Choosing between Augusta Precious Metals and Priority Gold comes down to one core question: how much weight do you put on a decade of verified awards versus the convenience of a lower account minimum? Augusta has a five-year record as Money Magazine’s Best Overall Gold IRA company and zero BBB complaints since accreditation in 2014. Priority Gold carries a 2025 Inc. 5000 ranking as the fastest-growing provider in the country and an A+ BBB rating of its own. Both companies offer gold and silver in self-directed IRAs. The differences lie in minimum investments, fee transparency, and the depth of their educational process.
Quick Verdict: Augusta vs Priority Gold

Augusta Precious Metals
Best for $50,000+ rollover accounts
Money Magazine #1 (2022-2026) · BBB A+ Zero Complaints
Priority Gold
Consider for $25,000-$49,999 accounts
Rankings reflect verified track record, BBB standing, customer reviews, and fee transparency. Our methodology is identical for every company we cover, independent of any commercial relationship. See methodology below.
Goldiew researchers crawled both companies’ public websites in 2026, cross-referenced BBB profiles, verified award claims against their cited publishers (Money Magazine, Inc. 5000), and drew on 7 moderated user reviews of Augusta in the Goldiew database. Priority Gold facts are cited inline from prioritygold.com, since Priority Gold is We did not use affiliate portal materials or private training documents for any claim in this comparison.
How We Evaluate Gold IRA Companies
Goldiew applies a consistent set of criteria to every company in this comparison. No single factor determines the outcome. The goal is a clear picture of what each company is actually like, not what their marketing says.
We check the official BBB profile (bbb.org) for the rating and the number of resolved versus unresolved complaints. An A+ rating with zero complaints is meaningfully different from an A+ rating with 40 complaints closed.
Any award cited by a gold IRA company is checked against the awarding publication. We confirm the year, the category, and whether the award is still current.
We check whether the company publishes fee schedules publicly. Companies that require a phone call to disclose fees score lower on this criterion, because hidden fees affect the real cost of a gold IRA over 10 years.
Stated or widely cited minimum required to open a gold IRA. This affects access: a $50,000 minimum excludes a significant portion of pre-retirement savers.
Gold IRAs are complex financial products. We evaluate whether the company invests in helping clients understand the product before committing, and whether sales staff operate on commission.
IRS rules require gold IRA metals to be held by an IRS-approved custodian and stored in an approved depository. We verify which custodians and depositories each company names on their public pages.
We look at verified review aggregates (Trustpilot, Google, BBB consumer reviews, Goldiew internal reviews). Volume matters. Recency matters. A 2022 review set means less in 2026 than a 2025 set.
What happens when a client wants to sell? We check whether the company offers a direct buyback program and under what publicly stated terms.
Sources used: BBB profiles, Inc. Magazine 5000 database, Money Magazine editorial archives, Investopedia reviews, both companies’ public websites (crawled May 2026), and Goldiew’s moderated user review database. Augusta Precious Metals is reviewed on Goldiew. When a reader signs up through a Goldiew link to Augusta, This relationship does not change the criteria applied or the findings. For full methodology and disclosure terms, see our About page.

Augusta Precious Metals
Best Overall Gold IRA Company (Money Magazine, 2022-2026)
Augusta Precious Metals has been the most decorated gold IRA company in independent rankings for five consecutive years. Founded in 2012 by CEO Isaac Nuriani, the company operates an education-first model that stands apart from the industry norm of commissioned sales. Clients speak with a salaried, non-commissioned educator before making any decision. Augusta serves clients with eligible retirement accounts looking to add physical gold and silver through a self-directed IRA structure.
What Sets Augusta Apart
Augusta describes its process publicly as “LEARN → TALK → DECIDE”: a structured sequence where prospective clients receive educational materials, speak with a salaried educator (not a commissioned salesperson), and then choose whether to proceed. That structure removes the most common complaint in the precious metals industry: pressure from commission-driven reps to commit quickly to large purchases.
