Birch Gold Group and Noble Gold Investments are two of the most-searched gold IRA providers for investors who want to start with less than $50,000. Both hold a Better Business Bureau A+ rating, both serve all 50 states, and both target the same segment that sits below the Augusta Precious Metals minimum. The real differences for your decision live in four places: entry minimum, depository structure, brand voice, and whether you also want a separate home delivery option for non-IRA metals.
Quick Verdict: Birch vs Noble at a Glance

Birch Gold Group
Best for accounts of about $10,000 to $20,000 and for investors who want to choose explicitly among five named depositories. Twelve-plus year track record since 2011, BBB A+ plus Business Consumer Alliance AAA, 40,000+ customers.

Noble Gold Investments
Best for accounts of about $20,000 to $50,000 and for investors who specifically want a single Texas-based depository, plus the option of home-delivered precious metals outside an IRA wrapper.
Account-size minimums are industry-reported figures; neither company publishes a minimum on its home page. Confirm during the free consultation.
Why trust this comparison
Verified against partner sites on May 14, 2026
How We Compared Birch and Noble
We score gold IRA companies on six dimensions informed by IRS retirement account rules, FINRA investor alerts on precious metals fraud, and Federal Trade Commission affiliate disclosure standards. Both Birch and Noble are reviewed against the same checklist; the differences are described, not inflated.
Minimum investment threshold
The lowest dollar amount each company accepts for a self-directed IRA, sourced from third-party reviews (Money, Investopedia) since neither company publishes the figure on its home page.
Custodian and depository
IRS rules under Section 408(m) require a qualified custodian and an approved depository. We compare the storage choices each company actually names on its public site.
Brand voice and endorsements
Some investors want media-backed brand familiarity (Ron Paul, conservative talk-radio hosts) and others prefer a quieter, low-celebrity approach. We describe each company's stated positioning so readers can match it to their preference.
Onboarding style
Specialist-led, in-house IRA Department, or application-driven flow. We look at how each company actually walks a new customer from inquiry to funded account.
Recognition and complaints
Current Better Business Bureau grade, additional accreditation (Business Consumer Alliance), and third-party coverage from Money, Investopedia, and Consumer Affairs where applicable.
Product reach beyond the IRA
Some investors want to hold metals personally in addition to an IRA position. We note whether each company offers home-delivered, non-IRA precious metals as a separate path.
Authority sources consulted in this comparison: IRS Publication 590-A and 590-B on IRA contributions and distributions, FINRA Investor Alerts on precious metals fraud, SEC investor.gov guidance, and the Better Business Bureau profiles for each company.
Goldiew incorporates verified user reviews submitted by retirement account holders who have used these companies. Our moderation policy requires manual verification before publication, in line with the FTC's 2024 rule on consumer reviews.
Based on our 8-point methodology, Birch Gold Group scores highest with 40,000+ Americans served since 2011 and BBB A+ rating.

Birch Gold Group
$10K+ entry, five depository choices, media-endorsed brand voice
Birch Gold Group has been in business since 2011 and states it has been trusted by more than 40,000 Americans (source: birchgold.com). The company describes itself as headquartered centrally in the United States, specifically in Iowa, and serves customers across all 50 states. Birch's pitch leans on storage flexibility, a 12-plus-year track record, and a heavy media-endorsement program rather than the home-delivery option Noble offers.
Five named depositories
Birch's clearest structural advantage over Noble is depository choice. Where Noble names a single Texas depository as the default, Birch lists five approved depository options on its public site:
- Delaware Depository
- Brink's Global Services
- International Depository Services
- Texas Precious Metals Depository
- Texas Bullion Depository
For an investor who specifically wants to pick the facility, region, or insurer for their stored metals, that is a real point of differentiation. Birch also states that storage is fully insured, which is the same standard Noble applies to its single Texas facility.
Public endorsements and brand voice
Birch is the more media-forward brand of the two by a wide margin. According to Birch's site, the company is endorsed by Ron Paul, Stephen K. Bannon, Clay Travis and Buck Sexton, Dan Bongino, Megyn Kelly, Chad Prather, and Lance Wallnau, among others. The brand is regularly featured on the Liberty Report with Ron Paul and the War Room with Steve Bannon. Whether endorsement-driven marketing is a positive depends on the investor's preferences: some readers value the familiar voices on shows they already follow, others want a quieter brand. Noble takes the opposite approach with essentially no celebrity endorsement program.
