• Current precious-metal spot prices
  • Gold $4,422.73 +22.35 (+0.51%)
  • Silver $67.72 +1.01 (+1.51%)
  • Platinum $1,893.29 +85.85 (+4.75%)
  • Palladium $1,355.76 -37.95 (-2.72%)
  • updated 7 hours ago
Login
Signup

Augusta vs Noble Gold Investments: Head-to-Head Comparison

By Goldiew Research & Editorial · Last reviewed: May 14, 2026 · 18 min read

Editorial transparency. Goldiew may earn a commission when you use a link on this page to connect with a partner company, at no extra cost to you. That commission never influences our research, ratings, or recommendations. We feature only companies we have researched and consider credible, and because we are not the company itself, we do not set its prices or terms. The information here is educational, not financial or legal advice.

Augusta Precious Metals and Noble Gold Investments are two of the most-searched gold IRA providers in the United States. Both hold reputations built on educational onboarding, both serve all 50 states, and both step away from the celebrity endorsement playbook that dominates the rest of the category. The differences that actually decide your account live in three places: minimum balance, depository structure, and whether you want home-delivered metals as a separate option from your IRA.

Quick Verdict: Augusta vs Noble at a Glance

N

Noble Gold Investments

★★★★★ 4.67 · Excellent Reputation

Best for accounts of about $20,000 to $50,000 and for investors who want a single Texas-based depository, plus the option of home-delivered precious metals outside an IRA wrapper.

Minimum~$20,000
Visit Noble Gold Investments

Account-size minimums are industry-reported figures; neither company publishes a minimum on its home page. Confirm during the free consultation.

Why trust this comparison

Verified against partner sites (2026)

What we did: Crawled the live corporate sites of Augusta Precious Metals and Noble Gold Investments, cross-referenced their public claims with Better Business Bureau profiles, IRS Publication 590, and FINRA investor alerts. What we did not do: Repeat marketing copy or use facts from affiliate portals that are not also stated publicly by each company. Every claim below traces back to a primary source or is qualified as industry-reported.

How We Compared Augusta and Noble

We score gold IRA companies on six dimensions informed by IRS retirement account rules, FINRA investor alerts on precious metals fraud, and Federal Trade Commission affiliate disclosure standards. Both Augusta and Noble are reviewed against the same checklist; the differences are described, not inflated.

1

Minimum investment threshold

The lowest dollar amount each company accepts for a self-directed IRA, sourced from third-party reviews (Money, Investopedia) since neither company publishes the figure on its home page.

2

Custodian and depository

IRS rules under Section 408(m) require a qualified custodian and an approved depository. We compare the storage choices each company actually names on its public site.

3

Sales-staff compensation

Salaried versus commissioned compensation changes the incentive structure for product recommendations. Few providers state this publicly; the ones that do earn a credibility advantage.

4

Onboarding style

Education-led, application-driven, or specialist-led. We look at how each company actually walks a new customer from inquiry to funded account.

5

Recognition and complaints

Current Better Business Bureau grade and complaint history, plus third-party rankings from Money, Investopedia, and Consumer Affairs where applicable.

6

Product reach beyond the IRA

Some investors want to hold metals personally in addition to an IRA position. We note whether each company offers home-delivered, non-IRA precious metals as a separate path.

Authority sources consulted in this comparison: IRS Publication 590-A and 590-B on IRA contributions and distributions, FINRA Investor Alerts on precious metals fraud, SEC investor.gov guidance, and the Better Business Bureau profiles for each company.

Goldiew incorporates verified user reviews submitted by retirement account holders who have used these companies. Our moderation policy requires manual verification before publication, in line with the FTC's 2024 rule on consumer reviews.

Based on these 6 criteria, Augusta Precious Metals scores highest with Money Magazine #1 ranking (2022-2026), BBB A+ Zero Complaints, and salaried specialists.

A

Augusta Precious Metals

Education-First, $50K+ minimum, salaried educators

Goldiew Rating
4.71 /5
Minimum
~$50K
Founded
2012
BBB Rating
A+

Augusta Precious Metals positions itself at the high-touch end of the gold IRA market. The company was founded in 2012 and is led by chief executive officer Isaac Nuriani. According to Augusta's site, it has been “trusted by American retirees since 2012.” Customer accounts are held through a qualified self-directed IRA custodian following IRS rules, with metals stored in an IRS-approved depository as required under Section 408(m).

Education-First Process

Augusta describes its onboarding publicly as a three-step Education-First Process: Learn with its 2026 Gold IRA Guide, Talk one-on-one with a salaried, non-commissioned educator, then Decide only if it makes sense for the investor (source: augustapreciousmetals.com). Devlyn Steele serves as Director of Education and leads the one-on-one web conferences.

