Indiana sits in the middle of the country’s manufacturing belt, and a large share of its retirement savings has built up inside employer 401(k) plans at auto plants, steel mills, and pharmaceutical employers. State income tax on traditional IRA distributions is a flat 2.95 percent for the 2026 tax year, plus a county-level local income tax that varies by where you live. Indiana also exempts IRA balances from creditor judgments under IC 34-55-10-2(c)(6). This guide walks through what those rules mean if you are thinking about a gold IRA, and which providers are a fit for Indiana investors.
Quick Verdict: Our Top Gold IRA Picks for Indiana Residents
Augusta Precious Metals
Best for accounts over $50,000. Salaried educators, no commission pressure.
Min: industry-reported ~$50,000 Get Augusta’s free Gold IRA guideMoney Magazine #1 (2022 to 2026) · BBB A+ Zero Complaints
Birch Gold Group
Best for accounts starting around $10,000. Accessible entry point.
Min: industry-reported ~$10,000 Get Birch’s free Info KitTrusted by 40,000+ Americans since 2011 · BBB A+
Noble Gold Investments
Best for investors who want a Texas-based depository option.
Min: industry-reported ~$20,000 Get Noble’s free Gold & Silver guide16,000+ investors · $2.5B safeguarded · Texas Depository
Rankings reflect best-fit per investor profile, not absolute scores. Ratings from Goldiew user reviews (manually moderated). Past performance is not a guarantee of future results. Consult your tax advisor and a licensed financial advisor before making retirement decisions. We are not financial advisors.
Goldiew compiled this guide from provider websites (crawled May 2026), Indiana statutory text (Indiana Code Title 34, Title 6, and HEA 1001 of 2023 schedule), IRS Publication 590-B, and the Indiana Secretary of State Securities Division and Indiana Attorney General consumer protection resources. We hold active affiliate relationships with Augusta, Birch, and Noble. Company facts are cross-referenced against our internal company verification database, last updated May 2026.
Indiana Income Tax on IRA Distributions: The Real Numbers
Indiana taxes IRA distributions as ordinary income at a flat state rate. The flat rate is on a scheduled reduction path set by House Enrolled Act 1001 (2023). For the 2026 tax year, the state rate is 2.95 percent, with a scheduled drop to 2.90 percent in 2027 if revenue triggers are met. This applies to distributions from any traditional IRA, including a gold IRA, since the IRS treats a gold IRA as a standard self-directed IRA holding approved precious metals.
The table below shows representative county LIT combinations with the 2026 state flat rate. These are marginal tax burdens on each IRA distribution dollar, not the rate applied to your total income.
| County of Residence | State Flat (2026) | County LIT | Combined State + LIT |
|---|---|---|---|
| Marion (Indianapolis) | 2.95% | 2.02% | 4.97% |
| Lake (Gary, Hammond) | 2.95% | 1.50% | 4.45% |
| Allen (Fort Wayne) | 2.95% | 1.48% | 4.43% |
| Hamilton (Carmel, Fishers) | 2.95% | 1.10% | 4.05% |
| St. Joseph (South Bend) | 2.95% | 1.75% | 4.70% |
| Vanderburgh (Evansville) | 2.95% | 1.20% | 4.15% |
| Tippecanoe (Lafayette) | 2.95% | 1.28% | 4.23% |
| Madison (Anderson) | 2.95% | 2.25% | 5.20% |
County LIT rates are set by the county and can change year to year. The Indiana Department of Revenue publishes the official county rate table each fall for the following year. Your county of residence on January 1 controls the rate for the entire year, even if you move mid-year.
A Roth gold IRA is funded with after-tax dollars, so qualified distributions are not subject to Indiana state or county income tax. For Indiana residents in higher county LIT areas who expect to remain in Indiana through retirement, a Roth conversion is worth a separate conversation with a tax professional before funding a traditional gold IRA. We are not tax advisors. Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation.
Federal income tax on IRA distributions applies in addition to Indiana state and county tax. The 2025 federal marginal rates for retirees in the typical Indiana income range run 12 percent to 24 percent on each distribution dollar. For full federal rules on IRA distributions, see IRS Publication 590-B.
Retirement Income Deductions in Indiana
Indiana does not offer a broad retirement income exclusion comparable to states like New York or Georgia. Instead, Indiana provides targeted deductions for specific categories of retirement income. The most relevant rules for gold IRA holders:
- Social Security: Indiana does not tax Social Security benefits at the state level. This is a notable advantage compared to some neighboring states. The federal portion of Social Security taxation still applies.