The awards record reflects this positioning. Money Magazine named Augusta the Best Overall Gold IRA Company five consecutive years, from 2022 through 2026. Investopedia named Augusta the Most Transparent Gold IRA Company over the same period. These are not self-reported awards. Both are independently evaluated by their respective editorial teams. Five-year consistency at that level is an unusual achievement in this market.
The BBB record is equally clear. Augusta has held BBB accreditation since 2014 with zero complaints on record, according to Augusta’s public pages. In a sector that regularly generates consumer complaints around high-pressure sales tactics and fee disputes, a zero-complaint record at Augusta’s scale and tenure is a meaningful signal.
Fees and Account Details
Augusta advertises a multi-year fee waiver for qualifying rollover accounts. The specific terms are disclosed during the free consultation rather than published on the website. Augusta’s minimum is widely cited by third-party reviewers (Money Magazine, Investopedia) at around $50,000 for a gold IRA, though Augusta does not state this figure on its home or about pages. If your eligible IRA or 401(k) balance falls below that threshold, Augusta may not be the right fit. Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation before making retirement account decisions.
Process and Support
You start by requesting Augusta’s free Gold IRA guide. A salaried educator follows up, walks you through how a gold IRA works, which metals qualify under IRS Publication 590-B, and whether your current retirement account is eligible for a rollover. You decide whether to move forward. There is no high-pressure sales framework built into this process. Augusta’s Director of Education, Devlyn Steele, oversees the educational component of the customer experience.
- Money Magazine Best Overall Gold IRA five years running (2022-2026)
- Investopedia Most Transparent Gold IRA five years running (2022-2026)
- BBB A+ with zero complaints since accreditation in 2014
- Salaried, non-commissioned educators (removes sales-pressure incentive)
- 4,000+ verified 5-star reviews across Trustpilot, Google, and Consumer Affairs
- Industry-reported minimum of ~$50,000 is a high bar for early savers
- Fee waiver terms require a consultation call to understand
- Custodian and depository names not published on home page
- Primarily serves IRA/401(k) rollover clients, not cash buyers of physical metals
Get Augusta’s free Gold IRA guide + company checklist
Free, no sales pressure. Money Magazine #1 (2022-2026) · BBB A+ Zero Complaints
Priority Gold
Inc. 5000 Fastest-Growing Gold IRA Provider (2025, per Inc. Magazine)
Priority Gold is a Dallas, Texas-based precious metals company that has grown rapidly in a crowded market, reaching #1927 on the 2025 Inc. 5000 list, which Inc. Magazine identifies as the fastest-growing gold IRA provider in America (according to prioritygold.com). The company offers Traditional and Roth Gold IRAs and Silver IRAs, with rollovers from existing 401(k) and IRA accounts. Priority Gold uses Equity Trust Company as its custodian and Delaware Depository for storage, both IRS-approved. The company carries BBB A+ accreditation and AAA ratings from the Business Consumer Alliance, per its public website.
What Sets Priority Gold Apart
Priority Gold’s main differentiator is accessibility. The company recommends a starting point of approximately $25,000 (per prioritygold.com), roughly half the commonly cited minimum for Augusta. For investors who have built a meaningful retirement account but have not yet crossed the $50,000 threshold, this is a practical distinction worth evaluating directly.
Priority Gold also carries endorsements from economist Robert Kiyosaki (author of “Rich Dad Poor Dad”) and economic researcher Harry Dent, both of whom promote the company publicly according to the Priority Gold website. Media coverage in Money Magazine, Fortune, and CBS News appears in the “Featured In” section on prioritygold.com. The Forbes Advisor “#1 Gold IRA Partner” reference cited on the Priority Gold website adds to a growing list of third-party mentions.
The Inc. 5000 #1927 ranking (2025) reflects year-over-year revenue growth, independently measured by Inc. Magazine. Fastest-growing in a category does not equal best-established, but it does reflect genuine market traction over a measurable period.
