Minnesota residents researching a gold IRA in 2026 face one of the highest state income tax structures in the United States: a 9.85 percent top marginal rate on income above approximately $183,340 for single filers, with four bracket steps starting at 5.35 percent. Unlike Connecticut or Iowa, Minnesota does not provide a broad subtraction modification for traditional IRA distributions. Traditional IRA withdrawals are taxed at ordinary Minnesota rates after federal tax. This guide covers the bracket math, the limited subtractions that do exist (Social Security and certain pensions), creditor protection under Minn. Stat. section 550.37, dealer verification through Minnesota Department of Commerce and the Attorney General, and a dealer-neutral comparison of three IRS-compliant providers serving Minnesota.
Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation. This guide cites Minnesota statutes and IRS Publication 590-A / 590-B as written. It is not personalized tax advice. Minnesota filers with mixed Social Security, pension, and IRA income should review their bracket position with a licensed CPA before initiating any rollover. Consult a licensed financial advisor before making retirement decisions.
Quick Verdict: Gold IRA Picks for Minnesota Residents
Minnesota investors with $50,000 or more in eligible retirement accounts, retirement income that already pushes them into the 7.85 or 9.85 percent state brackets, and a preference for one-on-one onboarding tend to fit Augusta’s customer profile. For lower account minimums or specific depository geography, Birch or Noble are factual alternatives. Each ranking below reflects Goldiew internal user reviews and verified BBB profile data, not affiliate priority.
Augusta Precious Metals
Birch Gold Group
Noble Gold Investments
- Minnesota Income Tax on IRA Distributions
- Subtractions That Do Exist (Social Security, Pensions)
- IRA Creditor Protection Under Minnesota Law
- Minnesota Commerce and AG Resources
- Gold IRA Providers Serving Minnesota
- Augusta vs Birch vs Noble for Minnesota Investors
- Which Provider Fits Your Minnesota Situation
- FAQ
- Sources and Methodology
Minnesota Income Tax on IRA Distributions: The Real Numbers
Minnesota taxes traditional IRA distributions as ordinary state income. The IRS treats traditional IRA distributions as taxable income reported on Form 1099-R, per IRS Publication 590-B. Minnesota starts from that federal taxable amount, then applies its own four bracket schedule on Form M1.
For tax year 2024, the Minnesota single-filer brackets are listed below. Married filing jointly (MFJ) uses the same percentages with wider thresholds. Brackets are adjusted annually for inflation. Verify current-year thresholds on Form M1 instructions before filing.
| Single filer income | Rate | MFJ income |
|---|---|---|
| $0 to $30,070 | 5.35% | $0 to $43,950 |
| $30,070 to $98,760 | 6.80% | $43,950 to $174,610 |
| $98,760 to $183,340 | 7.85% | $174,610 to $304,970 |
| over $183,340 | 9.85% | over $304,970 |
The 9.85 percent top marginal rate places Minnesota among the highest state-level income tax jurisdictions in the United States, well above neighboring Wisconsin (7.65 percent top), Iowa (post-2026 flat structure), and the Dakotas. Source on the bracket structure: Tax Foundation State Individual Income Tax Rates and Brackets (2024). Verify current bracket thresholds on the Minnesota Department of Revenue individual income tax page. Rates may be adjusted by future legislation. Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation.
A taxable IRA distribution is added to your federal AGI, then flows through Minnesota Form M1 as part of state taxable income. A $40,000 traditional IRA withdrawal taken by a single filer already in the 7.85 percent bracket is taxed at 7.85 percent on the Minnesota side, on top of federal tax. A $40,000 withdrawal that pushes a filer from the 7.85 percent bracket into the 9.85 percent bracket would be split: the portion below $183,340 at 7.85 percent, the portion above at 9.85 percent. The bracket math matters more in Minnesota than in most states because the top rate is high and the brackets are spaced closer together than the federal schedule.
Minnesota Subtractions That Do Exist: Social Security and Public Pensions
Minnesota does not provide a broad subtraction for traditional IRA distributions. This is a material difference from states like Connecticut (full IRA distribution subtraction by 2026 under PA 23-204) and Iowa (Iowa enacted retirement income exclusion in 2023). Minnesota retirees with substantial IRA balances should plan accordingly.
