• Current precious-metal spot prices
  • Gold $4,388.97 -41.21 (-0.93%)
  • Silver $65.60 -0.61 (-0.91%)
  • Platinum $1,807.45 +26.60 (+1.49%)
  • Palladium $1,393.71 +33.72 (+2.48%)
  • updated 23 hours ago
Login
Signup

Preserve Gold Review: Fees, BBB Rating, and What to Know Before Calling

By Goldiew Research & Editorial · Last reviewed: June 18, 2026 · 11 min read

Editorial transparency. Goldiew may earn a commission when you use a link on this page to connect with a partner company, at no extra cost to you. That commission never influences our research, ratings, or recommendations. We feature only companies we have researched and consider credible, and because we are not the company itself, we do not set its prices or terms. The information here is educational, not financial or legal advice.

Preserve Gold is a precious metals dealer based in Woodland Hills, California. It offers gold, silver, platinum, and palladium IRAs as well as home delivery. The company holds a BBB A+ rating and is ConsumerAffairs-accredited. Its most prominent marketing claims: a zero-fee buyback, price matching, and an IRA fee waiver of up to 5 years. What it does not disclose publicly: its founding year, custodian, depository, or minimum investment amount.

BBB Rating A+
Fee Waiver Up to 5 yr
Buyback Fee $0
Min. Investment Not disclosed
Custodian Not disclosed
Founded Not disclosed

What Is Preserve Gold?

Preserve Gold is a precious metals dealer headquartered at 21700 Oxnard Street, Suite 430, in Woodland Hills, California. The company sells physical gold, silver, platinum, and palladium for two purposes: retirement accounts (self-directed precious metals IRAs) and direct home delivery. It processes rollovers from 401(k)s, traditional IRAs, Roth IRAs, and similar retirement accounts.

The company’s website lists “0+ years of combined industry experience” on the homepage. This appears to be an unfilled content placeholder rather than a deliberate claim. Preserve Gold has not published its founding year, and the names of its founders or leadership team are not on its public site. For an industry where track record matters to buyers evaluating a company’s stability, this transparency gap stands out.

Third-party accreditation tells a different story. Preserve Gold holds a BBB A+ rating and Accredited Business status, ConsumerAffairs accreditation, and membership in the National Coin and Bullion Association (NCBA). These credentials indicate an established, complaint-responsive business. They do not speak to investment outcomes.

The company has been featured in or cited by CBS, Fox Business, Forbes, Fortune, Newsmax, TBN, The Epoch Times, and Money. These media mentions are a marketing signal, not a regulatory endorsement. Still, sustained media coverage from recognizable outlets is a reasonable baseline indicator of business activity.

What Preserve Gold Offers

Precious Metals IRA

Preserve Gold’s primary service is setting up self-directed precious metals IRAs. Per IRS Publication 590-A and Publication 590-B, these accounts allow investors to hold physical gold, silver, platinum, or palladium inside a tax-advantaged retirement account, subject to the same contribution limits and distribution rules as other IRAs. Consult a tax or financial professional for your specific situation before transferring retirement funds.

The company handles rollovers from 401(k)s, 403(b)s, traditional IRAs, Roth IRAs, and SEP IRAs. It represents itself as managing the transfer paperwork on behalf of customers. The IRA custodian and depository partner names are not published on the public site. You will need to ask for these during a consultation.

If you want to understand the mechanics of a self-directed gold IRA before calling any company, our plain-language gold IRA explainer covers the IRS rules, account types, and common setup pitfalls.

Home Delivery

For investors who prefer physical possession rather than IRA storage, Preserve Gold also sells metals for direct home delivery. This route does not carry the same tax advantages as an IRA. You own the metals outright, which means they are subject to capital gains rules on sale. Consult a tax professional regarding the tax treatment in your state.

Products

Preserve Gold carries four metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium. Within each metal, it offers coins, bars, and rounds. The company does not publish a live product catalog or current pricing on its public site. This is standard practice across the industry, since prices track live spot prices throughout the trading day. To check whether a specific product is IRS-eligible for your IRA, see our complete IRS-approved metals list.

Fees: What Is and Isn’t Disclosed

Preserve Gold markets itself on “zero hidden fees.” The specific numbers behind that claim are not on the public website. The fee detail page returned a server error at the time of this review, so independent verification of the figures was not possible without a consultation call.

What the company does state publicly:

  • IRA fee waiver of up to 5 years, with the length tied to investment size (specific tiers not published)
  • Price matching: Preserve Gold will match or beat competitor pricing
  • Zero-fee buyback: the company repurchases metals it sold at current market prices with no charge
  • Current bonus offer: free insured shipping, a $200 account credit, and a premium home safe

What is not disclosed: annual custodian fee, annual storage fee, setup fee, minimum investment to qualify for the fee waiver, and what fees apply after the waiver period expires. A comprehensive guide to typical gold IRA fees can help you benchmark the numbers when you get them from Preserve Gold directly. Always ask for a full written fee schedule before opening an account.