The unusual element here is the compensation structure. Augusta's educators are salaried rather than commissioned, which the company states explicitly on its home page. That structurally reduces the incentive for staff to push premium products over IRA-appropriate bullion. Augusta also openly criticizes “celebrity endorsements built into pricing” and high-pressure sales tactics as red flags to watch for when comparing providers. Notably, Noble takes a similar low-celebrity stance, so the comparison between these two is largely about scale and structure rather than brand voice.

Pricing and the fee waiver

Augusta does not publish a fee schedule on its home page. Specific pricing is disclosed during the free educational consultation. The company runs a multi-year fee waiver promotion for qualifying rollover accounts: the eligibility window, qualifying balance, and fees covered are confirmed during the call. Like every gold IRA provider, customers still pay a markup on the metals themselves and any buyback spread at distribution. The fee waiver does not eliminate metal markups, only the recurring IRA fees.

Augusta free consultation

Augusta publishes a free Gold IRA guide and offers a no-obligation educational consultation. Current promotional terms and qualifying conditions are reviewed during the call.

Get the current offer details

Custodian, depository, and buyback

Augusta uses a qualified self-directed IRA custodian and IRS-approved depository storage. The company runs a buyback program that allows customers to sell metals back at the prevailing market spot when they take distributions. Specific custodian and depository names are confirmed during the consultation rather than published on the home page.

Recognition

According to Augusta's own site:

  • Money Magazine Best Overall Gold IRA Company (2022 to 2026), five years running
  • Investopedia Most Transparent Gold IRA Company (2022 to 2026)
  • Better Business Bureau A+ with Zero Complaints, accredited since 2014
  • 4,000+ 5-star ratings across Trustpilot, Google, and Consumer Affairs

Augusta Pros

  • Salaried, non-commissioned educators, stated publicly on the company's home page
  • Multi-year fee waiver for qualifying rollover accounts
  • Education-First Process: Learn, Talk, Decide
  • BBB A+ with Zero Complaints, accredited since 2014
  • Money Magazine Best Overall Gold IRA, 2022 to 2026
  • Investopedia Most Transparent, 2022 to 2026
  • 4,000+ 5-star consumer ratings across major review sites

Augusta Cons

  • Higher minimum than Noble (industry-reported around $50,000)
  • Education-led process takes longer than a single sales call
  • Custodian and depository names not published on the home page
  • US residents only, primarily IRA-focused
  • No home-delivery non-IRA option comparable to Noble's
Best for
Investors with $50,000 or more in eligible retirement funds who value a structured educational onboarding, a non-commissioned sales relationship, and a multi-year fee waiver on the IRA side. Also a strong fit for investors who weight third-party rankings (Money, Investopedia) heavily in their selection.
Not for
Investors below the industry-reported $50,000 minimum, or those who specifically want a single Texas-based depository plus a separate home-delivery option for personal (non-IRA) metals. For those, Noble is a better structural match.

Augusta free Gold IRA guide

Augusta's free guide includes its company comparison checklist and the current qualifying conditions for the multi-year fee waiver.

Get Augusta's free guide

Read our full Augusta Precious Metals review on Goldiew

N

Noble Gold Investments

$20K+ entry, single Texas depository, home delivery option for non-IRA metals

Goldiew Rating
4.67 /5
Customers
16K+
Safeguarded
$2.5B
BBB Rating
A+

Noble Gold Investments is headquartered in Encino, California and serves investors across all 50 states. Noble's marketing references industry experience going back to 2003, though Noble Gold Investments as a corporate entity is more recent. According to Noble's site, the company has helped more than 16,000 investors safeguard more than $2.5 billion in retirement wealth through gold and silver IRAs (source: noblegoldinvestments.com). Customer accounts are held through a trusted precious metals IRA custodian following the same Section 408(m) framework as every other compliant gold IRA provider.

The Texas depository angle

Noble's most distinctive structural choice is its single named depository in Texas. Where most competitors route customers through a list of approved depositories (Delaware Depository, Brink's, IDS, Texas options), Noble positions a Texas-based facility as the default and the differentiator. For investors who want all their IRA metals concentrated at a single Texas address, that is a clear point of clarity. For investors who would rather diversify across multiple depositories or pick a specific facility from a list, this is a constraint.

Noble states that storage is fully segregated and insured under standard depository protocols. The IRS does not require multi-location storage; it requires an approved depository (which a Texas Bullion Depository facility satisfies).