What Minnesota does provide:
Social Security subtraction (expanded in 2023)
Minnesota expanded its Social Security subtraction under 2023 tax legislation. The subtraction is calculated on Schedule M1R and follows a graduated structure based on provisional income. Filers with provisional income below the qualifying threshold can subtract up to 100 percent of the federally taxable Social Security benefit from Minnesota taxable income. Higher-income filers receive a partial subtraction or none.


Public pension and military retirement
Minnesota provides a subtraction for federal military retirement pay (full subtraction, no AGI cap) and a partial subtraction for certain other public pensions. These are calculated on Form M1 and Schedule M1M. Civilian federal pensions, state employee pensions, and private pensions receive less favorable treatment than military pay.
Senior citizen and disabled subtraction
Minnesota offers a Senior Citizen or Disabled Subtraction calculated on Schedule M1R for filers who are 65 or older (or permanently disabled) and whose total income is below an annually adjusted threshold. The subtraction phases out as income rises and does not apply at higher income levels. The Minnesota Department of Revenue publishes the worksheet each filing season.
Roth IRAs are different. Qualified Roth distributions are already tax-free at the federal level per IRS Publication 590-B. Minnesota generally does not tax qualified Roth distributions either. The Roth conversion question for high-bracket Minnesota filers involves trading current Minnesota tax (at up to 9.85 percent) against expected future tax rates. This is a planning conversation for your tax advisor, not a generic recommendation.
Practical effect on a Minnesota rollover decision
A 67-year-old Minnesota single filer with $90,000 in federal AGI taking $30,000 from a traditional IRA during tax year 2026 would see the $30,000 added to Minnesota taxable income without any specific subtraction for the IRA portion. Most or all of the $30,000 falls in the 6.80 percent bracket, producing roughly $2,040 in Minnesota state tax on the IRA withdrawal alone, before any other tax adjustments. Federal tax applies separately. A 9.85 percent bracket filer would owe substantially more.
The decision to roll a 401(k) or traditional IRA into a gold IRA does not change the state tax treatment of later distributions. A self-directed gold IRA holds physical metals at an IRS-approved depository per IRS Publication 590-A, but distributions remain ordinary income at the federal level and Minnesota taxable income at the state level. Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation.
IRA Creditor Protection Under Minnesota Law
Minnesota provides statutory creditor exemption for qualified retirement accounts including traditional and Roth IRAs. The governing statute is Minn. Stat. section 550.37, subdivision 24. The Minnesota exemption uses a “reasonably necessary for the support of the debtor and any dependent” test rather than a flat dollar cap. This standard has been interpreted by federal bankruptcy courts applying Minnesota law.
Common exceptions to the exemption
- Federal tax liens. The Internal Revenue Service can reach IRA assets for unpaid federal taxes regardless of state exemption status.
- Qualified domestic relations orders (QDROs), spousal maintenance, and child support. Minnesota family court orders can reach retirement assets.
- Restitution in criminal cases. Some criminal restitution orders override the exemption.
- Federal bankruptcy interaction. The Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention and Consumer Protection Act sets a federal cap on the IRA exemption in bankruptcy (currently above $1.5 million, indexed for inflation). A Minnesota debtor in bankruptcy may elect federal or state exemptions. Rollover assets from qualified employer plans generally receive more favorable treatment under federal law.
The creditor exemption applies to assets held inside the IRA wrapper, including physical gold or silver held by an IRS-approved depository on behalf of a self-directed IRA. Physical metals held outside an IRA (personal possession, home safe, non-IRA brokerage gold) do not receive the same statutory exemption. The “reasonably necessary” standard means a high-net-worth Minnesota debtor with substantial outside assets could see a portion of an IRA balance reached by creditors. Consult a Minnesota-licensed attorney for situation-specific creditor planning.
Goldiew links Minnesota statute references directly to the Office of the Revisor of Statutes so readers can verify the language. We do not paraphrase statutory text inside the body. If a citation appears broken or moved, our quarterly review cycle updates the link.
Minnesota Commerce and AG Resources: Verifying a Precious Metals Provider
Minnesota residents researching a gold IRA company have multiple free verification channels before signing any paperwork. None requires sharing personal data with the provider first.
