Choosing between Noble Gold Investments and Lear Capital comes down to three things: where your gold is stored, how long the company has been around, and what your priorities are beyond the IRA itself. Noble Gold controls its own Texas-based depository, offers a home delivery option with physical metals, and has a straightforward process that appeals to investors who want a hands-on feel. Lear Capital has been operating since 1997, publishes a clear fee schedule, and holds multiple industry certifications. Both are real options. The right one depends on what matters most to you.
Quick Verdict: Noble Gold vs Lear Capital (2026)

Noble Gold Investments
Gold IRA + Texas Depository + Home Delivery
Min: industry-reported ~$20,000 | 16,000+ investors served
Free, no sales pressure. BBB-accredited.

Lear Capital
28 Years in Business | Clear Fee Schedule
Founded 1997 | $3B+ in transactions | $315 first-year fee (per learcapital.com, 2026)
Rankings reflect best-fit per investor profile, not an absolute endorsement. See our methodology section for evaluation criteria.
Independent Verification
Why trust this comparison: Goldiew’s research team reviewed both companies’ public websites (2026), cross-referenced available BBB profiles and industry sources, and drew on Goldiew’s internal user review database. Noble Gold Investments is reviewed on Goldiew; that relationship is disclosed and does not alter the factual comparison below. Lear Capital is covered with the same methodology as every company on the platform: no referral commission is involved in any mention of Lear here.
What this comparison does not do: Neither Goldiew nor this page provides financial or investment advice. The choice between a gold IRA provider is a financial decision you should discuss with a licensed advisor before acting.
In this comparison
How We Evaluate Gold IRA Companies
Goldiew uses eight criteria when comparing precious metals IRA providers. Each one addresses a concern the Goldiew user community raises most often: transparency on costs, the security of stored assets, the credibility of the company behind the account, and the experience of actually working with them through setup and beyond.
Are setup, annual custodian, and storage fees published publicly? Hidden fees compound over a multi-year holding period.
IRS-approved depositories only. We flag geographic diversity, segregated vs non-segregated, and any home delivery options.
Years in operation, customer counts, and verifiable transaction volume. Newer companies are not automatically disqualified, but longevity matters in a long-term asset category.
BBB rating and complaint history, Business Consumer Alliance rating, and where available, Trustpilot and Google aggregate scores. All ratings cited with a source date.
Confirmed from public sources or industry-reported with a qualifier. We note when a minimum is not stated publicly.
Which IRS-approved custodian holds the account? Verified from the company’s public site. Custodian-specific facts not stated publicly are omitted.
Who is this company actually suited for? Minimum, process complexity, unique products, and geographic features all affect who benefits most.
What happens when you want to liquidate? A buyback program or clearly stated exit path matters at the end of the hold.
Sources consulted: IRS Publication 590-A (IRA contribution and rollover rules), FINRA Investor Alert on precious metals fraud, BBB profiles (2026), and official company websites.
User reviews on Goldiew are submitted by real investors and moderated before publication. The review counts cited in this article reflect published, moderated reviews only, not raw submissions. Noble Gold Investments is reviewed on Goldiew; this is disclosed on every page linking to Noble.

Noble Gold Investments
Goldiew Recommended | Texas Depository | Royal Survival Pack
Noble Gold Investments was founded by Collin Plume, who serves as President and CEO. Plume brings over 15 years of experience spanning property insurance, commercial real estate, and precious metals, including work as a precious metals broker with over $28 million in annual sales, according to Noble’s public website. The company’s marketing references industry experience “since 2003,” though the corporate entity is more recent. Noble reports serving over 16,000 investors and safeguarding more than $2.5 billion in wealth (per noblegoldinvestments.com, 2026).
The Texas Depository Differentiator
Noble Gold’s most distinctive infrastructure advantage is storage in Texas. According to Noble’s website (2026), the company partnered with International Depository Services (IDS) in Dallas, Texas, giving it access to “the first and only, private secure gold depository facility in the south.” Noble describes itself as “the only company that stores gold in Texas” for precious metals IRAs, positioning this as an alternative for investors who prefer to keep their assets outside of the more commonly used Delaware facilities.