In-house IRA paperwork
Birch advertises a one-on-one Birch Gold Specialist plus an in-house IRA Department that handles rollover paperwork. The specialist team answers tax-related questions during onboarding, subject to the standard “consult your tax advisor” disclaimer that applies to any precious metals provider, not just Birch. For investors who would rather see paperwork managed under one roof than coordinated across multiple third parties, that is a useful operational point.
Birch Gold free info kit
Birch publishes a free precious metals info kit and offers a no-obligation consultation with a Birch Gold Specialist. The kit walks through IRA-eligible products and the five depository choices.
Get the Birch info kitRecognition
Per Birch's about page: BBB A+ rating, AAA rating from the Business Consumer Alliance, and multiple 5-star ratings on top consumer review sites. The Business Consumer Alliance AAA is a second-tier accreditation that Noble does not advertise. Birch does not advertise a Money Magazine or Investopedia top ranking.
Birch Pros
- Lowest entry minimum of the two (industry-reported around $10,000)
- 40,000 plus customer base, continuous operation since 2011
- BBB A+ plus Business Consumer Alliance AAA (Noble does not advertise BCA)
- Five named depository options publicly listed
- In-house IRA Department handles rollover paperwork end-to-end
- Strong media presence for investors who follow Ron Paul or the endorsing hosts
Birch Cons
- Heavy reliance on celebrity and political endorsements may not appeal to all audiences
- No home delivery option for non-IRA metals (Noble offers one)
- Sales-staff compensation structure not stated publicly
- Lower Goldiew user rating than Noble (4.43 vs 4.67)
- Annual IRA fees apply from year one; no multi-year waiver advertised
Birch Gold info kit
Birch's free info kit includes its current product catalog, the five depository options, and a no-obligation Birch Gold Specialist consultation.
Get Birch's free info kit
Noble Gold Investments
$20K+ entry, single Texas depository, home delivery option for non-IRA metals
Noble Gold Investments is headquartered in Encino, California and serves investors across all 50 states. Noble's marketing references industry experience going back to 2003, though Noble Gold Investments as a corporate entity is more recent. According to Noble's site, the company has helped more than 16,000 investors safeguard more than $2.5 billion in retirement wealth through gold and silver IRAs (source: noblegoldinvestments.com). Customer accounts are held through a trusted precious metals IRA custodian following the same Section 408(m) framework as every other compliant gold IRA provider.
The Texas depository angle
Noble's most distinctive structural choice is its single named depository in Texas. Where Birch lists five approved facilities, Noble positions a Texas-based facility as the default and the differentiator. For investors who want all their IRA metals concentrated at a single Texas address, that is a clear point of simplicity. For investors who would rather diversify across multiple depositories or pick a specific facility from a list, Birch is the better structural fit.
Noble states that storage is fully segregated and insured under standard depository protocols. The IRS does not require multi-location storage; it requires an approved depository, which a Texas Bullion Depository facility satisfies.
Home delivery option for non-IRA metals
This is the feature most likely to swing an investor toward Noble. Noble publicly offers a home delivery option for precious metals held outside an IRA. That is not a workaround for IRA storage rules: the IRS does not allow home storage of IRA-funded metals (this would trigger a deemed distribution and tax consequences). What Noble offers is a parallel non-IRA purchase channel for investors who want personal, non-retirement metals at home.
This matters for two profiles. First, investors who already have a gold IRA elsewhere and want to add a separate personal allocation in physical bars or coins at home. Second, investors who want to start with a small home-delivered position before committing the larger sum a self-directed IRA requires. Birch does not advertise an equivalent home delivery channel.
Process and specialists
Noble's public onboarding sequence is straightforward: a simple application, a connection with a trusted custodian, a one-on-one call with a Gold and Silver specialist, and metals selection. Noble does not state on its home page whether its specialists are salaried or commissioned. Birch is in the same position publicly: neither company makes its compensation model explicit, which means investors should ask during the free consultation.
Noble Gold free guide
Noble publishes a free gold and silver investing guide and a no-obligation consultation. The team also walks through the non-IRA home delivery option for investors who want both an IRA and a personal allocation.
Get Noble's free guideRecognition
Industry-reported recognition for Noble includes a BBB A+ rating and consistent coverage in third-party gold IRA roundups (Money, Investopedia, Consumer Affairs). Noble does not advertise a Business Consumer Alliance AAA the way Birch does. The $2.5 billion in wealth safeguarded figure is the metric Noble itself foregrounds, which functions as a scale signal more than a ranking signal. On Goldiew's own moderated user reviews, Noble currently averages 4.67 out of 5 across 9 reviews and Birch averages 4.43 across 7 reviews.