- Military retirement pay: Fully exempt from Indiana state income tax under IC 6-3-2-4 (effective tax year 2022 and later). This applies to active duty retirement, reserve component retirement, and survivor benefit plan payments.
- Federal civil service annuities: A limited deduction up to $16,000 per year is available for federal pension recipients age 62 or older, subject to income phase-out rules.
- Railroad retirement benefits: Tier I and Tier II railroad retirement benefits are exempt from Indiana state tax.
- Traditional IRA distributions: Fully taxable as ordinary income at the state flat rate and county LIT rate. No state exclusion applies, regardless of age or income.
IRA Creditor Protection Under Indiana Code 34-55-10-2(c)(6)
Indiana Code Section 34-55-10-2(c)(6) provides that interests in qualified retirement accounts are exempt from execution to satisfy a money judgment. The statute names individual retirement accounts and annuities, including Roth IRAs, as exempt property. Unlike New York’s CPLR 5205(c), which limits protection to amounts “reasonably necessary for support,” Indiana’s statute does not impose that reasonableness cap.
For Indiana retirees, business owners, and professionals with litigation exposure, this is a meaningful protection. Funds inside a traditional or Roth IRA, including a self-directed gold IRA, sit outside the reach of most private creditor claims while the assets remain inside the account. The protection ends when funds are distributed.
Limitations to understand:
- Rollover funds: Indiana case law has occasionally examined whether rollover funds from employer plans retain the same protection as direct IRA contributions. Keep documentation of any rollover chain.
- Fraudulent transfers: Funding an IRA to evade a known creditor may be challenged under the Indiana Uniform Fraudulent Transfer Act (IC 32-18-2).
- IRS tax liens: Federal tax liens can reach IRA assets. State exemption statutes do not block IRS collection.
- Domestic relations: Qualified domestic relations orders and Indiana divorce decrees can reach IRA assets in property division proceedings.
- Federal bankruptcy: If a creditor pushes the debtor into federal bankruptcy, federal exemptions and the Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention and Consumer Protection Act (BAPCPA) cap apply (currently approximately $1.5 million indexed for inflation).
The choice of gold IRA provider does not influence creditor protection. All three providers on this page use IRS-approved custodians and depositories, so the statutory protection applies identically regardless of which company you select.
Indiana Manufacturing and the 401(k) Rollover Pool
Indiana has one of the largest manufacturing workforces in the United States by share of total employment. Auto plants run by Subaru in Lafayette, Toyota in Princeton, Honda in Greensburg, and GM in Fort Wayne and Bedford employ tens of thousands. Northwest Indiana hosts integrated steel operations at Burns Harbor (Cleveland-Cliffs, formerly ArcelorMittal), Gary Works (U.S. Steel), and Riverdale. Cummins in Columbus, Allison Transmission and Eli Lilly in Indianapolis, and Rolls-Royce in Indianapolis round out the major employers.
For workers and retirees from these employers, retirement savings often sit inside a 401(k) plan, a frozen defined benefit pension, or a hybrid cash balance plan. Several patterns are common in Indiana:
- Pension freezes pushing 401(k) accumulation. Steel and auto industry pension freezes over the past two decades have shifted accumulation into 401(k) accounts. By retirement age, many workers hold the bulk of their savings in a 401(k) rather than a traditional pension.
- In-service rollovers at age 59.5. Many Indiana employer 401(k) plans allow active employees age 59.5 or older to roll over a portion of their 401(k) into an IRA while still working. This opens the door to a self-directed gold IRA without leaving the job.
- Lump sum buyouts and severance. Plant closure or layoff events historically produced lump-sum severance and pension buyout offers. These are rollover-eligible under federal rules, subject to standard direct or indirect rollover timing.
- Health care and pharmaceutical workers. Eli Lilly retirees and IU Health employees often hold a mix of 401(k), employee stock purchase plan, and deferred compensation balances. Each has different rollover rules.
If you are still actively working at an Indiana employer and curious about a gold IRA, check whether your plan allows in-service rollovers and what the documentation timing looks like. Plan administrators can confirm whether your specific plan permits this. The actual mechanics of the rollover are federal rules, not Indiana-specific, so any of the three providers on this page can coordinate with your plan administrator.
Indiana Securities Division: Verifying a Legitimate Provider
Indiana investor protection sits across two state agencies. The Indiana Secretary of State’s Securities Division (Office of the Indiana Securities Commissioner) regulates broker-dealers, investment advisers, and securities transactions. The Indiana Attorney General’s Consumer Protection Division handles general consumer fraud, including deceptive precious metals sales practices that do not fit the securities definition.