For investors in Texas and the broader South, having an in-region depository means a shorter chain of custody and, for some, added peace of mind. IDS Dallas is an IRS-approved facility. Geographic diversification in storage location is a decision worth discussing with your advisor, but Noble is one of the few companies to actively offer it as a choice rather than a default.
Fees and Pricing
Noble Gold does not publish a specific fee schedule on its public IRA pages as of 2026. The company’s website states “lowest fees in the industry and top-rated buyback program,” but does not provide a dollar amount. For specific current fee details, Noble directs prospective clients to their consultation call at (877) 646-5347. Industry sources report an annual fee in the range typical for precious metals IRAs, but this is not confirmed from Noble’s own published materials. If fee transparency before a call matters to you, note that Lear Capital does publish a specific figure (see the Lear section below).
Account Setup and Process
Noble’s website states account setup takes “approximately 5 minutes” for the application. The full process involves a simple online application, a connection with a trusted custodian, a call with a Noble Gold and Silver specialist, and then selecting your metals. Eligible rollover sources include 401(k), 403(b), 457(b), Thrift Savings Plans, SEP IRAs, SIMPLE IRAs, and traditional IRAs.
Noble is authorized by the Royal Canadian Mint, which confirms it can handle certain IRS-approved Canadian precious metals products in your IRA.
The Royal Survival Pack and Home Delivery
Noble Gold offers a home delivery service for non-IRA precious metals purchases through its Noble Express service. Physical metals are shipped in approximately five business days, fully insured, in what Noble calls the “Royal Survival Pack,” described on their website as “a plain, unmarked box” for discreet delivery. This is not an IRA option (IRS rules require IRA metals to be stored at an approved depository), but it is available for direct purchases outside a retirement account. For investors who want both IRA metals in a Texas depository and physical metals at home, Noble Gold covers both scenarios with a single provider.
Buyback Program
Noble Gold offers a guaranteed buyback program for metals purchased through the company. This provides a defined exit path for investors who need to liquidate. The buyback covers metals Noble sold, which is standard practice for reputable gold IRA companies. Specific buyback pricing terms should be confirmed during your consultation.
Noble Gold Strengths
- Texas-based IDS depository, a genuine geographic differentiator
- Home delivery (Royal Survival Pack) for non-IRA purchases
- Founded by Collin Plume with 15+ years in the sector
- 16,000+ investors, $2.5B safeguarded (per company site)
- Royal Canadian Mint authorized for Canadian products
- Guaranteed buyback program
Noble Gold Limitations
- Fees not published publicly; require a call to confirm
- BBB A+ rating is industry-reported, not confirmed on their own website as of 2026
- Corporate entity is more recent despite “since 2003” marketing language
- Specific custodian name not stated on public pages
Get Noble’s free Gold & Silver guide 16,000+ investors | $2.5B safeguarded | Texas Depository

Lear Capital
Founded 1997 | Published Fee Schedule | Multiple Industry Certifications
We do not earn a commission from this mention, and no referral link to Lear Capital is provided on this page.
Lear Capital describes itself as “America’s Precious Metals leader since 1997,” making it one of the longest-operating precious metals companies in this comparison. According to their website (learcapital.com, 2026), the company has completed over $3 billion in transactions. Headquarters are in Los Angeles, California (1990 S. Bundy Dr., Ste 650, Los Angeles, CA 90025). The company holds a BBB A+ rating and an AAA rating with the Business Consumer Alliance, both per their own website. They are a PCGS Authorized Dealer and a member of the National Coin and Bullion Association.
Judge Andrew P. Napolitano is listed on Lear Capital’s homepage as a paid spokesman (disclosed as such on their site).
Fee Schedule: What Lear Capital Publishes
This is an area where Lear Capital is more transparent than most competitors. According to their IRA FAQ page (learcapital.com, 2026), the standard IRA fee is $315 for the first year and $235 for each subsequent year, assuming electronic statements and non-segregated storage. A $500 credit is available that can be applied to shipping, insurance charges, or IRA custodial fees.
