Augusta Precious Metals and Allegiance Gold are two California-based companies that often appear side by side in gold IRA searches. Augusta built its name on a structured education process aimed at retirement investors with larger account balances. Allegiance Gold positions itself on fee transparency, offering published custodial and storage costs on their website alongside a broad metals selection that includes platinum and palladium. If you are deciding between these two, the differences in minimum investment, fee disclosure, and service approach matter more than marketing language. This comparison gives you verified facts from both companies’ public pages and a plain-English decision guide.
Past performance is not a guarantee of future results. Gold IRA accounts carry investment risk. Consult a licensed financial advisor before making retirement decisions. We are not financial advisors.
Quick Verdict: Augusta vs Allegiance Gold

Rankings reflect fit for different investor profiles, not an absolute claim that one company is universally superior. See methodology below.
On this page
How We Evaluated Augusta and Allegiance Gold
Both companies operate in the same space: helping US investors open or roll over retirement funds into a self-directed precious metals IRA. Despite that shared market, they have built meaningfully different offerings. Augusta bets on deep investor education before any purchase decision. Allegiance Gold bets on fee transparency and a broad metals range as selling points. Our job was to sort the real differences from the marketing positioning.
We scored each company on eight criteria, weighted by what Goldiew readers consistently say matters most when choosing a gold IRA company:
BBB accreditation status, complaint volume, third-party review platform ratings, and industry recognitions.
Does the company publish fee amounts on their public pages, or do you have to call first to get a number?
The entry threshold determines who can realistically open an account with each company.
Gold IRAs have a learning curve covering IRS rules, custodians, depositories, and eligible metals. How does each company help investors understand the product?
Commissioned sales staff have financial incentives that may not align with investor interests. We look at how each company structures its team.
IRS rules require an approved custodian and third-party depository storage. We checked what each company publicly discloses about these partners.
Review volume and quality on independent platforms plus Goldiew’s own verified user review database.
A gold IRA is a multi-decade commitment. We look at buyback options, ongoing account support, and company stability.
Sources relied on: company websites crawled July 2026, BBB accreditation records, and Goldiew’s internal review database (7 verified Augusta reviews at time of publication; no Allegiance Gold reviews on Goldiew). See the sources section for full attribution.
One critical note on bias: Our methodology is identical for every company we cover, independent of any commercial relationship. We flag this clearly throughout and held both companies to the same factual standard. Where Allegiance Gold published information on their own site, we used it directly and cited the specific page. Where they did not disclose something publicly, we said so.
Augusta Precious Metals: In-Depth Review

Augusta Precious Metals
Best for $50,000+ accounts · Education-first approach · Beverly Hills, CA
What Makes Augusta Different
Augusta Precious Metals was founded in 2012 and has built its identity around one principle: investors who understand what they are buying make better decisions. That philosophy is embedded in how their process actually works. Every prospect goes through what Augusta publicly calls their Education-First Process: Learn, Talk, Decide. You begin with their Gold IRA guide, then have a one-on-one web conference with a member of their education team, and only then decide whether to open an account.
The point Goldiew readers most often raise as meaningful: Augusta’s team is salaried and non-commissioned. That is stated directly on Augusta’s public home page. In a category where premium numismatic coins carry far higher margins than standard bullion, commissioned staff have a built-in incentive to steer customers toward higher-margin products. Augusta’s structure eliminates that incentive at the company level.
Augusta has held a BBB A+ rating with zero complaints since their accreditation in 2014. Money Magazine named Augusta the Best Overall Gold IRA Company every year from 2022 through 2026. Investopedia named them the Most Transparent company in the same period. Both awards are cited on Augusta’s public home page and were confirmed during our July 2026 crawl. Over 4,000 five-star ratings across Trustpilot, Google, and Consumer Affairs back up those institutional recognitions.
Fees and Account Minimums
Augusta does not publish a specific fee schedule on their public website. Third-party sources including Money.com and Investopedia consistently report a minimum investment of around $50,000, though Augusta itself does not post this number on their home or about pages. Their current offer, confirmed on their public site, is a multi-year fee waiver for qualifying rollover accounts; exact terms require a consultation to discuss. If these specifics factor into your decision, they are worth raising at the start of your first call.
Augusta works with qualified self-directed IRA custodians and IRS-approved depositories but does not name specific partners publicly; you receive those details during the consultation. This is a different approach than Allegiance Gold, which names their custodian and depositories directly on their public pages. Whether you prefer to research those partners before calling or during the call is a personal preference, not an objective measure of quality.
Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation before making retirement account decisions.
Who Augusta Is (and Isn’t) For
Pros
- BBB A+ with zero complaints since 2014
- Salaried, non-commissioned educators (stated on home page)
- Money Magazine #1 gold IRA company 2022-2026
- Investopedia Most Transparent 2022-2026
- Education-first process before any purchase decision
- Multi-year fee waiver for qualifying rollover accounts
- 4,000+ five-star reviews across independent platforms
Cons
- Industry-reported minimum around $50,000 limits accessibility
- Fee details and custodian names require a consultation call
- Education process takes time; not for investors who want rapid setup
- Focuses on gold and silver; no publicly stated platinum or palladium option
Allegiance Gold: In-Depth Review
Allegiance Gold
Fee-transparent · All four metals · Calabasas, CA
What Makes Allegiance Gold Different
Allegiance Gold, LLC operates out of Calabasas, California and holds a BBB A+ accreditation. Their team claims a combined 50 years of industry experience on their public home page. In 2023 the company appeared on the Inc. 5000 list of fastest-growing private US companies, a recognition they display publicly. They also list memberships with TrustLink, TrustPilot, and the Business Consumer Alliance.
The most practical differentiator Allegiance Gold offers is fee transparency. Their gold IRA page publishes approximate annual costs directly: a custodial fee of around $125 per year, commingled storage at around $100 per year, and segregated storage at around $175 per year. Dealer premiums are charged once at purchase and are not a recurring annual fee. Not many gold IRA companies post these numbers publicly; Augusta, for comparison, requires a consultation to discuss fees. For investors who want to build a total cost model before calling, Allegiance Gold gives you a meaningful head start.
Allegiance Gold names their custodian (Strata Trust) and their depository partners (Delaware Depository and International Depository Services) on their publicly accessible FAQ page. Their gold IRA page also lists Brink’s as a storage option, with $1 billion in all-risk insurance coverage per facility. All named depositories and custodians are IRS-approved for self-directed precious metals IRAs per IRS Publication 590-A.
Allegiance Gold offers all four IRS-approved precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium, in both bullion and coin forms. Their FAQ confirms their “5 P’s Approach” to diversification (Preservation, Protection, Profit Potential, Privacy, and Proper Diversification) and a free investment guide and diversification quiz on their website.
Fees and Account Minimums
The fee transparency is a genuine differentiator: approximately $125 per year for custodial maintenance and around $100 to $175 per year for storage depending on whether you choose commingled or segregated. The dealer premium is a one-time charge at the time of purchase, not an ongoing annual cost. These figures come directly from Allegiance Gold’s gold IRA page, accessed July 2026.
Allegiance Gold does not publish a minimum investment amount on their website. Independent review sources consistently report a minimum of around $10,000 for IRA transfers, though that figure is not confirmed on their public pages. Contact them directly for current minimums. Their FAQ confirms Strata Trust as their named custodian. SEP IRA contribution limits of $66,000 are cited on their FAQ in line with current IRS figures, though contribution limits are set by the IRS and apply regardless of which company you use.
Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation before making retirement account decisions.
Who Allegiance Gold Is (and Isn’t) For
Pros
- Published approximate annual fees on public website (~$125 custodial, ~$100-175 storage)
- Named custodian (Strata Trust) and depositories (Delaware Depository, IDS, Brink’s) publicly stated
- All four metals: gold, silver, platinum, palladium
- BBB A+ accreditation
- Inc. 5000 recognition (2023)
- Broad IRA type support: Traditional, Roth, SEP, SIMPLE, 401k, 403b, 457b, TSP
- $1 billion in all-risk depository insurance per Lloyd’s of London
Cons
- Minimum investment not published on their public website
- Sales staff compensation model not stated publicly
- No national award recognition matching Augusta’s Money Magazine or Investopedia track record
- no Goldiew-verified user reviews available at publication
Note: Allegiance Gold is covered with the same methodology as every company on the platform. This review is based solely on publicly available information from allegiancegold.com and BBB.org records, accessed July 2026. Consult BBB directly for their current complaint history before making any decision.