Fees and Account Details
Priority Gold’s annual fees are described on its educational Gold IRA page at approximately $200 to $300 per year, according to prioritygold.com. Setup fees and storage fees as separate line items are not published publicly on the pages Goldiew crawled in 2026. The company offers a “$5,000 in free silver” promotional incentive for qualifying accounts, though the qualifying amount is not published on the site. For any account where fees represent a meaningful percentage of the balance, requesting a written fee quote before committing is advisable. We are not financial advisors. Consult a licensed advisor before making retirement decisions.
Process and Support
Priority Gold uses Equity Trust Company as its listed custodian and Delaware Depository for storage of IRA-held metals, according to prioritygold.com. The company’s public website does not name any executive or founder, which makes evaluating leadership credentials difficult from public information alone. Priority Gold’s educational content covers gold and silver IRA mechanics, rollover procedures, and IRS eligibility rules for metals. The Dallas headquarters is at 5005 Lyndon B. Johnson Freeway, Suite 300, Dallas, TX 75244. Contact: 888-506-6439.
- Lower recommended minimum (~$25,000) than Augusta’s industry-reported ~$50,000
- Inc. 5000 #1927 (2025): fastest-growing gold IRA provider in America per Inc. Magazine
- BBB A+ accredited, plus AAA Business Consumer Alliance and TrustLink 5-star ratings
- Trustpilot 4.9/5 rating as reported on prioritygold.com
- Equity Trust custodian and Delaware Depository listed publicly
- No executive or leadership team named on public website
- Setup and storage fees not published publicly
- Fewer independent editorial awards than Augusta (no five-year Money Magazine record)
- Founded year not disclosed on public website
- : no Goldiew-moderated reviews available for this company
Priority Gold is covered with the same methodology as every company on the platform. No affiliate link is included here. Visit prioritygold.com directly to request a consultation.
Augusta vs Priority Gold: Full Comparison
This table covers the 13 dimensions most relevant to a gold IRA buying decision. “Not publicly stated” indicates a fact the company does not disclose on its public website as of 2026.
| Dimension | Augusta Precious Metals | Priority Gold |
|---|---|---|
| BBB Rating | A+ Accredited, 0 complaints (since 2014) | A+ Accredited (exact complaint count not retrieved in 2026 crawl) |
| Money Magazine Award | Best Overall Gold IRA 2022-2026 (5 years) | Featured In (no Best Overall award cited) |
| Inc. 5000 Ranking | Not publicly stated | #1927 (2025) Fastest-Growing Gold IRA Provider |
| Minimum Investment | Industry-reported ~$50,000 | ~$25,000 recommended (per prioritygold.com) |
| Custodian | Qualified self-directed IRA custodian (not named on public pages) | Equity Trust Company (named on home page) |
| Depository | Not named on public pages | Delaware Depository (named on home page) |
| Sales Model | Salaried, non-commissioned educators | Not publicly stated |
| Promotional Offer | Multi-year fee waiver for qualifying accounts | $5,000 in free silver for qualifying accounts (conditions not published) |
| Annual Fee Range | Disclosed in consultation | ~$200-$300/yr (per prioritygold.com educational page) |
| Founded | 2012 | Not stated on public website |
| Customer Reviews | 4,000+ verified 5-star reviews (Trustpilot, Google, Consumer Affairs) | 4.9/5 Trustpilot as reported on prioritygold.com |
| Endorsed by | Money Magazine, Investopedia (editorial, annually verified) | Robert Kiyosaki, Harry Dent, Forbes Advisor mention (per prioritygold.com) |
How to Choose Between Augusta and Priority Gold
The right choice depends primarily on the size of your eligible retirement account and how much weight you give to independent editorial awards versus growth momentum. These four profiles are a starting guide. Consult a licensed financial advisor before moving forward.
Augusta Precious Metals
At this level, the industry-reported minimum likely qualifies for Augusta’s fee waiver program. Augusta’s five-year best-overall ranking and zero-complaint BBB record offer a credibility benchmark that matters for larger accounts where the dollar risk is higher.
