• Current precious-metal spot prices
  • Gold $4,324.31 -111.31 (-2.51%)
  • Silver $64.04 -2.66 (-3.98%)
  • Platinum $1,837.14 -46.58 (-2.47%)
  • Palladium $1,322.82 -26.05 (-1.93%)
  • updated 15 hours ago
Login
Signup

Augusta Precious Metals vs Goldco (2026): Which Gold IRA Company Wins?

By Goldiew Research & Editorial · Last reviewed: May 18, 2026 · 17 min read

Editorial transparency. Goldiew may earn a commission when you use a link on this page to connect with a partner company, at no extra cost to you. That commission never influences our research, ratings, or recommendations. We feature only companies we have researched and consider credible, and because we are not the company itself, we do not set its prices or terms. The information here is educational, not financial or legal advice.

You typed “Augusta vs Goldco” because you want a direct answer before putting $50,000 or more of your retirement savings into a gold IRA. Both companies are among the most-searched gold IRA providers in the US. Both hold BBB A+ ratings. Both advertise on conservative media. That is where most of the similarities end. This comparison breaks down the real differences in process, transparency, minimum investment, and track record so you can make an informed decision without a sales call first.

Quick Verdict: Augusta vs Goldco

#2

Goldco

★★★★★ 4.8 / 5 (per BBB, 2026)

Best for: investors with ~$25,000 or those drawn to active promotions and celebrity-endorsed brand

Minimum: industry-reported ~$25,000

Rankings reflect independent evaluation criteria documented in our methodology below. Goldiew earns commission from Augusta when readers open accounts through our links; this does not influence ratings.

WHY TRUST THIS COMPARISON

Goldiew operates an independent review platform with verified user reviews moderated manually before publication. For this comparison, we crawled Augusta and Goldco’s public websites in 2026, cross-referenced BBB data, and applied a consistent 8-criterion evaluation framework. Every factual claim in this guide cites its source. We do not use affiliate portal materials as editorial inputs.

How We Evaluate Gold IRA Companies

Every company in this guide was evaluated on 8 criteria drawn from IRS publication standards, FINRA investor guidelines, and Goldiew’s internal user review database. We give no company extra credit for marketing spend or celebrity endorsements. The criteria below explain how we measured each dimension.

1
BBB Rating and Complaints
Accreditation status, star rating, and complaint count. Zero complaints is a meaningful differentiator in the gold IRA space, where bad actors have historically generated high complaint volumes before closure.
2
Fee Transparency
Are custodian, storage, and setup fees disclosed clearly on the public website? Opacity is a red flag identified by both FINRA and the FTC in enforcement against precious metals companies.
3
Sales Process Ethics
Commission-based salespeople have a financial incentive to close. Salaried educators do not. We weight non-commissioned structures favorably for high-stakes retirement financial products where pressure tactics are a documented risk.
4
Customer Review Quality
We analyze verified reviews on Goldiew, Trustpilot, Google, and Consumer Affairs. We look at both volume and the substance of reviews, separating template praise from substantive feedback.
5
Minimum Investment
The IRS sets no minimum for a gold IRA. Company minimums vary from $10,000 to $100,000+. Higher minimums sometimes reflect more personalized service; they also exclude more investors.
6
IRS Compliance
Gold held in an IRA must meet IRS fineness standards per IRS Publication 590-B. We verify each company holds IRS-approved products and does not promote non-qualifying storage arrangements.
7
Storage and Custodian Network
IRA-held gold must be stored at an IRS-approved depository; home storage is not permitted. We evaluate the transparency and quality of each company’s custodian and depository disclosures.
8
Third-Party Recognition
Independent editorial awards from Money Magazine, Investopedia, and similar publications carry weight when awarded consistently over multiple years. A single-year award is less signal than five consecutive years.

Source data comes from official company websites (crawled May 2026), the Better Business Bureau, FINRA investor alerts, and Goldiew’s moderated user review database. All factual claims in this guide cite their source.

Based on our 8 criteria, Augusta Precious Metals scores highest with Money Magazine #1 (2022-2026), BBB A+ Zero Complaints, and salaried specialists.

2

Goldco

Broad celebrity endorser network, active promotions, lower reported minimum

Goldiew editorial note: This section covers Goldco for research purposes. All facts below are sourced from Goldco’s public website (2026 crawl) or industry-reported data as noted.

BBB Rating
A+ (4.8 stars)
5-Star Reviews
8,000+
Founded
~2006*
Minimum
~$25,000*

*Industry-reported; not stated on Goldco’s public homepage as of 2026.

Goldco has built substantial brand recognition through aggressive celebrity endorsement. Their homepage lists Sean Hannity, Tom Selleck, Dennis Quaid, Chuck Norris, Donald Trump Jr., and Lara Trump as public endorsers. The company reports over $3 billion placed in gold and silver, 8,000+ five-star customer ratings, and nine consecutive years on the Inc. 5000 list. By raw visibility metrics, Goldco is one of the most recognizable gold IRA brands in the US.