Verifying a gold IRA provider before funding an account is straightforward. A legitimate company will meet all of the following criteria:
- IRS-approved custodian: Your gold IRA must be administered by a qualified IRA custodian approved by the IRS. The custodian, not the precious metals dealer, holds title to your retirement account. Verify the custodian’s registration independently.
- Approved depository: Physical metals must be stored in an IRS-approved depository. Home storage of IRA gold is prohibited under IRS rules. Any company suggesting otherwise is making an inaccurate claim.
- BBB accreditation and rating: All three providers on this page hold BBB A+ ratings. Check bbb.org directly. Type the company name, confirm the corporate address, and read the complaint history.
- No pressure tactics: Legitimate providers give you time to review materials. Any company using urgency language should be approached with skepticism. The Indiana Securities Division consumer alerts cite high-pressure sales tactics as a primary fraud indicator.
- Fee transparency: A legitimate provider discloses all setup fees, annual custodial fees, and storage fees in writing before you fund the account.
To check a provider’s complaint history or report suspicious activity in Indiana, the Securities Division accepts complaints at in.gov/sos/securities. The Indiana Attorney General Consumer Protection Division accepts complaints at in.gov/attorneygeneral/consumer-protection-division. At the federal level, the SEC’s investor complaint center at sec.gov/tcr handles investment fraud, and FINRA handles broker-dealer complaints.
Before choosing any provider, you may also want to verify that the gold you intend to hold is what the company says it is. Our guide to identifying real gold covers the standard purity checks and certificate verification steps.
Gold IRA Providers Available to Indiana Residents
All three providers below accept clients from any U.S. state, including Indiana. None operate physical offices in Indiana, but all work with IRS-approved custodians and depositories that serve Indiana-based account holders. None of the depositories are located in Indiana, which is standard for the industry.
Augusta Precious Metals
Best overall for accounts above $50,000 · Founded 2012 · Beverly Hills, CA
Augusta Precious Metals opened in 2012 and built its model around a salaried, non-commissioned educator structure that it markets as an Education-First Process. The three stages, Learn, Talk, and Decide, give prospective customers time to review materials and hold a one-on-one conversation with an educator before any commitment. For Indiana investors who have spent decades on the receiving end of high-pressure financial pitches, that approach is different.
What differentiates Augusta for Indiana investors
Augusta received Money Magazine’s Best Overall Gold IRA Company award for 2022 through 2026 and Investopedia’s Most Transparent designation for the same period. Augusta reports a BBB rating of A+ with zero complaints at the time of this writing, verified May 2026. The salaried, non-commissioned structure means no sales representative has financial incentive to push you toward a larger transaction. For Indiana retirees rolling over a substantial 401(k) balance accumulated over a 30-year career, that distinction matters.
Augusta offers a multi-year fee waiver promotion for qualifying rollover accounts. The current terms are disclosed during the free consultation, not on the public site. Ask specifically about the fee waiver when you speak with their educator. Consult your tax advisor for the tax implications of any rollover from an existing 401(k) or IRA plan.
Fees and costs
Augusta does not publish a complete fee schedule on its public website. Industry reporting consistently cites a setup fee, an annual custodial fee, and an annual storage fee in ranges typical for self-directed IRA providers. For accounts that qualify for the fee waiver promotion, the cost profile is meaningfully different from standard accounts. Request a complete written fee disclosure before signing anything. Augusta’s compliance posture means they will provide it.
Process and custody
Augusta uses a qualified self-directed IRA custodian for account administration. Physical metals are stored at an IRS-approved depository. Augusta’s process involves rollovers from existing 401(k), 403(b), or IRA accounts using a direct or indirect rollover, depending on your situation. Your existing plan administrator initiates the transfer and Augusta’s team coordinates the rest. For Indiana residents rolling from an employer plan, standard federal rollover rules under IRS Publication 590-B apply. Indiana does not impose additional state-level rules on the rollover itself, but the resulting distributions will be taxed as Indiana ordinary income at the state flat plus county LIT rate in the year they are taken.
Pros
- Money Magazine #1 five consecutive years
- BBB A+ rating with zero complaints
- Salaried educators with no commission pressure
- 4,000+ five-star ratings across verified platforms
- Multi-year fee waiver available for qualifying accounts
Cons
- Industry-reported minimum around $50,000
- No depository in Indiana or neighboring states beyond Texas through partners
- Full fee schedule not on public website
Get Augusta’s free Gold IRA guide + company checklist
Free, no sales pressure. Past performance is not a guarantee of future results.