For investors in Limited Mintage coins, Lear offers a fee waiver program based on investment amount:
- $25,000 to $50,000: first year fees waived
- $50,000 to $75,000: first and second year fees waived
- $75,000 or more: first, second, and third year fees waived
Source: learcapital.com/gold-ira/ira-faq/ (2026). These are per-the-website terms; confirm current terms directly with Lear Capital. This is not financial advice.
The fee waiver applies to Limited Mintage coins specifically. Standard bullion IRAs would be subject to the base fee schedule. Always confirm current terms with Lear Capital directly.
Custodian and Storage
According to Lear Capital’s FAQ page (2026), the company uses Self Directed IRA Services, Inc. as its custodian. Storage is offered through the Delaware Depository, described on their site as operating since 1999 with insurance underwritten by London Underwriters. The Delaware Depository is one of the most widely used IRS-approved facilities in the precious metals IRA industry.
Account Setup Process
Lear Capital describes a three-step IRA process: complete an online application (described as taking about 10 minutes), have the account set up within 24 hours, and fund via rollover. Fund transfers may take up to five business days, per their website. Eligible accounts include Roth IRA, SEP IRA, SIMPLE IRA, 401(k), 403(b), 457(b), pension plans, and Thrift Savings accounts.
Lear also offers a Price Match Guarantee and a 24-hour risk-free cancellation window for new transactions, both stated on their website.
Products and Certifications
Beyond gold and silver IRAs, Lear Capital offers platinum IRAs and a direct buy-gold-online service. Their PCGS Authorized Dealer status means they can handle graded coin products for collectors or investors focused on numismatic (collector) coins. The National Coin and Bullion Association membership is a trade credentialing that signals adherence to industry standards.
Lear Capital Strengths
- Published fee schedule: $315 year 1, $235 ongoing (per website)
- 28 years in business (since 1997): one of the longest track records
- BBB A+ and BCA AAA ratings per their own website
- PCGS Authorized Dealer for graded coin products
- Named custodian (Self Directed IRA Services, Inc.) stated publicly
- 24-hour account setup and Price Match Guarantee
Lear Capital Limitations
- Minimum investment not stated publicly on their website
- Storage limited to Delaware Depository (no Texas option)
- No home delivery program comparable to Noble Gold’s Noble Express
- Fee waiver only applies to Limited Mintage coins, not standard bullion
Full Comparison: Noble Gold Investments vs Lear Capital
The table below covers 13 dimensions. Facts tagged “(per website, 2026)” were verified from each company’s public pages. Facts tagged “industry-reported” were not confirmed directly from the company’s public site and should be verified before acting on them.
| Dimension | Noble Gold Investments | Lear Capital |
|---|---|---|
| BBB Rating | A+ (industry-reported; not confirmed on public pages this crawl) | A+, BBB Accredited Business (per learcapital.com, 2026) |
| BCA Rating | Not publicly stated | AAA (per learcapital.com, 2026) |
| Operating History | Industry experience “since 2003” per marketing; corporate entity more recent | “Since 1997” (28 years, per learcapital.com) |
| Minimum Investment | Industry-reported ~$20,000 (not stated on public website) | Not stated on public website; $25K tier in fee waiver suggests lower threshold |
| First-Year Annual Fee | Not published; “lowest fees in industry” claimed | $315 (per learcapital.com FAQ, 2026) |
| Ongoing Annual Fee | Not published publicly | $235/year after year 1 (per learcapital.com FAQ, 2026) |
| Fee Waiver | Not advertised publicly | 1-3 years free on Limited Mintage coins for $25k-$75k+ (per learcapital.com) |
| Custodian | “Trusted precious metals IRA custodian” (specific name not stated publicly) | Self Directed IRA Services, Inc. (per learcapital.com) |
| Storage / Depository | IDS Dallas, Texas (“first and only private secure facility in the south,” per Noble) | Delaware Depository (since 1999, London Underwriters insurance) |
| Home Delivery | Yes. Noble Express service, Royal Survival Pack, ~5 business days, fully insured (non-IRA only) | Not stated on public website |
| Buyback Program | Yes. Guaranteed buyback program (per Noble website) | Not prominently stated on public pages |
| Special Certifications | Royal Canadian Mint authorized (per Noble website) | PCGS Authorized Dealer, National Coin & Bullion Association member (per learcapital.com) |
How to Choose: Noble Gold vs Lear Capital by Investor Profile
The “better” company shifts depending on your situation. Here is a direct breakdown by the five scenarios we see most often among Goldiew users making this comparison.