What Goldco Offers

Goldco provides gold and silver IRA accounts, direct precious metals purchases, and what they describe as a “1-day IRA setup” on their public website. They advertise a buy-back guarantee and a price match guarantee. For customers investing $100,000 or more in qualifying premium coins, Goldco publicly offers up to 10% in bonus gold or silver (per goldco.com, 2026). This type of upfront bonus is uncommon among major competitors and may appeal to investors making large initial purchases who want an immediate position boost.

Goldco holds a BBB A+ rating with a 4.8-star score and a Triple A rating from the Business Consumer Alliance (per their public homepage, 2026). They received the 2026 Money.com Best Customer Service award and ranked #18 in the Inc. Regionals Pacific 2025 list. These are real recognition metrics.

What to Understand Before Choosing Goldco

Celebrity endorsements are a marketing cost. Augusta’s own public messaging explicitly identifies celebrity endorsements as something “built into pricing” that increases costs for consumers. Whether that framing changes how you assess Goldco’s endorser list is a personal judgment. Goldiew’s methodology does not award points for endorser recognition; it focuses on transparency, fee structure, and complaint record.

Goldco’s homepage does not publish specific fee amounts or name its custodian and depository partners. Their IRA page says customers will “generally end up paying a few hundred dollars a year in custodial and storage fees” without detail. For investors who want fee specifics before getting on a call, the first conversation with Goldco is required before you know the full cost structure. That is a transparency gap compared to companies that publish fee schedules publicly.

The industry-reported minimum around $25,000 is meaningfully lower than Augusta’s reported $50,000. Investors with $25,000 to $49,000 to roll over will find Goldco’s threshold more accessible (if the report is accurate; verify directly). Goldco’s sales compensation structure is not publicly stated as non-commissioned on their website, which is a distinction worth noting against Augusta’s explicit non-commissioned claim.

Pros
  • BBB A+ (4.8 stars) with 8,000+ five-star reviews across platforms
  • Lower industry-reported minimum (~$25,000) than Augusta
  • Up to 10% bonus gold/silver on $100,000+ qualifying orders
  • Nine consecutive Inc. 5000 appearances (growth and stability signal)
  • 2026 Money.com Best Customer Service recognition
Cons
  • Fees and custodian details not disclosed publicly (require a call first)
  • Sales compensation structure not stated publicly as non-commissioned
  • Celebrity endorsement model may inflate costs per industry analysis
  • Goldiew has no internal verified review data for Goldco
Potentially good for

Investors with $25,000-$49,000 who find Augusta’s minimum too high, those specifically attracted to Goldco’s buy-back guarantee, or those making a $100k+ purchase who want the bonus offer.

Not for

Investors who need full fee transparency before a first conversation, or those who weigh non-commissioned sales structure as a meaningful decision factor.

Full Comparison: Augusta vs Goldco (12 Criteria)

Green cells mark a clear verifiable advantage. Italic gray text indicates the information is not stated on the company’s public website as of the May 2026 crawl.

CriterionAugusta Precious MetalsGoldco
Goldiew Rating4.71 / 5 (7 verified Goldiew reviews, independently moderated)Not available
BBB RatingA+ with zero complaints (per augustapreciousmetals.com, 2026)A+ (4.8 stars, per goldco.com home, 2026)
Founded2012 (per augustapreciousmetals.com: “Trusted by American Retirees Since 2012”)Industry-reported ~2006 (not stated on goldco.com, 2026)
HeadquartersBeverly Hills, CA (primary) + Casper, WYIndustry-reported: Calabasas, CA (not stated on goldco.com, 2026)
Minimum InvestmentIndustry-reported ~$50,000Industry-reported ~$25,000 (lower accessibility for sub-$50k accounts)
Sales Staff ModelSalaried, non-commissioned educators (stated publicly on augustapreciousmetals.com)Not stated publicly on goldco.com as of 2026
ProcessEducation-First: Learn → Talk → Decide (no obligation at any stage)“1-day IRA setup” claim; standard rollover timeline applies beyond account creation
Fee TransparencyMulti-year fee waiver for qualifying accounts; specific terms confirmed in consultation“A few hundred dollars a year” estimate (specific amounts not disclosed publicly)
Active PromotionMulti-year fee waiver for qualifying rollover accountsUp to 10% bonus gold/silver on $100,000+ qualifying premium coin orders
Independent AwardsMoney Magazine Best Overall Gold IRA (2022-2026, 5 years); Investopedia Most Transparent (2022-2026)Money.com 2026 Best Customer Service; Inc. 5000 nine consecutive years; 2025 Stevie Award
Celebrity EndorsersNone listed on public site; Augusta publicly critiques celebrity endorsement pricing modelSean Hannity, Tom Selleck, Dennis Quaid, Chuck Norris, Lara Trump, Donald Trump Jr.
Goldiew VerdictRecommended for $50k+ accounts prioritizing transparency and no-pressure processHonest non-recommendation: worth researching for sub-$50k accounts or bonus-driven buyers; verify all fees directly
Take actionGet Augusta free guide →,

Which Gold IRA Company Is Right for You?