Birch Gold Group
Best for lower-minimum entry · Founded 2011 · Iowa headquarters
Birch Gold Group opened in 2011 and reports having served over 40,000 customers. Birch is headquartered in Iowa, which puts it geographically closer to Indiana than the California-based Augusta and Noble. For Indiana investors with smaller rollover amounts who do not meet Augusta’s reported minimum, Birch is the most accessible credible option on this list.
What differentiates Birch for Indiana investors
Birch reports the lowest entry minimum of the three providers, with industry sources citing approximately $10,000. The company pairs each customer with a Birch Gold Specialist alongside an in-house IRA department for paperwork. Many first-time precious metals IRA buyers find that single-point-of-contact model less intimidating than the multi-stage onboarding some larger providers use. Birch uses multiple depositories including Delaware Depository, Brink’s Global Services, International Depository Services, Texas Precious Metals Depository, and Texas Bullion Depository. That selection gives Indiana clients several geographic choices for storage.
Fees and costs
Birch does not publish a complete fee schedule on its public website. Setup fees, annual custodial fees, and storage fees are typical for the industry and will be disclosed in your account paperwork before you fund. No fee promotions are advertised on Birch’s public site. Request a complete written fee breakdown before proceeding.
Process and custody
Birch uses IRS-approved custodians for account administration. Onboarding starts with a specialist call, then account setup documentation, then coordination of the rollover or transfer. Timeline from initial call to a funded account is typically four to six weeks, depending on the originating plan administrator’s processing speed. For Indiana residents, no state-specific forms are required beyond standard federal IRA documentation.
Pros
- Lower minimum, accessible for smaller accounts
- 40,000+ customers since 2011
- Multiple depository options
- BBB A+ rating
- Dedicated in-house IRA department
Cons
- No fee waiver promotions advertised
- Lower Goldiew user rating than Augusta and Noble
- No Indiana-area physical offices
Trusted by 40,000+ Americans since 2011 · BBB A+
Noble Gold Investments
Best for Texas Depository access · Encino, CA · 16,000+ investors
Noble Gold Investments is headquartered in Encino, California. The company reports that its team has helped over 16,000 investors safeguard more than $2.5 billion in wealth through Gold and Silver IRAs. Noble’s marketing references industry experience going back to 2003, though Noble Gold Investments as a corporate entity is more recent. For Indiana investors, Noble’s most distinctive feature is its proprietary Texas-based depository, a storage option some clients prefer.
What differentiates Noble for Indiana investors
Noble is the only provider on this page with its own Texas-based depository as a primary offering. For Indiana investors who prefer physical gold stored outside the Midwest and away from Northeastern facilities, this is a concrete differentiator. Noble also offers a home delivery option for non-IRA precious metals purchases. That product is a separate retail product and does not receive IRA tax treatment.
Fees and costs
Noble does not publish a complete fee schedule publicly. Contact Noble directly for a complete fee breakdown covering setup, annual custodial fees, and storage. No active fee promotions are advertised on Noble’s public website.
Process and custody
Noble’s onboarding follows a four-step process: application, connection with a custodian, specialist call to select metals, and delivery to the depository. The company uses a trusted IRS-approved custodian for account administration. Rollover and transfer documentation is handled with Noble’s specialist team. The process typically takes four to six weeks from initial contact to a funded account.
Pros
- Texas-based depository as primary option
- 16,000+ investors, $2.5B safeguarded
- High Goldiew user rating (4.67)
- Non-IRA home delivery option available
- Clear four-step process
Cons
- Mid-range minimum (~$20K reported)
- BBB rating not confirmed on public pages at time of crawl
- No fee waiver promotions advertised
Get Noble’s free Gold & Silver guide
16,000+ investors · $2.5B safeguarded · Texas Depository
Full Comparison: Augusta vs Birch vs Noble for Indiana Investors
The table below covers the dimensions that matter most for an Indiana resident evaluating these three providers. Any cell marked in gray italic indicates a fact not publicly stated on the company’s website as of the May 2026 crawl.