Get Augusta’s guide →Consider Priority Gold
Augusta’s minimum likely excludes this balance range. Priority Gold’s ~$25,000 recommended minimum (per prioritygold.com) and BBB A+ rating make it a reasonable alternative here, provided you request a written fee breakdown before committing.
Augusta Precious Metals
If independent editorial recognition is your primary trust signal, Augusta’s five consecutive Money Magazine and Investopedia rankings are a meaningful differentiator. Priority Gold has media mentions and endorsements, but not the same depth of recurring independent editorial awards.
See Augusta’s credentials →Worth evaluating Priority Gold
Priority Gold’s Inc. 5000 #1927 ranking (2025) reflects strong revenue growth independently measured by Inc. Magazine. Growth signals client demand. For buyers who weight market traction alongside ratings, this is a real and verifiable data point.
Three factors matter regardless of which company you choose:
Request a full fee breakdown from any provider: setup fee, annual custodian fee, and annual storage fee. A fee waiver in year one matters less than a clear, low fee structure in years two through ten. Compare the 10-year total cost, not just the first-year cost.
Not every gold or silver coin qualifies for an IRA. IRS Publication 590-B requires gold to meet 0.995 fineness or higher (American Eagle gold coins are explicitly approved at 91.67% pure). Ask your provider to confirm that specific products they sell meet current IRS requirements.
A rollover from a 401(k) or traditional IRA typically takes 2 to 6 weeks. A 60-day window applies to indirect rollovers. Missing it can trigger taxes and penalties. Consult your tax advisor before initiating any rollover to understand the rules for your specific account type.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the minimum investment to open a gold IRA?
IRS rules do not set a minimum dollar amount for a self-directed IRA. The minimums come from individual companies. Augusta Precious Metals is widely cited by third-party reviewers (Money Magazine, Investopedia) at around $50,000, though Augusta does not state this figure on its public pages. Priority Gold recommends approximately $25,000 as a starting point, according to prioritygold.com. Request a consultation with either company to confirm the current minimum and whether a promotional offer changes the threshold.
Can I roll over my 401(k) to a gold IRA without taxes or penalties?
A direct rollover from a 401(k) to a self-directed gold IRA, processed custodian to custodian, is generally not a taxable event as long as the funds are not distributed to you personally. An indirect rollover, where the check is issued to you, requires depositing the full amount into the new IRA within 60 days, or it may be treated as a distribution and taxed as ordinary income. If you are under 59.5, a 10% early withdrawal penalty may also apply. The rules depend on your specific account type, age, and situation. Consult your tax advisor before initiating any rollover.
What gold coins and bars are approved for an IRA?
IRS Publication 590-B specifies that gold held in an IRA must meet 0.995 fineness (99.5% pure) or higher, with an exception for American Eagle gold coins (91.67% pure gold, explicitly approved by the IRS). Common IRS-approved products include American Gold Eagles, American Gold Buffaloes, Canadian Gold Maple Leafs, and gold bars produced by COMEX-approved refiners at 0.9999 fineness. Collectible or numismatic coins generally do not qualify. Confirm with your provider that specific products meet current IRS requirements before purchasing.
Can I store gold IRA metals at home?
No. IRS rules require all gold, silver, platinum, and palladium held in a self-directed IRA to be stored at an IRS-approved depository arranged by the custodian. Storing IRA metals at home, in a personal safe, or in a bank safe deposit box disqualifies the IRA and triggers a taxable distribution. The IRS and FTC have taken enforcement actions against companies marketing “home storage gold IRAs.” Both Augusta and Priority Gold store metals in IRS-approved third-party depositories, as required.
What are the fees for a gold IRA?
Gold IRA fees typically include a one-time account setup fee, an annual custodian or administrative fee (commonly $75 to $200 per year), and an annual storage fee charged by the depository (commonly $100 to $200 per year). Some companies bundle these fees into a single annual amount. Augusta discloses its fee structure during the free consultation and offers a multi-year fee waiver for qualifying rollover accounts. Priority Gold lists an approximate annual fee range of $200 to $300 on its educational page (per prioritygold.com), with setup and storage details available upon request. The 10-year cumulative cost matters more than the first-year figure.