You live in Texas or the South
Consider Noble Gold
Noble’s IDS Dallas depository is the only Texas-based IRS-approved precious metals storage available through a single IRA provider, per Noble’s public website. If keeping your metals closer to home matters to you, this is a real differentiator.
You want to see fees before calling
Consider Lear Capital
Lear publishes $315 for year one and $235 annually thereafter on their IRA FAQ page (2026). Noble does not publish specific fees publicly. If you want a fee number to compare on paper before a consultation, Lear gives you that starting point.
You want IRA metals plus physical metals at home
Consider Noble Gold
Noble’s Noble Express home delivery (Royal Survival Pack, fully insured, ~5 business days) lets you hold non-IRA physical metals at home while keeping IRA-designated metals at the Texas depository. One provider covers both.
You value long operational history
Consider Lear Capital
Lear has been operating since 1997 and claims $3 billion in completed transactions. In a category where new entrants come and go, 28 years of operation is a credibility signal worth weighing. Noble’s corporate entity is more recent.
You want a Goldiew-monitored provider
Consider Noble Gold
Noble is reviewed on Goldiew. That means Goldiew’s 9 published user reviews, Goldiew rating of 4.67/5, and ongoing editorial monitoring apply. Lear Capital is covered with the same methodology as every company on the platform and has no Goldiew user review coverage.
Beyond the scenarios above, three factors apply regardless of account size:
Consult a tax advisor
The tax treatment of a gold IRA rollover depends on your current account type (traditional, Roth, SEP). Goldiew is not a tax advisor. An IRS Publication 590-A review with your CPA before funding is non-negotiable for retirement-scale decisions.
Verify minimums directly
Neither Noble Gold nor Lear Capital publicly states a confirmed minimum investment as of 2026. Call both companies before assuming you qualify based on industry-reported figures. Both offer free consultations.
Check IRS eligibility
Not every rollover qualifies. IRS Publication 590-A covers contribution limits, rollover rules, and eligibility by account type. Your custodian will also walk through this during setup.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the minimum investment for Noble Gold Investments vs Lear Capital?
Neither company publicly states a confirmed minimum on their website as of 2026. Noble Gold’s minimum is industry-reported at around $20,000. Lear Capital does not state a minimum, though their fee waiver program starts at $25,000, which suggests a lower account size is possible. For the most accurate figure, contact each company directly. Never invest more than you can confirm aligns with your retirement plan after speaking with a licensed advisor.
Which company has lower fees for a gold IRA?
Lear Capital publishes $315 for the first year and $235 per year thereafter (with e-statements and non-segregated storage), per their IRA FAQ page (2026). Noble Gold claims “lowest fees in the industry” on their website but does not publish a specific dollar figure. Without Noble’s actual number, a direct comparison is not possible on paper. To compare accurately, call Noble at (877) 646-5347 and ask for a fee sheet before your account decision.
Does Noble Gold offer storage in Texas?
Yes. According to Noble Gold’s website (2026), Noble partnered with International Depository Services (IDS) in Dallas, Texas, which it describes as “the first and only, private secure gold depository facility in the south.” Noble states it is “the only company that stores gold in Texas” for precious metals IRAs. IDS Dallas is an IRS-approved facility. This is Noble’s primary differentiator against competitors who default to the Delaware Depository.
What is the Royal Survival Pack?
The Royal Survival Pack is Noble Gold’s packaging method for home delivery orders. Per Noble’s website (2026), when you order non-IRA physical metals for home delivery via their Noble Express service, “your metals are packed into a plain, unmarked box called the Royal Survival Pack for discreet delivery.” This is only for direct purchases outside of an IRA account. IRS rules require IRA-designated metals to remain at an approved depository and cannot be taken home as part of an active IRA.
Can I store gold at home with Noble Gold?
For non-IRA precious metals purchases, yes. Noble Gold’s Noble Express home delivery ships metals in about five business days, fully insured. For IRA metals, no. IRS rules prohibit storing IRA-designated precious metals at home (“home storage IRA” schemes are not legal under current IRS guidance per IRS Publication 590-A). IRA metals must be held at an IRS-approved depository. Noble’s IRA metals go to IDS Dallas, Texas.