Minnesota Department of Commerce
The Minnesota Department of Commerce regulates financial services, securities, and certain consumer protection matters in the state. Commerce maintains a license lookup for regulated entities and accepts complaints through its Consumer Services division. For self-directed gold IRA providers, regulatory touchpoints vary depending on whether the company holds a Minnesota precious metals dealer registration, an investment adviser registration, or operates solely as an IRA setup intermediary. Commerce can confirm whether a specific entity has any active license or registration on file.
Minnesota Attorney General
The Minnesota Attorney General’s Office publishes consumer protection alerts on investment fraud and accepts complaints through its consumer assistance unit. Past Minnesota AG enforcement actions in the precious metals space have targeted unregistered sales and bullion fraud schemes. Filing a complaint is free and creates a paper trail.
Better Business Bureau profiles
Verify each provider’s BBB profile through bbb.org. Look at the rating, accreditation status, time accredited, complaint volume over the past three years, complaint resolution rate, and any government actions disclosed. The BBB profile is a useful single-page snapshot but not the only data point. Cross-check Trustpilot, Google Reviews, and the SEC’s investor.gov EDGAR system for any registered investment advisor filings.
SEC and FINRA fraud alerts
The Securities and Exchange Commission publishes investor bulletins on investing in gold, and FINRA publishes alerts on precious metals fraud red flags. Both are free, both apply nationwide, and both are particularly useful for spotting high-pressure sales tactics that should disqualify a provider.
Gold IRA Providers Available to Minnesota Residents
The three providers below all serve Minnesota residents and operate under federal IRS Publication 590-A standards for self-directed precious metals IRAs. Each section lists what the company actually offers (verified against the company’s own public marketing), not promotional framing.
Augusta Precious Metals
RANK 1 Education-first onboarding, Beverly Hills HQ, Money Magazine award 2022 to 2026What differentiates Augusta for Minnesota investors
Augusta operates an education-first process described on its home page as Learn, Talk, Decide: customers start with a 2026 Gold IRA Guide, then schedule a one-on-one web conference with a salaried, non-commissioned educator, then decide whether to proceed. The salaried-not-commissioned structure is stated directly on augustapreciousmetals.com. For Minnesota residents who value a slow-paced, education-heavy approach, this fits.
Augusta has held a BBB A+ rating with zero complaints (accredited since 2014, per BBB) and reports more than 4,000 five-star ratings across Trustpilot, Google, and Consumer Affairs. Money Magazine has named Augusta Best Overall Gold IRA Company for 2022 through 2026. CEO Isaac Nuriani and Director of Education Devlyn Steele are named on the company’s about page.
Fees and costs
Augusta advertises a multi-year fee waiver for qualifying rollover accounts. The specific terms are reviewed during the free consultation and may vary based on account size. Industry coverage from Money.com and Investopedia reports a minimum investment around $50,000, though this is not stated on Augusta’s home page. Verify current terms with Augusta directly.
Process and custody
Augusta works with a qualified self-directed IRA custodian (per the company’s public statements) and an IRS-approved depository. The company’s secondary office is in Casper, Wyoming. For Minnesota filers, all IRA setup occurs remotely (web conference and signed paperwork mailed); there is no in-state Minnesota office required.
Pros
- Salaried (non-commissioned) educator model reduces high-pressure sales risk
- BBB A+ rating, zero complaints, accredited since 2014
- 4,000+ five-star aggregate ratings (Trustpilot, Google, Consumer Affairs)
- Multi-year fee waiver structure available on qualifying accounts
Cons
- $50,000 industry-reported minimum filters out smaller savers
- Required web conference adds a step compared with self-serve dealers
- Specific fee schedule shared during consultation, not published on the public site
Birch Gold Group
RANK 2 Established 2011, 40,000+ customers, broad depository networkWhat differentiates Birch for Minnesota investors
Birch Gold Group reports more than 40,000 customers since 2011 on birchgold.com. The company is headquartered in Iowa and partners with five depositories: Delaware Depository, Brink’s Global Services, International Depository Services, Texas Precious Metals Depository, and Texas Bullion Depository. The depository choice is unusually broad for the sector.