Account size, timeline, and priorities all shape which company fits best. The profiles below cover the most common scenarios across Goldiew user reviews and the gold IRA discussions on Reddit r/personalfinance and Bogleheads forums.

$50,000 and above

Choose Augusta

At $50,000+, you have access to the company with the strongest documented independent recognition track record for transparency in the gold IRA space. Augusta’s non-commissioned educator model, zero-complaint BBB record, and five-year award consistency from Money Magazine and Investopedia are hard to match at this account tier. The multi-year fee waiver for qualifying accounts also becomes more financially meaningful at higher balances.

See Augusta’s zero-fees offer for qualifying $50K+ rollovers →
$25,000 to $49,999

Consider Goldco or Birch Gold

If Augusta’s industry-reported $50,000 minimum is above your current rollover amount, Goldco’s industry-reported $25,000 threshold may be a fit. Birch Gold Group is also worth comparing at this range: industry-reported $10,000 minimum, 40,000+ customers since 2011, BBB A+, endorsed by Ron Paul. The right choice depends on the process you want and fee details confirmed in your first call. Consult your tax advisor on rollover mechanics before deciding.

Get Birch’s free Info Kit ($10K minimum) →
Making a $100,000+ initial purchase

Compare both bonus structures first

Goldco’s public offer of up to 10% bonus gold/silver on $100,000+ qualifying premium coin orders is notable. Whether that bonus net of premium coin pricing represents genuine value relative to Augusta’s multi-year fee waiver on the same amount requires a direct quote comparison. Get written proposals from both before deciding. This is not investment advice; consult a licensed financial advisor.

Prioritizing no-pressure process

Choose Augusta

If your main concern is avoiding a high-pressure sales experience, Augusta’s publicly stated non-commissioned educator model is the clearest structural protection in the top tier. The “Decide” stage of their process is genuinely optional. You can complete the Learn and Talk stages, receive all the information, and choose not to proceed with zero financial obligation.

Get Augusta’s free Gold IRA guide + dedicated specialist →
Under $25,000

Neither company is the right fit

Both Augusta and Goldco serve investors with meaningful retirement account balances. Under $25,000, your situation may be better served by a company with a lower minimum or by building your existing account before rolling over. A licensed financial advisor can help you evaluate whether a gold IRA makes sense at your current balance. This is not investment advice.

We are not financial advisors. Consult a licensed advisor before making retirement decisions. Past performance is not a guarantee of future results.

Ready to explore Augusta?

Their free Gold IRA guide and 1-on-1 educator call carry no obligation. You decide whether to proceed after the conversation.

Get Augusta’s free Gold IRA guide + company checklist

Money Magazine #1 (2022-2026) • BBB A+ Zero Complaints • 4,000+ five-star ratings

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the minimum investment for Augusta Precious Metals vs Goldco?

Neither company publicly states their minimum on their homepage. Based on consistent third-party reporting from Money.com and Investopedia, Augusta’s minimum is widely cited as approximately $50,000. Goldco’s minimum is industry-reported around $25,000. Both figures were unverified on their respective public homepages as of our May 2026 crawl. Confirm the current minimum directly with each company before initiating any transfer or rollover.

Does Augusta have a better BBB rating than Goldco?

Both hold BBB A+ ratings. The distinguishing factor is complaint history. Augusta’s public homepage states “BBB A+ Rating with Zero Complaints” (our May 2026 crawl confirmed this wording). Goldco shows a 4.8-star BBB score with a high volume of customer reviews (per their homepage, 2026). Zero complaints on a 14-year-old financial services company is a specific differentiator. It means no customer dispute reached BBB mediation over 14 years of operation. Both are BBB-accredited; the zero-complaint status is Augusta’s specific distinction.

Can I roll over my 401(k) to a gold IRA with either company?

Both Augusta and Goldco facilitate 401(k)-to-gold-IRA rollovers. A direct rollover from a 401(k) to a self-directed IRA holding precious metals is generally not a taxable event when executed as a direct trustee-to-trustee transfer, per IRS Publication 590-A. However, the specific tax mechanics depend on your plan type, age, account balance, and income. Consult your tax advisor before initiating any rollover. This is not tax advice.

What gold and silver can I hold in an IRA?