How long does it take to open a gold IRA?
Noble Gold’s website states account setup takes approximately 5 minutes for the application. Lear Capital states account setup within 24 hours and fund transfers up to 5 business days for rollovers. In practice, the full rollover timeline (from application to metals in storage) typically runs 2 to 4 weeks for both types of companies, as the rollover depends on your current custodian’s processing time. Plan for 3 to 4 weeks as a realistic expectation.
Is Noble Gold Investments BBB-accredited?
Industry sources and review aggregators widely report Noble Gold as holding a BBB A+ rating. However, during Goldiew’s May 2026 crawl of Noble’s public website, a BBB accreditation statement was not confirmed on the pages reviewed. Lear Capital does state “BBB Accredited Business, A+ Rating” explicitly on their public website. For either company, you can verify the current rating directly at bbb.org before making a decision.
What metals can I hold in a Noble Gold or Lear Capital IRA?
Both companies offer gold, silver, and platinum IRA products. Noble Gold also offers palladium. For an IRA, metals must meet IRS purity standards: gold at 99.5% pure, silver at 99.9%, platinum at 99.95%, and palladium at 99.95%, per IRS Publication 590-A. Approved products include American Gold Eagle coins (which are exempt from the 99.5% standard at 91.67% purity), Canadian Maple Leafs, Austrian Philharmonics, and approved bars from accredited refiners. Noble is Royal Canadian Mint authorized, confirming access to Canadian products. Your custodian must approve any specific product before purchase.
Does a gold IRA rollover trigger a tax penalty?
A properly executed direct rollover from a qualifying account (such as a 401(k) or traditional IRA) to a gold IRA does not trigger a tax penalty. An indirect rollover, where funds pass through your hands, must be completed within 60 days or it becomes a taxable distribution and may trigger a 10% early withdrawal penalty if you are under 59.5. Goldiew does not provide tax advice. Consult your tax advisor and review IRS Publication 590-A for rollover rules specific to your account type.
Which company is better for a smaller rollover under $30,000?
Noble Gold’s industry-reported minimum of ~$20,000 and Lear Capital’s fee waiver program starting at $25,000 both suggest accounts in the $20,000 to $30,000 range are possible. At $235 per year (Lear’s ongoing fee), a $25,000 account carries a 0.94% annual fee burden, which is meaningful at smaller account sizes. Noble’s fees are not published, so a direct comparison is not possible without a call. For smaller accounts, both companies should be asked directly about their minimums and whether any fee reduction applies below $50,000.
Sources and Methodology
This comparison was produced by Goldiew’s research team in 2026. For Noble Gold Investments facts were drawn from the internal company verification records, verified against Noble’s public website during May 2026 crawls. For Lear Capital (), facts were drawn solely from Lear’s public website and pages confirmed accessible during May 2026 crawls. No affiliate portal materials, internal company documents, or third-party paywalled data were used.
- Noble Gold Investments official website (2026)
- Noble Gold Texas Storage page (2026)
- Noble Gold Home Delivery / Royal Survival Pack page (2026)
- Noble Gold “Who We Are” page (2026)
- Lear Capital official website (2026)
- Lear Capital IRA FAQ page (2026)
- Lear Capital About page (2026)
- IRS Publication 590-A: Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements
- FINRA Investor Alert: Precious Metals Fraud
- SEC: Gold IRA Investor Alert
- Better Business Bureau (rating verification, 2026)
- Goldiew internal review database: 9 published user reviews for Noble Gold Investments (moderated, verified). Past performance is not a guarantee of future results. Goldiew user reviews reflect individual experiences.
Methodology note: Goldiew rates companies on an internal 0-5 scale based on user review aggregation, weighted by recency, review count, and content quality. The rating cited (4.67 for Noble Gold) reflects published, moderated reviews as of 2026. It does not represent the raw submission count. Noble Gold Investments is reviewed on Goldiew (commission on successful account openings through Goldiew links). Lear Capital is not. This relationship is disclosed at the top of the page and does not alter factual statements about either company.