Birch has a BBB A+ rating and AAA rating from the Business Consumer Alliance, both verifiable on the company’s about page. Public endorsers include Ron Paul, Stephen K. Bannon, Clay Travis and Buck Sexton, Dan Bongino, Megyn Kelly, Chad Prather, and Lance Wallnau. Minnesota residents who do not value media endorsements can ignore that signal; the BBB rating and customer count are the substantive data points.
Fees and costs
Birch does not advertise a fee waiver on its public site. Industry coverage reports a minimum investment around $10,000, lower than Augusta’s $50,000 industry-reported figure. The lower entry point opens Birch to a larger pool of Minnesota savers, including those starting with a partial 401(k) rollover.
Process and custody
The Birch process is a one-on-one Birch Gold Specialist call followed by paperwork handled through an in-house IRA Department. The five-depository menu lets customers choose storage geography, which matters for residents who want to verify or visit the depository in person.
Pros
- Lower industry-reported minimum (around $10,000) opens access to more Minnesota savers
- Five depository options for storage geography choice
- BBB A+ rating, AAA Business Consumer Alliance rating
- 14+ years operating history (since 2011)
Cons
- No public fee waiver structure advertised
- Sales process is commission-incentivized (standard industry model, not salaried like Augusta)
- Media-personality endorsements may not match all Minnesota residents’ filtering criteria
Noble Gold Investments
RANK 3 16,000+ customers, Texas-based depository, streamlined applicationWhat differentiates Noble for Minnesota investors
Noble Gold Investments reports more than 16,000 customers and $2.5 billion in metals safeguarded on noblegoldinvestments.com. Noble’s marketing references industry experience going back to 2003, though Noble Gold Investments as a corporate entity is more recent. The company is headquartered in Encino, California, and operates its own Texas-based depository (positioned as a differentiator).
The application process is described publicly as four steps: simple application, connection with the trusted custodian, a Gold and Silver specialist call, and metal selection. Noble also publicly offers a non-IRA home delivery option for precious metals, which does not qualify for IRA tax treatment but is available for direct purchase. Minnesota residents should not confuse the home delivery product with the IRA product; they have different tax and creditor outcomes.
Fees and costs
Noble does not advertise a fee waiver. Industry coverage reports a minimum investment around $20,000, between Birch and Augusta. Specific custodian and depository fees are shared during the application call.
Process and custody
Noble operates its own depository in Texas, distinguishing it from Augusta and Birch (which use third-party depositories). For some Minnesota residents the single-vendor structure simplifies oversight; for others, the lack of depository choice is a drawback. There is no Noble office in Minnesota. All IRA setup occurs remotely.
Pros
- Single-vendor Texas depository simplifies the chain of custody
- $20,000 industry-reported minimum, mid-range entry point
- Non-IRA home delivery option available for direct purchase (separate from IRA product)
- Streamlined four-step application path
Cons
- Founding year framing requires careful reading (corporate entity is more recent than the 2003 industry-experience reference)
- Single depository limits storage geography options
- BBB rating widely reported as A+ but not confirmed on every public page
Full Comparison: Augusta vs Birch vs Noble for Minnesota Investors
The table below compares the three providers on the criteria most relevant to a Minnesota resident’s decision. Cells with a light-green highlight indicate the strongest factual position on that row (not a value judgement on the provider as a whole).
| Criterion | Augusta | Birch | Noble |
|---|---|---|---|
| Founded (public) | 2012 | 2011 | Marketing references 2003; corporate entity more recent |
| Customer count | Not stated publicly | 40,000+ | 16,000+ |
| Headquarters | Beverly Hills, CA (secondary in Casper, WY) | Iowa | Encino, CA |
| Minimum investment (industry-reported) | around $50,000 | around $10,000 | around $20,000 |
| BBB rating | A+ (accredited 2014, zero complaints) | A+ | A+ (industry-reported) |
| Depository options | IRS-approved (specifics shared in consultation) | 5 depositories (Delaware, Brink’s, IDS, Texas PMD, Texas BD) | 1 (own Texas-based depository) |
| Sales staff structure | Salaried, non-commissioned (stated publicly) | Specialist model (industry-standard commission) | Specialist call (industry-standard) |
| Fee waiver advertised | Multi-year waiver on qualifying accounts | None advertised | None advertised |
| Process steps | Learn, Talk, Decide (education-first) | Specialist + IRA Department paperwork | 4-step application |
| Awards (verifiable on site) | Money Magazine Best Overall (2022 to 2026), Investopedia Most Transparent | Endorsements (Ron Paul, Megyn Kelly, others) | None highlighted |
| Goldiew internal rating (verified users) | 4.71 / 5 | 4.43 / 5 | 4.67 / 5 |
| Non-IRA option | Not the primary product | Not advertised | Home delivery (non-IRA) |
No single provider wins every row. Minnesota residents weighing this decision should pick the criteria that match their own situation, then choose the provider that wins on those criteria. The next section walks through who each provider fits best.