Home delivery option for non-IRA metals

This is the feature most likely to swing an investor toward Noble rather than Augusta or Birch. Noble publicly offers a home delivery option for precious metals held outside an IRA. That is not a workaround for IRA storage rules: the IRS does not allow home storage of IRA-funded metals (this would trigger a deemed distribution and tax consequences). What Noble offers is a parallel non-IRA purchase channel for investors who want to also hold personal, non-retirement metals at home.

This matters for two profiles. First, investors who already have a gold IRA elsewhere and want to add a separate personal allocation in physical bars or coins at home. Second, investors who want to start with a small home-delivered position before committing the larger sum a self-directed IRA requires. Augusta does not advertise an equivalent home delivery channel.

Process and specialists

Noble's public onboarding sequence is straightforward: a simple application, a connection with a trusted custodian, a one-on-one call with a Gold and Silver specialist, and metals selection. Noble does not state on its home page whether its specialists are salaried or commissioned, which is a quiet point against full transparency relative to Augusta.

Noble Gold free guide

Noble publishes a free gold and silver investing guide and a no-obligation consultation. The team also walks through the non-IRA home delivery option for investors who want both an IRA and a personal allocation.

Get Noble's free guide

Recognition

Industry-reported recognition for Noble includes a BBB A+ rating and consistent coverage in third-party gold IRA roundups (Money, Investopedia, Consumer Affairs). Noble does not advertise a Money Magazine Best Overall or Investopedia Most Transparent ranking comparable to Augusta's five-year run. The $2.5 billion in wealth safeguarded figure is the metric Noble itself foregrounds, which functions as a scale signal more than a ranking signal.

Noble Pros

  • Lower entry minimum than Augusta (industry-reported around $20,000)
  • Single Texas-based depository for IRA storage, positioned as a differentiator
  • Home delivery option for non-IRA precious metals, rare among major gold IRA providers
  • $2.5 billion in retirement wealth safeguarded per the company's public site
  • 16,000 plus investors served
  • Quiet, education-led brand voice with no celebrity endorsement program
  • BBB A+ (industry-reported)

Noble Cons

  • No multi-year fee waiver comparable to Augusta's
  • Sales-staff compensation structure not stated publicly
  • Single depository removes choice for investors who want explicit selection
  • No Money Magazine or Investopedia top ranking comparable to Augusta's
  • Founding-year framing requires nuance: marketing references 2003 industry experience, though the corporate entity is more recent
  • Annual IRA fees apply from year one
Best for
Investors with $20,000 to $50,000 who want a single Texas-based depository for simplicity, and investors at any size who specifically want a parallel home delivery channel for personal non-IRA metals alongside their retirement allocation.
Not for
Investors with $50,000 or more who would qualify for Augusta's fee waiver, or those who want to pick explicitly among multiple depository facilities. Also not the right fit for investors who weight Money or Investopedia rankings heavily.

Noble Gold info kit

Request Noble's free gold and silver guide and confirm whether the home delivery option fits your situation alongside an IRA.

Visit Noble Gold Investments

Read our full Noble Gold Investments review on Goldiew

Augusta vs Noble: Full Side-by-Side

The table below summarizes every dimension that materially separates the two companies. Cells highlighted in green are points where one company holds a clear, publicly stated advantage. Cells marked not publicly stated reflect facts neither company publishes on its public site.

DimensionAugusta Precious MetalsNoble Gold Investments
Corporate entity since2012Recent corporate entity; marketing references 2003 industry experience
HeadquartersBeverly Hills, CA and Casper, WYEncino, CA
Customer base / signal4,000+ five-star reviews16,000+ investors, $2.5B safeguarded
BBB RatingA+ with Zero Complaints (accredited 2014)A+ (industry-reported)
Goldiew Rating4.71 · Excellent4.67 · Excellent
Minimum (industry-reported)~$50,000~$20,000
Custodian disclosureQualified custodian, named during consultationTrusted precious metals IRA custodian, named during consultation
Depository structureIRS-approved storage, not publicly namedSingle named Texas depository, positioned as differentiator
Home delivery option (non-IRA)Not advertisedYes, parallel non-IRA channel
Onboarding styleEducation-First (Learn, Talk, Decide)Application, custodian, specialist call, metals selection
Sales staff compensationSalaried, non-commissionedNot publicly stated
Multi-year fee waiverYes, qualifying terms applyNone advertised
Notable rankingsMoney 2022 to 2026, Investopedia 2022 to 2026Industry-roundup coverage; no Money or Investopedia top award
Public brand approachEducation-first, anti-celebrity-endorsementLow-celebrity, scale-and-stewardship framing
States availableAll 50All 50
Take actionGet Augusta free guide →Get Noble guide →

How to Choose Between Augusta and Noble

The decision usually comes down to three variables: your eligible account balance, whether you want a single Texas depository or are comfortable with the storage being named only during the consultation, and whether a separate home delivery channel for non-IRA metals would actually be used. The cards below map common situations to a clear pick.