The 5-Year Fee Waiver: What the Promotion Actually Says

The fee waiver is Preserve Gold’s headline promotional offer. It covers IRA fees for up to 5 years, with the length depending on how much you invest. The company does not specify the investment tiers publicly.

Three questions to ask before accepting a fee waiver from any company: What is the minimum investment to qualify? Which fees are waived (custodian fees, storage fees, or both)? What is the fee structure after the waiver expires? Get the answers in writing. A 5-year waiver followed by high ongoing fees can cost more over a 10-year holding period than a company with no waiver but competitive flat rates.

For a side-by-side comparison of flat-fee vs. scaled-fee IRA structures, see our fee structure comparison guide.

Want full fee transparency before any sales call? Augusta Precious Metals provides a free information kit with complete fee information upfront. No commitment required. We earn a commission if you open an account through our link.

Get Augusta’s Free Information Kit

Celebrity Endorsers: What to Make of Them

Preserve Gold has endorsement agreements with Dr. Phil McGraw, Kirk Cameron, Chuck Holton, Erick Stackelbeck, and Pastor Allen Jackson. These are prominent media and faith-based personalities with audiences that overlap with the company’s target demographic. The FTC requires paid endorsers to disclose their material connection to the brand, which means these are compensated arrangements.

Celebrity endorsements are a marketing strategy, not an investment credential. None of the named individuals are registered investment advisers or licensed financial planners. Their endorsement does not reflect a professional evaluation of Preserve Gold’s products, fees, or custodial infrastructure. The FINRA precious metals fraud alert notes that endorsements from celebrities and trusted figures are commonly used to build credibility for both legitimate and problematic dealers alike.

Celebrity-endorsed pricing is worth watching. Some companies build the cost of high-profile endorsement deals into their product premiums. Ask Preserve Gold directly whether endorsement costs affect its pricing or margins.

BBB Rating and Third-Party Credibility

An A+ BBB rating is meaningful context. It indicates the business has been accredited since applying, has responded to complaints in a way BBB found satisfactory, and meets BBB’s transparency standards. It does not mean BBB audits or certifies the company’s financial products or IRA structure.

As an additional check, visit SEC investor.gov and search the company name for any enforcement actions or investor alerts. If Preserve Gold works with a broker-dealer for any services, that entity should be searchable on FINRA BrokerCheck. Both searches take under two minutes and are free.

For a deeper look at what BBB ratings actually tell you in the gold IRA context, see our dedicated guide on interpreting BBB ratings for gold IRA companies.

Who Preserve Gold Is For (and Who Should Look Elsewhere)

Preserve Gold may fit your needs if you:

  • Are comfortable getting the full fee and custodian picture during a consultation rather than before it
  • Want a company that carries all four metals (gold, silver, platinum, palladium) for IRA or home delivery
  • Connect with the company’s media presence and endorsers from a trust perspective
  • Want a fee waiver promotion and a zero-fee buyback as part of your terms

Consider alternatives if you:

  • Want to review fee schedules, custodian names, and depository details independently before speaking to a representative
  • Have $50,000 or more to roll over and want a company with a documented multi-year track record and publicly visible review volume
  • Prefer a company that has been independently ranked by major financial publications
  • Want to verify the company’s history without needing to call first

Preserve Gold vs. Augusta Precious Metals: A Factual Comparison

Augusta Precious Metals, ranked Best Overall Gold IRA Company by Money Magazine from 2022 through 2026, is the company Goldiew rates as its top pick for most investors evaluating gold IRAs. Here is what the public record shows for each company:

CriteriaPreserve GoldAugusta Precious Metals
BBB RatingA+A+ (Accredited since 2014)
Money Magazine RankingNot listedBest Overall 2022 through 2026
Founding YearNot disclosed publicly2012
Sales Staff CompensationNot stated publiclySalaried, non-commissioned
Fee Waiver OfferedUp to 5 years (amount-dependent)Multi-year waiver for qualifying accounts
Buyback ProgramZero-fee buybackVerify current terms on official site
Minimum InvestmentNot disclosed publiclyIndustry-reported around $50,000
Custodian Name PublicNot on public siteDisclosed during consultation
Celebrity EndorsersDr. Phil McGraw, Kirk Cameron, othersNone (company’s model specifically avoids celebrity-endorsed pricing)
5-Star Reviews (major platforms)Verify on company site4,000+ across Trustpilot, Google, Consumer Affairs
Investopedia RecognitionNot listedMost Transparent 2022 through 2026

Augusta publishes more information publicly across most criteria. That does not automatically make it the right choice for every investor. The decision depends on your rollover amount, how important pre-call transparency is to you, and the specific terms each company offers you during a consultation. For either company, confirm all terms in writing before signing.