Which Provider Fits Your Minnesota Situation?
None of these providers
Minnesota residents starting with under $25,000 are below all three providers’ industry-reported minimums. Continue contributing to your existing 401(k) or IRA, build the balance, and revisit the gold IRA decision once you cross a meaningful threshold. Augusta in particular asks for $50,000 or more for the model to make sense.
Birch Gold Group
Birch’s industry-reported $10,000 minimum is the only one of the three that comfortably accepts this range. The trade-off is a more conventional commission-driven sales process and no advertised fee waiver. Use the five-depository menu to pick storage geography that fits your verification preferences.
Augusta Precious Metals
This is Augusta’s target customer. The salaried-educator model, BBB profile, multi-year fee waiver structure on qualifying accounts, and Money Magazine award history align with a Minnesota resident 55+ rolling over a substantial 401(k) or IRA. Schedule the free web conference before committing.
Noble Gold Investments
Noble’s own Texas-based depository simplifies the custody chain. If you value chain-of-custody clarity over depository choice, Noble fits. The four-step application is the most streamlined of the three.
A gold IRA may fit your Minnesota profile if
- You have $25,000+ in eligible retirement accounts
- You are within 10 years of retirement or already retired
- You have decided (independently or with your CPA) to allocate part of retirement holdings to physical precious metals
- You can hold the position for 5+ years without needing liquidity
- You understand that Minnesota will tax traditional IRA distributions at ordinary state rates (no broad subtraction) and you have planned bracket positioning with your tax advisor
A gold IRA may not fit your Minnesota profile if
- You have under $25,000 saved
- You may need to liquidate within 1 to 5 years
- You have not maxed out employer 401(k) match (free money first)
- You have high-interest debt outstanding (pay off first)
- You are uncomfortable with physical asset custody arrangements
Two related Goldiew resources may help before you proceed: Gold Calculator: What Is Your Gold Worth Today? for understanding spot-to-product premium math, and How to Tell If Gold Is Real: 5 Home Tests for verifying physical metals you may already own.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Minnesota tax IRA distributions in 2026?
Yes. Minnesota taxes traditional IRA distributions as ordinary state income at the four bracket rates of 5.35, 6.80, 7.85, and 9.85 percent. Unlike Connecticut (PA 23-204 phase-in to 100 percent IRA subtraction by tax year 2026) or Iowa (full retirement income exclusion enacted in 2023), Minnesota does not provide a broad subtraction for IRA distributions. Roth IRA qualified distributions are generally not taxed at the federal or Minnesota state level. Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation.
What is the Minnesota state income tax rate on a $50,000 IRA withdrawal?
The marginal rate depends on your total Minnesota taxable income for the year. A single filer with no other income would pay 5.35 percent on the first $30,070 and 6.80 percent on the increment to $50,000. A single filer already at or above the 7.85 percent bracket would pay 7.85 percent on most of the $50,000 increment. A single filer pushed into the 9.85 percent bracket (income above $183,340) would pay 9.85 percent on the portion above that threshold. Federal tax is separate and unaffected by the Minnesota calculation.
Are IRAs protected from creditors in Minnesota?
Minn. Stat. section 550.37, subdivision 24 provides creditor exemption for qualified retirement accounts including traditional and Roth IRAs, to the extent reasonably necessary for the support of the debtor and dependents. Common exceptions: federal tax liens, qualified domestic relations orders, spousal maintenance, child support, and certain criminal restitution orders. The federal Bankruptcy Code adds its own cap on IRA exemption in bankruptcy. A high-net-worth Minnesota debtor with substantial outside assets could see a portion of an IRA reached. Consult a Minnesota-licensed attorney for situation-specific creditor planning.