Full Comparison: Augusta vs Allegiance Gold
The table below uses verified public facts only. Where a company has not disclosed information on their own public pages, we use italic text rather than guessing. Both companies were reviewed in July 2026.
| Dimension | Augusta Precious Metals | Allegiance Gold |
|---|---|---|
| Goldiew Rating | 4.71 / 5 (7 verified reviews) | Not yet reviewed on Goldiew |
| Founded | 2012 (per public home page) | Not publicly stated on their site |
| Headquarters | Beverly Hills, CA (and Casper, WY) | Calabasas, CA |
| Minimum Investment | Industry-reported around $50,000; not on public site | Not publicly stated; independent sources report ~$10,000 for IRA |
| BBB Rating | A+ · Zero complaints · Accredited since 2014 | A+ · Accredited (per BBB.org, July 2026) |
| Annual Custodial Fee | Not published publicly; discuss during consultation | ~$125/year (published on gold IRA page) |
| Annual Storage Fee | Not published publicly | ~$100/year commingled or ~$175/year segregated (published) |
| Sales Staff Model | Salaried, non-commissioned (stated on home page) | Not publicly stated |
| Named Custodian | Qualified IRA custodian (name requires consultation) | Strata Trust (named on FAQ page) |
| Named Depositories | IRS-approved depository (names require consultation) | Delaware Depository, IDS, Brink’s (per gold IRA and FAQ pages) |
| Metals Available | Gold, Silver (publicly stated focus) | Gold, Silver, Platinum, Palladium |
| IRA Types | Traditional, Roth (contact for full list) | Traditional, Roth, SEP, SIMPLE, 401k, 403b, 457b, TSP (per FAQ) |
| Fee Promotion | Multi-year fee waiver for qualifying rollover accounts | Dealer premium one-time only (no recurring annual markup) |
| Key Awards | Money Magazine Best Overall (2022-2026) · Investopedia Most Transparent (2022-2026) | Inc. 5000 (2023) · TrustLink · BCA |
Which Company Fits Your Situation
Choosing between Augusta and Allegiance Gold comes down to three factors: how much you have to invest, how much information you want before calling, and whether you want metals beyond gold and silver. Here is how to think through each scenario:
This decision guide describes typical customer profiles based on publicly available information. It is not financial or investment advice. Consult a licensed financial advisor before making any retirement account decision.
Get Augusta’s free Gold IRA comparison checklistFrequently Asked Questions
What is the main difference between Augusta Precious Metals and Allegiance Gold?
Augusta focuses on a structured education process with a non-commissioned team and has the stronger national award recognition (Money Magazine, Investopedia). Allegiance Gold publishes approximate annual fees and names their custodian and depositories on their public pages, offering more pre-call transparency. Augusta’s industry-reported minimum is around $50,000; Allegiance Gold’s minimum is not published publicly. Augusta focuses on gold and silver; Allegiance Gold offers all four Our methodology is identical for every company we cover, independent of any commercial relationship.
What fees does Allegiance Gold charge for a gold IRA?
Allegiance Gold’s gold IRA page lists approximate annual fees: around $125 for custodial account maintenance and around $100 per year for commingled storage or $175 per year for segregated storage. Dealer premiums are a one-time cost at purchase and are not a recurring annual fee. These figures are published on Allegiance Gold’s public website (accessed July 2026) and are approximate; confirm current amounts with Allegiance Gold before opening an account. Augusta does not publish fee amounts publicly; ask during the consultation.
Which company has the lower minimum investment?
Allegiance Gold does not publish a minimum investment amount on their website. Independent review sources report a lower threshold than Augusta’s industry-reported figure, but those numbers are not confirmed on Allegiance Gold’s own pages. Augusta’s minimum is industry-reported around $50,000 by sources including Money.com and Investopedia, though Augusta does not post this figure publicly. Contact each company directly to confirm your eligibility before going through either company’s process.
Are both companies BBB accredited?
Yes. Augusta Precious Metals holds a BBB A+ rating with zero complaints since their accreditation in 2014, per Augusta’s own home page (verified July 2026). Allegiance Gold also holds a BBB A+ accreditation, confirmed via BBB.org search in July 2026. BBB ratings reflect complaint history and responsiveness at the time of publication. Verify each company’s current BBB profile at bbb.org before making a decision, as ratings can change.
What metals can I hold in a gold IRA with each company?