Under $20,000

Neither, yet

A gold IRA is rarely cost-effective below this level: annual custodian and storage fees consume a meaningful slice of a small account. Wait until you reach the entry threshold or consider direct precious metals purchase outside an IRA wrapper, where Noble's home delivery channel is an option.

$20,000 to $50,000

Noble Gold Investments

Noble is the only one of the two with an industry-reported $20,000 minimum. Single Texas depository keeps the structure simple, and the parallel home delivery option is a useful add for investors who want a personal allocation alongside the IRA.

Get Noble's free guide →
$50,000 to $250,000

Augusta Precious Metals

The multi-year fee waiver materially changes the long-run economics at this size. Augusta's salaried, non-commissioned model and education-led onboarding match the seriousness of a five-to-six-figure retirement allocation, and the Money and Investopedia rankings provide additional third-party signal.

Get Augusta's free guide →
$250,000 or more

Augusta Precious Metals

Augusta's Education-First Process and lifetime team support assigned to the account align with the complexity and decades-long horizon of large retirement balances. The fee waiver carries proportionally larger savings at this size.

Get Augusta's free guide →
Wants home delivery for non-IRA

Noble Gold Investments

Noble openly offers a parallel non-IRA channel for home-delivered metals, which Augusta does not advertise. Useful for investors who want a personal allocation in addition to an IRA position.

Get Noble's free guide →

Beyond account size and storage preference, weigh three additional factors before you decide:

Onboarding pace

Augusta's educators are salaried and the process is built around a one-on-one web conference. Noble's flow is leaner: application, custodian connection, specialist call, then metals selection. Noble tends to feel transactional faster.

Depository preference

Noble routes IRA metals to a single Texas depository, which is simple but not selectable. Augusta uses approved depositories without publicly naming them. Investors who want a multi-depository menu may prefer a different provider entirely.

Total cost over a decade

At $50,000 or more, Augusta's qualifying fee waiver typically delivers lower IRA fees over a decade than Noble's standard annual schedule. Below that, fees on the two are closer; the home delivery side channel becomes the real differentiator for Noble.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Augusta better than Noble Gold?

For investors with $50,000 or more in eligible retirement funds, Augusta typically wins on four measurable dimensions: salaried (non-commissioned) educators stated publicly, a multi-year fee waiver on qualifying rollovers, five-year top rankings from Money Magazine and Investopedia (2022 to 2026), and a BBB A+ with Zero Complaints accredited since 2014. For accounts of $20,000 to $50,000, Noble wins on entry threshold, single Texas depository simplicity, and a home delivery option for non-IRA metals that Augusta does not advertise. The right answer depends on your account size and whether the home delivery channel and Texas depository specifically matter to your plan.

What is the minimum to open an account with Augusta vs Noble?

Augusta's minimum is industry-reported at around $50,000 in eligible retirement funds. Noble's minimum is industry-reported at around $20,000. Neither company publishes the figure on its home page; both confirm exact eligibility during the free consultation. These figures are widely cited in Money Magazine and Investopedia reviews and are consistent across third-party coverage.

Where does Noble Gold store IRA metals?

Noble routes IRA metals to a single Texas-based depository, positioned as the company's default and differentiator. Storage is segregated and insured under standard depository protocols. IRS rules under Section 408(m) require an approved depository, which a Texas Bullion Depository facility satisfies. Augusta uses IRS-approved depositories without publicly naming them; the depository is confirmed during the consultation. Home storage of IRA metals is not permitted under IRS rules and would trigger a deemed distribution.

Can I get home-delivered gold from Noble or Augusta?

Noble publicly offers a home delivery channel for precious metals held outside an IRA. This is a parallel non-IRA purchase, not a workaround for IRA storage rules. Augusta does not advertise an equivalent home delivery option. If you want a personal allocation of physical metals at your home alongside an IRA position, Noble is the structural fit. If you only want an IRA position with no personal-storage component, the home delivery feature is irrelevant to your decision.

Are Augusta's salespeople really non-commissioned?

Augusta states on its home page that customers “speak one-on-one with a salaried, non-commissioned educator.” That is a publicly stated claim by the company itself, not a third-party observation. It is unusual in the gold IRA category: most competitors, including Noble, do not state their compensation model publicly. Whether it produces a less product-pushy conversation in practice is something each investor can assess during the free consultation.