Which company has lower fees: Augusta or Priority Gold?
Neither company publishes a complete fee schedule that allows a direct public comparison. Augusta’s fees are disclosed during the consultation and may be partially waived for qualifying rollover accounts. Priority Gold publishes an estimated $200 to $300 annual fee range but does not break out setup or storage fees separately. To compare accurately for your specific account size and timeline, request a written fee quote from both companies before deciding. Do not rely on estimated ranges when you can get an actual quote.
Is a gold IRA a good investment?
Gold IRAs hold physical precious metals inside a tax-advantaged retirement account structure defined by IRS rules. Whether they are appropriate for your situation depends on your overall retirement portfolio, time horizon, liquidity needs, and financial goals, which vary by individual. We are not financial advisors. Past performance is not a guarantee of future results. Consult a licensed financial advisor before making any retirement investment decisions. For factual information about how gold IRAs work, see IRS Publication 590-B and the SEC’s investor.gov resources on self-directed IRAs.
What is the difference between a traditional gold IRA and a Roth gold IRA?
A traditional gold IRA uses pre-tax contributions, grows tax-deferred, and distributions in retirement are taxed as ordinary income. A Roth gold IRA uses after-tax contributions, grows tax-free, and qualified distributions in retirement are not taxed. The right structure depends on your current tax bracket versus your expected bracket in retirement. Both Priority Gold and Augusta offer traditional and Roth gold IRA options. Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation before choosing between a traditional and Roth gold IRA.
How long does it take to open a gold IRA?
Opening a self-directed gold IRA and completing a rollover from an existing retirement account typically takes 2 to 6 weeks. The timeline includes paperwork at the existing custodian, the transfer or rollover to the new gold IRA custodian, and selection and delivery of metals to the depository. Direct rollovers (custodian to custodian) are generally faster and simpler than indirect rollovers. The actual timeline depends substantially on the responsiveness of the sending custodian, not just the receiving company.
What does BBB A+ mean and does it matter for gold IRA companies?
The Better Business Bureau rates companies from A+ to F based on complaint history, time in business, licensing compliance, and responsiveness to complaints. An A+ rating is the highest. Both Augusta and Priority Gold hold A+ BBB accreditation. The important distinction is the complaint count alongside the rating. Augusta has been BBB-accredited since 2014 with zero complaints on record, per Augusta’s public pages. Priority Gold’s A+ status is confirmed on its website, though the specific complaint count was not accessible in Goldiew’s May 2026 research (the BBB profile returned an error during direct crawl). A zero-complaint record at Augusta’s scale and tenure is a meaningful signal in a sector with frequent consumer complaints about high-pressure sales tactics.
Sources and Methodology
The facts in this comparison come from the following sources, crawled or verified in 2026. Every claim in the guide is traceable to one of these.
- ↗ Augusta Precious Metals official website (2026)
- ↗ Priority Gold official website (2026)
- ↗ Better Business Bureau (BBB) rating verification
- ↗ Inc. Magazine Inc. 5000 (2025) database
- ↗ IRS Publication 590-B: IRA rules for precious metals
- ↗ SEC investor.gov: self-directed IRA risk disclosure
- ↗ FINRA: precious metals fraud alerts
- ↗ Investopedia: Most Transparent Gold IRA Company award (Augusta, 2022-2026)
- ↗ Goldiew moderated user reviews database: Augusta (7 reviews, 2026)
- ↗ Business Consumer Alliance: Priority Gold AAA rating
For this comparison, Goldiew researchers reviewed public information from both companies’ websites, cross-referenced third-party sources for awards and ratings, and applied the same 8-criteria methodology described above. Augusta facts are drawn from the Goldiew company verification database (verified 2026). Priority Gold facts are drawn from a direct crawl of prioritygold.com (2026) and cross-referenced against Inc. 5000 public records and the Business Consumer Alliance. Any fact not verifiable from a public source is labeled “Not publicly stated” in the comparison table. Past performance data cited from any source is not a guarantee of future results.