Noble Pros
- Higher Goldiew user rating than Birch (4.67 vs 4.43, both verified reviews)
- Single Texas-based depository for IRA storage, positioned as a clarity feature
- Home delivery option for non-IRA precious metals, rare among major gold IRA providers
- $2.5 billion in retirement wealth safeguarded per the company's public site
- 16,000 plus investors served
- Quiet, education-led brand voice with no celebrity endorsement program
- BBB A+ (industry-reported)
Noble Cons
- Higher entry minimum than Birch (industry-reported around $20,000)
- Single depository removes choice for investors who want explicit selection
- Smaller customer base than Birch (16,000 plus vs 40,000 plus)
- Sales-staff compensation structure not stated publicly
- Founding-year framing requires nuance: marketing references 2003 industry experience, though the corporate entity is more recent
- No Business Consumer Alliance accreditation advertised
- Annual IRA fees apply from year one
Noble Gold info kit
Request Noble's free gold and silver guide and confirm whether the home delivery option fits your situation alongside an IRA.
Visit Noble Gold InvestmentsBirch vs Noble: Full Side-by-Side
The table below summarizes every dimension that materially separates the two companies. Cells highlighted in green are points where one company holds a clear, publicly stated advantage. Cells marked not publicly stated reflect facts neither company publishes on its public site.
| Dimension | Birch Gold Group | Noble Gold Investments |
|---|---|---|
| In business / corporate entity | Since 2011 (12-plus years) | Recent corporate entity; marketing references 2003 industry experience |
| Headquarters | Iowa | Encino, CA |
| Customer base / signal | 40,000+ Americans served | 16,000+ investors, $2.5B safeguarded |
| BBB Rating | A+ (publicly stated) | A+ (industry-reported) |
| Additional accreditation | Business Consumer Alliance AAA | None advertised |
| Goldiew Rating | 4.43 · Good Standing | 4.67 · Excellent |
| Minimum (industry-reported) | ~$10,000 | ~$20,000 |
| Custodian disclosure | Works with IRS-approved custodians; not exclusively named | Trusted precious metals IRA custodian, named during consultation |
| Depository structure | Five named: Delaware, Brink's, IDS, Texas Precious Metals, Texas Bullion | Single named Texas depository |
| Home delivery option (non-IRA) | Not advertised | Yes, parallel non-IRA channel |
| Onboarding style | Birch Gold Specialist + in-house IRA Department | Application, custodian, specialist call, metals selection |
| Sales staff compensation | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
| Multi-year fee waiver | None advertised | None advertised |
| Notable endorsements | Ron Paul, Bannon, Travis & Sexton, Bongino, Megyn Kelly, Wallnau | No celebrity endorsement program |
| Public brand approach | Media-forward, conservative-talk audience | Quiet, scale-and-stewardship framing |
| States available | All 50 | All 50 |
| Take action | Get Birch Info Kit → | Get Noble guide → |
How to Choose Between Birch and Noble
The decision usually comes down to three variables: your eligible account balance, whether you want to choose among multiple depositories or are comfortable with a single Texas facility, and whether a separate home delivery channel for non-IRA metals would actually be used. The cards below map common situations to a clear pick.
Neither, yet
A gold IRA is rarely cost-effective below this level: annual custodian and storage fees consume a meaningful slice of a small account. Wait until you reach the entry threshold or consider direct precious metals purchase outside an IRA wrapper, where Noble's home delivery channel is an option.
Birch Gold Group
Birch is the only one of the two with an industry-reported $10,000 minimum, so it is effectively the default at this size. The 12-plus-year track record and five depository options also give an investor at the bottom of the range a structurally fuller setup than they would get elsewhere at this account size.
Get Birch Info Kit →Noble Gold Investments
If you want all your IRA metals at one Texas-based facility or you want a parallel home delivery option for personal non-IRA metals, Noble is the structural fit. The single-depository model is simpler to track, and the home delivery channel is rare among major gold IRA providers.
Get Noble guide →Birch Gold Group
If you specifically want to choose among five named depositories or split storage across regions, Birch holds the clearest advantage in this range. Birch's Business Consumer Alliance AAA accreditation is also a second-tier trust signal that Noble does not advertise.