What does Augusta's multi-year fee waiver actually cover?

Augusta runs a multi-year fee waiver promotion for qualifying rollover accounts. The fees covered (typically setup, custodian, and storage) and the qualifying period are confirmed during the free consultation, where Augusta reviews the current terms with each prospective customer. The waiver applies only to IRA fees; investors still pay the markup on the metals themselves and any buyback spread at distribution. Noble does not advertise a comparable waiver as of this writing.

How long does a gold IRA rollover take with each company?

A typical IRA or 401(k) rollover takes 2 to 8 weeks. Noble's leaner application and specialist flow tends to complete the paperwork in 2 to 4 weeks. Augusta's Education-First Process, with its one-on-one web conference and educational consultation, usually runs 4 to 8 weeks. The exact timeline depends on the prior custodian's release speed, paperwork accuracy, and customer responsiveness during selection.

Is Noble Gold a real company and how old is it?

Yes. Noble Gold Investments is headquartered in Encino, California and serves all 50 states. The company's marketing references industry experience going back to 2003, though Noble Gold Investments as a corporate entity is more recent. The company reports more than 16,000 investors and more than $2.5 billion safeguarded on its public site. Both founding-year framings are common in the gold IRA category, where principals often have prior careers in precious metals before forming the current company.

Are gold IRAs IRS approved?

Yes. The IRS authorizes self-directed IRAs that hold IRS-approved precious metals under Internal Revenue Code Section 408(m). Approved products include American Gold Eagles, certain bullion bars meeting fineness requirements, and other coins specifically listed by the IRS. Both Augusta and Noble only offer products that meet these standards. Home storage of IRA-funded metals is not permitted: the IRS requires a qualified custodian and an approved depository. Noble's home delivery option is a separate, non-IRA purchase channel.

Can I roll over a 401(k) into either Augusta or Noble?

Generally yes, if the 401(k) is eligible for rollover. 401(k) accounts from former employers can typically be rolled directly into a self-directed gold IRA at either company. Active 401(k) accounts at a current employer may require an in-service distribution if the plan allows, or you may need to wait until employment separation. Both companies can review your specific 401(k) plan documents during the initial consultation. For your specific tax situation, consult your tax advisor.

What fees should I expect with a gold IRA?

Standard gold IRA fees include a one-time setup fee, an annual custodian fee, and an annual storage fee at the depository. Markups on the metals themselves (commonly 5 to 8 percent over spot for IRA-grade bullion) and buyback spreads at distribution apply across the category. Augusta's multi-year fee waiver, when an account qualifies, reduces or eliminates the recurring IRA fees for the waiver period. Noble's standard annual schedule applies from year one and is disclosed during onboarding.

Which gold IRA company has better customer reviews?

According to each company's public site: Augusta cites 4,000 plus 5-star ratings across Trustpilot, Google, and Consumer Affairs, plus Money Magazine and Investopedia top rankings 2022 to 2026 and a BBB A+ with Zero Complaints accredited since 2014. Noble cites more than 16,000 investors and more than $2.5 billion in retirement wealth safeguarded. On Goldiew's own moderated user reviews, Augusta currently averages 4.71 out of 5 across 7 reviews, and Noble averages 4.67 out of 5 across 9 reviews. Both ratings reflect verified user submissions, not paid endorsements.

Sources and Methodology

This head-to-head comparison draws on the following primary sources, verified 2026:

Methodology summary. Six weighted criteria scored across two companies, with the recommendation reflecting best-fit per investor profile rather than an absolute score. Both Augusta and Noble satisfy the floor on every criterion. Where one company holds a public, verifiable advantage, the comparison table highlights the cell. Cells marked not publicly stated reflect facts neither company publishes on its public site.

This guide is reviewed and updated quarterly to reflect changes in IRS rules, partner offers, and company policies. For questions, corrections, or to report inaccuracies, contact our editorial team via the contact page.

Last reviewed: May 14, 2026

editorial team
Goldiew Research & Editorial
Independent research on gold, jewelry, and precious metals, from selling and loans to gold IRAs. About our methodology →

Saving favorites is only available to logged-in users. Please log in or sign up to continue.

By continuing with Google you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.
or log in with email

🔒❔ Forgot your password? Reset it here.

Liking reviews is for logged-in users: please log in or sign up to continue.

By continuing with Google you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.
or log in with email

🔒❔ Forgot your password? Reset it here.

Login

By continuing with Google you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.
or log in with email

🖐️➡ No account yet? Sign up here.

🔒❔ Forgot your password? Reset it here.