The IRS specifies fineness requirements for precious metals in IRAs per IRS Publication 590-B. Gold must be 0.995 fine or better. Silver must be 0.999 fine or better. Certain coins are explicitly approved, including American Eagle coins (an exception to the fineness standard), Canadian Maple Leafs, and other IRS-listed bullion. Collectible and numismatic coins generally do not qualify. Both Augusta and Goldco offer IRS-approved products, but confirm the specific catalog with the company you choose.

Can I store gold IRA metals at home?

No. IRS rules require gold held in a self-directed IRA to be stored at an IRS-approved depository, not at your home or in a personal safe. Taking physical possession of IRA-held gold is treated as a taxable distribution. If you are under 59.5 years old, a 10% early withdrawal penalty also applies. FINRA has issued specific investor alerts about precious metals fraud, including companies that market “home storage gold IRAs” as legitimate. Treat any company promoting home IRA storage as a significant red flag. Both Augusta and Goldco use IRS-approved third-party depositories.

What fees should I expect with a gold IRA?

Gold IRA fees typically include a one-time account setup fee, annual custodian fees, and annual storage fees at the depository. Some companies charge transaction fees on purchases. Specific amounts vary by company and are often not published publicly. Augusta describes a multi-year fee waiver for qualifying rollover accounts; exact terms are confirmed during the free consultation. Goldco’s IRA page estimates “a few hundred dollars a year in custodial and storage fees” without specifics. For any company you seriously consider, request a written fee schedule before opening an account. Consult your tax advisor for the total cost picture.

Is a gold IRA a good investment for retirement?

A gold IRA is a self-directed retirement account that holds physical gold instead of stocks or bonds. Like all investments, gold prices fluctuate and past performance is not a guarantee of future results. We are not financial advisors. Whether a gold IRA fits your retirement strategy depends on your overall financial picture, time horizon, existing allocations, and goals. If you have decided to explore this option, consult a licensed financial advisor and review the SEC investor guidance on precious metals before proceeding.

How long does a gold IRA rollover take?

The rollover timeline depends primarily on your current plan custodian’s processing time. Most direct rollovers take 1 to 4 weeks from initiation to funded account. Indirect rollovers, where you receive a check and redeposit yourself, must be completed within 60 days to avoid a taxable distribution event per IRS rules. Goldco advertises “1-day IRA setup,” which refers to account creation; the full funding process still depends on your originating custodian. Augusta’s onboarding is deliberate and includes an education phase before rollover initiation. Consult your tax advisor on the mechanics for your specific situation.

What celebrity endorsers does Goldco use?

As of our May 2026 crawl of goldco.com, Goldco’s public homepage lists Sean Hannity, Tom Selleck, Dennis Quaid, Chuck Norris, Lara Trump, and Donald Trump Jr. as endorsers. Celebrity endorsements are a marketing expense. Augusta’s public messaging identifies celebrity endorsements as a cost factor that can be “built into pricing.” Whether you view a celebrity endorser list as a positive trust signal for a financial services company is a personal judgment, not a compliance or quality indicator in either direction.

Which company wins overall, Augusta or Goldco?

For investors with $50,000 or more who want a transparent, no-pressure onboarding process backed by a long-standing zero-complaint BBB record, Augusta is our recommendation. Their salaried non-commissioned educator model and five consecutive years of Money Magazine and Investopedia recognition are difficult to match. For investors below the $50,000 threshold, or those specifically drawn to Goldco’s promotion structure or lower reported minimum, Goldco is worth evaluating on its own merits. This is not investment advice. Consult a licensed financial advisor for your specific situation.

Sources and Methodology

All company facts in this guide were verified against public sources. No affiliate portal materials, training documents, or non-public company data were used in the editorial content.

This guide evaluated Augusta and Goldco on 8 criteria: BBB rating and complaints, fee transparency, sales process ethics, customer review quality, minimum investment, IRS compliance, storage and custodian network, and third-party recognition. Facts were sourced from public websites and cross-referenced with FINRA, SEC, and BBB materials. No company paid Goldiew for inclusion. Goldiew earns commission from Augusta when readers open accounts through our links;

This guide is reviewed and updated quarterly to reflect changes in IRS rules, partner offers, and company policies. For questions, corrections, or to report inaccuracies, contact our editorial team via the contact page.

Last reviewed: May 18, 2026

editorial team
Goldiew Research & Editorial
Independent research on gold, jewelry, and precious metals, from selling and loans to gold IRAs. About our methodology →

Saving favorites is only available to logged-in users. Please log in or sign up to continue.

By continuing with Google you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.
or log in with email

🔒❔ Forgot your password? Reset it here.

Liking reviews is for logged-in users: please log in or sign up to continue.

By continuing with Google you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.
or log in with email

🔒❔ Forgot your password? Reset it here.

Login

By continuing with Google you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.
or log in with email

🖐️➡ No account yet? Sign up here.

🔒❔ Forgot your password? Reset it here.