Get Birch Info Kit →Consider Augusta as well
At $50,000 or more, the comparison broadens. Augusta Precious Metals advertises a multi-year fee waiver for qualifying rollovers and salaried, non-commissioned educators, neither of which Birch or Noble offers. Compare it side by side with Birch and with Noble before committing.
See Augusta’s free guide →Beyond account size and storage preference, weigh three additional factors before you decide:
Brand voice fit
Birch leads with Ron Paul, Steve Bannon, Megyn Kelly and similar voices. Noble takes the opposite approach with essentially no celebrity endorsement program. Whichever approach feels more credible to you personally is the one to follow; both are A+ rated and serve all 50 states.
Depository preference
Noble routes IRA metals to a single Texas depository, which is simple but not selectable. Birch lists five approved options publicly. Investors who want a multi-depository menu may strongly prefer Birch; investors who just want a single Texas address and would rather not think about it usually prefer Noble.
Personal metals alongside the IRA
If you want a parallel non-IRA position in physical bars or coins delivered to your home, Noble is the structural fit. Birch does not advertise an equivalent home delivery channel. If your plan is IRA-only, this factor does not apply and the depository menu carries more weight.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Birch Gold better than Noble Gold?
For accounts of about $10,000 to $20,000, Birch is the only viable choice between the two: Noble's industry-reported minimum starts at about $20,000. For accounts of $20,000 to $50,000, the answer depends on what you value. Birch wins on five named depository choices, a 12-plus-year operating history since 2011, 40,000 plus customers, and Business Consumer Alliance AAA accreditation. Noble wins on a higher Goldiew user rating (4.67 vs 4.43), single Texas depository simplicity, the home delivery option for non-IRA metals, and a quieter brand voice. Both hold BBB A+ and serve all 50 states. The right answer depends on whether you want depository choice or storage simplicity, and whether the home delivery channel matters to your plan.
What is the minimum to open an account with Birch vs Noble?
Birch's minimum is industry-reported at around $10,000. Noble's minimum is industry-reported at around $20,000. Neither company publishes the figure on its home page; both confirm exact eligibility during the free consultation. These figures are widely cited in Money Magazine and Investopedia reviews and are consistent across third-party coverage.
Where does Birch Gold store IRA metals?
Birch lists five approved depository options on its public site: Delaware Depository, Brink's Global Services, International Depository Services, Texas Precious Metals Depository, and Texas Bullion Depository. The investor selects from this menu during onboarding. Storage is fully insured under each depository's standard protocols. IRS rules under Section 408(m) require an approved depository, which all five facilities satisfy. Home storage of IRA metals is not permitted and would trigger a deemed distribution.
Where does Noble Gold store IRA metals?
Noble routes IRA metals to a single Texas-based depository, positioned as the company's default and differentiator. Storage is segregated and insured under standard depository protocols. The IRS does not require multi-location storage; it requires an approved depository, which a Texas Bullion Depository facility satisfies. Investors who want to choose among multiple named depositories will find Birch's five-option menu a better structural fit.
Can I get home-delivered gold from Birch or Noble?
Noble publicly offers a home delivery channel for precious metals held outside an IRA. This is a parallel non-IRA purchase, not a workaround for IRA storage rules: the IRS does not permit home storage of IRA-funded metals. Birch does not advertise an equivalent home delivery option. If you want a personal allocation of physical metals at your home alongside an IRA position, Noble is the structural fit. If your plan is IRA-only, the home delivery feature is irrelevant to your decision.
Are Birch's celebrity endorsements meaningful for picking a gold IRA company?
An endorsement is a brand-recognition signal, not a regulatory one. The names Birch publishes on its site (Ron Paul, Stephen K. Bannon, Clay Travis and Buck Sexton, Dan Bongino, Megyn Kelly, Chad Prather, Lance Wallnau) are media figures whose audiences match Birch's target demographic. The relevant question for an investor is whether the underlying fundamentals (BBB rating, depository options, fees, customer base) hold up independently. Birch's do: A+ BBB, BCA AAA, 40,000 plus customers since 2011, five depository choices. The endorsements are additive to that record, not a substitute for it.
How long does a gold IRA rollover take with each company?
A typical IRA or 401(k) rollover takes 2 to 8 weeks across the category. Birch's in-house IRA Department, which handles paperwork end-to-end under one roof, tends to complete the process in 3 to 6 weeks. Noble's leaner application and specialist flow typically completes paperwork in 2 to 4 weeks. The exact timeline depends on the prior custodian's release speed, paperwork accuracy, and customer responsiveness during selection.