See our full comparison at our best gold IRA companies guide for context on where other providers sit relative to Preserve Gold and Augusta.

What Real Customers Say

Preserve Gold displays five five-star testimonials on its homepage from customers identified as Tom (Tulsa, OK), David F. (Miami, FL), Brett Farina, Scott C., and Robert W.P. All describe smooth rollover experiences and responsive service. These are company-curated examples, not an independent aggregate.

For a broader sample, check Preserve Gold’s BBB profile directly, where both positive feedback and formal complaints are recorded. The number of complaints filed and how they were resolved is more informative than a curated testimonial set. ConsumerAffairs and Trustpilot profiles (where available) offer additional perspective.

Goldiew has not yet collected independently verified user reviews for Preserve Gold in our system. As reviews accumulate from verified Goldiew users who have worked with the company, we will update this section. In the meantime, use a company research checklist to structure your own due diligence before calling.

Already hold metals and want to check their quality or value? Our free gold value calculator and guide to verifying gold authenticity are good starting points.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Preserve Gold a legitimate company?

Based on publicly available information, Preserve Gold holds a BBB A+ rating, ConsumerAffairs accreditation, and NCBA membership. These are credible third-party signals. The company does not publicly disclose its founding year, custodian, or depository, which limits independent research before a call. Verify its current BBB status and check SEC investor.gov for any enforcement actions before committing.

What is Preserve Gold’s minimum investment?

Preserve Gold does not publish its minimum investment amount. Contact the company directly and ask before scheduling a consultation, since the minimum also determines the length of the fee waiver you qualify for. Many established gold IRA companies have minimums ranging from $10,000 to $50,000 for IRA rollovers.

What fees does Preserve Gold charge?

Preserve Gold advertises zero hidden fees and a fee waiver of up to 5 years depending on investment size. The specific annual custodian, storage, and administration fees are not on the public website. Ask for a complete written fee schedule before opening an account. Include what fees apply after the waiver expires.

Who holds the gold in a Preserve Gold IRA?

Preserve Gold does not name its IRA custodian or depository publicly. Under IRS rules (see IRS Publication 590-B), physical metals in a self-directed IRA must be held by an IRS-approved custodian at an approved depository. You cannot store them at home without triggering a taxable distribution. Ask Preserve Gold for both names, then verify each against the IRS-approved depository list independently.

Does Preserve Gold buy back metals?

Yes. Preserve Gold advertises a zero-fee buyback on metals originally purchased through the company, at current market prices. Confirm the current buyback terms in writing when you open an account. Also ask whether the buyback applies to metals held in an IRA or only to home-delivery purchases.

How does Preserve Gold compare to Augusta Precious Metals?

Both hold BBB A+ ratings. Augusta discloses more information publicly: founded in 2012, salaried and non-commissioned staff, more than 4,000 five-star reviews across major platforms, and ranked Best Overall Gold IRA by Money Magazine from 2022 through 2026. Preserve Gold offers home delivery and a 5-year fee waiver promotion, but does not publish its founding year, custodian, or fee schedule. Which is better for you depends on your specific rollover amount and priorities. Consult a licensed financial advisor before making changes to your retirement accounts.

Is a precious metals IRA right for my situation?

That depends on your retirement timeline, existing portfolio mix, tax situation, and liquidity needs. Precious metals IRAs follow the same IRS rules as other self-directed IRAs under Publication 590-A and Publication 590-B. Past performance of gold or any metal is not a guarantee of future results. Goldiew provides research and independent reviews; we do not provide investment or tax advice. Consult a qualified financial advisor and tax professional before changing your retirement account allocations.

Sources

This guide is reviewed and updated quarterly to reflect changes in IRS rules, partner offers, and company policies. For questions, corrections, or to report inaccuracies, contact our editorial team via the contact page.

Last reviewed: June 18, 2026

editorial team
Goldiew Research & Editorial
Independent research on gold, jewelry, and precious metals, from selling and loans to gold IRAs. About our methodology →

Saving favorites is only available to logged-in users. Please log in or sign up to continue.

By continuing with Google you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.
or log in with email

🔒❔ Forgot your password? Reset it here.

Liking reviews is for logged-in users: please log in or sign up to continue.

By continuing with Google you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.
or log in with email

🔒❔ Forgot your password? Reset it here.

Login

By continuing with Google you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.
or log in with email

🖐️➡ No account yet? Sign up here.

🔒❔ Forgot your password? Reset it here.