Does Minnesota tax Social Security benefits in 2026?
Minnesota expanded its Social Security subtraction in 2023 legislation. Filers with provisional income below the qualifying threshold can subtract up to 100 percent of federally taxable Social Security from Minnesota taxable income. Higher-income filers receive a partial subtraction or none. The calculation is on Schedule M1R. This subtraction does not apply to IRA distributions; the two are calculated separately.
Can I roll over my Minnesota state employee pension into a gold IRA?
Minnesota state employee pensions (administered by the Minnesota State Retirement System, Public Employees Retirement Association, Teachers Retirement Association, and related plans) follow plan-specific distribution rules. Most defined-benefit pensions cannot be rolled over while you are still accruing benefits. Once you separate from service or retire, certain lump-sum or partial distribution options may be rollover-eligible. Contact your plan administrator and consult a licensed financial advisor before initiating any rollover.
Do I need to be a Minnesota resident to use Augusta, Birch, or Noble?
All three providers serve customers nationwide; there is no Minnesota residency requirement. None has a Minnesota-based office; setup is conducted remotely. Minnesota residency affects state tax treatment (covered above) and creditor protection rules but not the provider’s willingness to serve you.
What gold and silver products qualify for an IRA under IRS rules?
Per IRS Publication 590-A, IRA-eligible precious metals must meet specific fineness standards: 0.995 fineness for gold (with the American Gold Eagle exception), 0.999 for silver, 0.9995 for platinum, and 0.9995 for palladium. The metals must be held by an IRS-approved trustee or depository. Personal possession of IRA metals before age 59½ (or before the rollover completes) triggers distribution treatment and potential penalties. Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation.
How do I verify a precious metals provider in Minnesota before signing?
Use four channels: the Minnesota Department of Commerce license lookup, the Minnesota Attorney General’s consumer protection complaints database, the BBB profile (rating, complaint history, accreditation status), and the SEC investor.gov and FINRA fraud alert pages for any registered investment advisor filings. None requires sharing your personal data with the provider first.
Is there a Minnesota state income tax credit for moving retirement assets to a gold IRA?
No. There is no Minnesota-specific tax credit for the asset class held inside an IRA. Holding gold versus stocks inside an IRA does not change Minnesota state income tax outcomes at the time of distribution. The Social Security and senior citizen subtractions that do exist apply to specific income types (Social Security benefits, certain pensions) regardless of how the rest of the retirement portfolio is invested. Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation.
Sources and Methodology
- IRS Publication 590-A: Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAs) for federal IRA contribution and rollover rules.
- IRS Publication 590-B: Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAs) for federal IRA distribution rules and tax treatment.
- Tax Foundation: State Individual Income Tax Rates and Brackets (2024) for the Minnesota bracket structure cited in this guide.
- Minnesota Department of Revenue: Individual Income Tax for current bracket thresholds, Form M1, Schedule M1R, and Schedule M1M.
- Minn. Stat. section 550.37 (Property Exempt from Execution) for IRA and retirement plan creditor exemption framework, including subdivision 24.
- Minnesota Department of Commerce for financial services regulation and consumer complaint intake.
- Minnesota Attorney General’s Office for consumer protection alerts and complaints.
- SEC Investor Bulletin: Investing in Gold for federal investor warnings.
- FINRA: Precious Metals Fraud Alerts for red flags to apply when evaluating any provider.
- Better Business Bureau for company profile verification (ratings, complaint volume, accreditation history).
- Provider public marketing pages verified during the most recent partner verification crawl: augustapreciousmetals.com, birchgold.com, noblegoldinvestments.com.
- Goldiew internal user reviews (manually moderated and verified) for the per-provider rating figures cited in the Quick Verdict and comparison table.
Methodology note. Provider rankings reflect Goldiew internal review aggregates and verifiable BBB profile data. The order does not reflect affiliate commission rates, which differ across the three providers. Provider facts (founding year, customer counts, BBB ratings, fee structures) are cross-referenced against each company’s own public website plus the institutional sources above. Where industry coverage (Money.com, Investopedia) cites a figure not on the company’s own site, the figure is labeled “industry-reported.” This guide is reviewed for factual accuracy each quarter.