How old is Birch Gold Group?
Birch Gold Group states on its site that it has been in business since 2011, which makes the company a 12-plus-year operator as of 2026. Birch reports more than 40,000 Americans served since founding. The company describes itself as headquartered centrally in the United States, specifically in Iowa, and serves customers in all 50 states.
Is Noble Gold a real company and how old is it?
Yes. Noble Gold Investments is headquartered in Encino, California and serves all 50 states. The company's marketing references industry experience going back to 2003, though Noble Gold Investments as a corporate entity is more recent. The company reports more than 16,000 investors and more than $2.5 billion safeguarded on its public site. Both founding-year framings are common in the gold IRA category, where principals often have prior careers in precious metals before forming the current company.
Are gold IRAs IRS approved?
Yes. The IRS authorizes self-directed IRAs that hold IRS-approved precious metals under Internal Revenue Code Section 408(m). Approved products include American Gold Eagles, certain bullion bars meeting fineness requirements, and other coins specifically listed by the IRS. Both Birch and Noble only offer products that meet these standards. Home storage of IRA-funded metals is not permitted: the IRS requires a qualified custodian and an approved depository. Noble's home delivery option is a separate, non-IRA purchase channel.
Can I roll over a 401(k) into either Birch or Noble?
Generally yes, if the 401(k) is eligible for rollover. 401(k) accounts from former employers can typically be rolled directly into a self-directed gold IRA at either company. Active 401(k) accounts at a current employer may require an in-service distribution if the plan allows, or you may need to wait until employment separation. Both companies review your specific 401(k) plan documents during the initial consultation. For your specific tax situation, consult your tax advisor.
What fees should I expect with a gold IRA?
Standard gold IRA fees include a one-time setup fee, an annual custodian fee, and an annual storage fee at the depository. Markups on the metals themselves (commonly 5 to 8 percent over spot for IRA-grade bullion) and buyback spreads at distribution apply across the category. Neither Birch nor Noble advertises a multi-year fee waiver comparable to what Augusta offers on qualifying rollover accounts; both apply standard annual schedules from year one and disclose specific fees during onboarding.
Should I consider Augusta if my account is $50,000 or more?
Probably worth a side-by-side review. Augusta Precious Metals targets accounts of about $50,000 or more and advertises two features neither Birch nor Noble offers: salaried, non-commissioned educators stated publicly, and a multi-year fee waiver on qualifying rollovers. Augusta also holds Money Magazine Best Overall and Investopedia Most Transparent rankings for 2022 to 2026 and a BBB A+ with Zero Complaints accredited since 2014. At $50,000 or more, compare Augusta with whichever of Birch or Noble fits your storage and brand-voice preference before deciding.
Which gold IRA company has better customer reviews, Birch or Noble?
According to each company's public site: Birch reports more than 40,000 Americans served since 2011, with BBB A+ and Business Consumer Alliance AAA accreditation. Noble reports more than 16,000 investors and more than $2.5 billion in retirement wealth safeguarded, with BBB A+ (industry-reported). On Goldiew's own moderated user reviews, Noble currently averages 4.67 out of 5 across 9 reviews and Birch averages 4.43 across 7 reviews. Both ratings reflect verified user submissions, not paid endorsements, and the sample size on each is small enough that the gap should not be over-weighted.
Sources and Methodology
This head-to-head comparison draws on the following primary sources, verified May 14, 2026:
- birchgold.com, home and about pages
- noblegoldinvestments.com, home and gold IRA pages
- IRS Publication 590-A, Contributions to IRAs
- IRS Publication 590-B, Distributions from IRAs
- IRS guidance on retirement plan rollovers
- FINRA Investor Alert on precious metals fraud
- SEC investor.gov guidance for retail investors
- Better Business Bureau profiles for Birch Gold Group and Noble Gold Investments
- Business Consumer Alliance profile for Birch Gold Group
- Money.com and Investopedia gold IRA company reviews 2022 to 2026
- Consumer Affairs and Trustpilot consumer review aggregators
- Goldiew internal user reviews, manually moderated and verified
Methodology summary. Six weighted criteria scored across two companies, with the recommendation reflecting best-fit per investor profile rather than an absolute score. Both Birch and Noble satisfy the floor on every criterion. Where one company holds a public, verifiable advantage, the comparison table highlights the cell. Cells marked not publicly stated reflect facts neither company publishes on its public site.