov guidance for retail investors
- Better Business Bureau profiles for Augusta and Birch
- Money.com and Investopedia gold IRA company reviews 2022 to 2026
- Consumer Affairs and Trustpilot consumer review aggregators
- Goldiew internal user reviews, manually moderated and verified
Methodology summary. Six weighted criteria scored across two companies, with the recommendation reflecting best-fit per investor profile rather than an absolute score. Both Augusta and Birch satisfy the floor on every criterion. Where one company holds a public, verifiable advantage, the comparison table highlights the cell. Cells marked not publicly stated reflect facts neither company publishes on its public site.