Per IRS Publication 590-A, eligible precious metals must meet minimum purity standards: gold at 99.5%, silver at 99.9%, platinum and palladium at 99.95%. Augusta publicly focuses on gold and silver. Allegiance Gold’s public pages confirm they offer gold, silver, platinum, and palladium in bullion and coin form. If platinum or palladium is part of your diversification plan, Allegiance Gold publicly supports it; contact Augusta directly to ask about their current offerings before ruling them out on this criterion alone.
Who are Allegiance Gold’s custodian and depositories?
Allegiance Gold names Strata Trust as their custodian on their public FAQ page. Their gold IRA and FAQ pages list Delaware Depository (Wilmington, Delaware), International Depository Services (IDS), and Brink’s among their storage facilities, with $1 billion in all-risk insurance coverage through Lloyd’s of London per facility. All named custodians and depositories are IRS-approved for self-directed precious metals IRAs. Augusta names their custodian and depositories during the consultation process rather than on public pages.
How does a 401(k) rollover to a gold IRA work with either company?
The rollover mechanics are the same regardless of which company you choose. Your existing 401(k) or IRA custodian transfers funds directly to the new self-directed IRA custodian the gold IRA company has arranged. Augusta guides you through this during the one-on-one Education-First process. Allegiance Gold’s FAQ page confirms support for 401(k), 403(b), 457(b), and TSP rollovers for participants over 59½ or no longer with their employer. The IRS allows direct rollovers (custodian to custodian, no taxable event) and indirect rollovers (funds to you first, 60-day window to reinvest). Direct is simpler and avoids mandatory withholding. Consult your tax advisor before initiating any rollover.
Can gold IRA metals be stored at home?
No. The IRS requires that precious metals held in a self-directed IRA be stored at an approved third-party depository, not at home and not in a safe deposit box. Home storage while claiming IRA tax treatment is a distribution event and triggers taxes and penalties. Both Augusta and Allegiance Gold use IRS-approved depositories. Allegiance Gold’s FAQ page states this explicitly: “The IRS strictly prohibits home storage options for precious metals used in IRAs.”
What are the contribution limits for a gold IRA in 2026?
A gold IRA follows the same contribution limits as any traditional or Roth IRA. For 2026, standard IRA limits are $7,000 per year for individuals under 50 and $8,000 for those 50 and older (the $1,000 catch-up contribution). SEP IRAs allow up to $66,000. These limits are set by the IRS and apply to all IRA providers equally. Rollovers from 401(k) or other employer plans do not count toward the annual contribution limit. Consult a licensed tax advisor for your specific situation, as contribution limits and deductibility rules depend on income and other plan participation. For the current official limits, see IRS Retirement Topics: IRA Contribution Limits.
Does Goldiew recommend Augusta or Allegiance Gold?
Our methodology is identical for every company we cover, independent of any commercial relationship. Based on publicly verified information: Augusta has a stronger institutional track record (Money Magazine, Investopedia, BBB A+ with zero complaints since 2014) and a documented non-commissioned team structure. Allegiance Gold offers more pre-call fee and partner transparency, covers all four metals, and may have a lower entry threshold. Our recommendation for investors with $50,000 or more who want a guided, education-first process: Augusta. For investors who want to review approximate fees and named custodian and depository partners before calling, or who need platinum or palladium: Allegiance Gold is worth contacting directly. Neither statement is financial advice. Consult a licensed advisor before any retirement decision.
Sources and Methodology
All factual claims in this guide are sourced from public-facing pages or qualified as industry-reported or unverified. We crawled both company websites in July 2026 using a standard desktop browser. Augusta facts are cross-referenced against our internal company verification records. Allegiance Gold facts are tagged to specific page URLs below.
- IRS Publication 590-A: Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements
- IRS: Retirement Topics: IRA Contribution Limits
- FINRA Investor Alert: Precious Metals Fraud
- Augusta Precious Metals home page (crawled July 2026)
- Augusta Precious Metals about page (crawled July 2026)
- Allegiance Gold home page (crawled July 2026)
- Allegiance Gold gold IRA page (crawled July 2026)
- Allegiance Gold FAQ page (crawled July 2026)
- Better Business Bureau: accreditation records for both companies (July 2026)
- SEC Investor Alerts (investor.gov)
- Goldiew internal review database: 7 verified Augusta user reviews, 0 Allegiance Gold reviews (July 2026)
Fee figures for Allegiance Gold are approximate values as published on their gold IRA and FAQ pages and are subject to change. Always confirm current rates with the company before opening an account. Any investment involves risk. Past performance is not a guarantee of future results.