| Dimension | Augusta Precious Metals | Birch Gold Group | Noble Gold Investments |
|---|---|---|---|
| Goldiew User Rating | 4.71 / 5 | 4.43 / 5 | 4.67 / 5 |
| BBB Rating | A+ · 0 complaints | A+ | Not confirmed this crawl |
| Founded | 2012 | 2011 | Industry experience referenced to 2003; corporate entity more recent |
| Customers / Scale | 4,000+ five-star ratings | 40,000+ served since 2011 | 16,000+ investors, $2.5B safeguarded |
| Min. Investment (reported) | ~$50,000 | ~$10,000 | ~$20,000 |
| Sales Model | Salaried, non-commissioned educators | Specialist + IRA dept. | Specialist call |
| Custodian | Qualified IRA custodian (not publicly named) | IRS-approved custodian (not publicly named) | Trusted custodian (not publicly named) |
| Depositories | Not publicly specified | Delaware · Brink’s · IDS · Texas Precious Metals · Texas Bullion | Proprietary Texas Depository |
| Fee Waiver Promotion | Yes (qualifying terms, ask during consultation) | None advertised | None advertised |
| Public Fee Schedule | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Key Award | Money Magazine Best Overall 2022 to 2026 | BBB A+ · Business Consumer Alliance AAA | Not publicly specified |
| Indiana Securities Division Complaint Record | No public record found | No public record found | No public record found |
Which Provider Is Right for Your Indiana Situation?
Account size is the most direct filter. Most gold IRA providers set minimums that reflect the economics of self-directed IRA administration. Below the minimum, annual fees consume too much of the account to make structural sense. Use the ranges below as a starting point, then factor in the other variables that follow.
None of these providers
At under $10,000, the annual custodial and storage fees typical of a gold IRA make this structure cost-inefficient. A standard IRA or 401(k) with conventional asset classes is likely more appropriate. Build the account first, then revisit gold IRA eligibility when you approach $20,000 to $25,000.
Birch Gold Group
Birch is the only provider here with an industry-reported minimum near $10,000. At this size, request a complete fee schedule first and calculate the annual fee as a percentage of account value to confirm the structure makes sense for you.
Birch or Noble
At this range, both Birch and Noble meet the reported minimums. The decision comes down to storage preference (Noble’s Texas Depository vs Birch’s broader options) and whether Birch’s reported-lower minimum leaves more room on fees.
Augusta Precious Metals
Above $50,000, Augusta’s fee waiver promotion and its education-first, no-commission model become the most relevant differentiators. Request the fee waiver details during the free consultation. The terms matter most at this account size.
Augusta plus professional tax advice
At this level, the combined Indiana state and county tax exposure on distributions, plus IC 34-55-10-2(c)(6) creditor-protection planning and potential Roth conversion analysis, warrants a conversation with an Indiana-licensed CPA or financial advisor before funding the account. Augusta’s salaried educator can coordinate alongside that advisory relationship.
In-service rollover review first
If you are age 59.5 or older and still working at an Indiana manufacturer with a 401(k), check whether your plan permits an in-service partial rollover before talking to a provider. Documentation timing from the plan administrator is often the slowest step. Any of the three providers can coordinate once the plan rules are confirmed.
Beyond account size, three factors should shape the final decision:
Sales process preference
If you want extended time to review educational materials before speaking with a specialist, Augusta’s three-stage process fits. If you prefer a direct single-specialist relationship, Birch or Noble fits better.
Storage geography
For Indiana-based investors who want physical metals stored furthest from the Midwest, Noble’s Texas Depository is the clearest option. Birch also offers Texas Precious Metals Depository and Texas Bullion Depository among its choices.
Fee structure
Always request the complete fee schedule in writing before signing. Calculate the annual cost (custodial plus storage) as a percentage of your expected average account balance. For accounts over $100,000, Augusta’s fee waiver terms can represent a material dollar difference. Our deduct-fees guide walks through the math.
If you are still in the early research stage, the gold value calculator can help you size how much of your rollover would actually buy in current ounces.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Indiana tax gold IRA distributions?
Are IRA assets protected from creditors in Indiana?
What is the minimum to open a gold IRA?
How does a 401(k) rollover to a gold IRA work for an Indiana manufacturing worker?
Can I store gold IRA metals at home in Indiana?
What gold products are IRS-approved for an IRA?
How do required minimum distributions work with a gold IRA in Indiana?
What is the Indiana county LIT rate, and how do I look mine up?
Is a gold IRA a good option if I might move out of Indiana?
How do I report a suspicious gold IRA company in Indiana?
Do gold IRA fees affect my Indiana state tax deduction?
Sources and Methodology
Goldiew compiled this guide using direct crawls of provider websites (May 2026), Indiana statutory text, IRS publications, and official regulatory resources. No affiliate portal documentation was used as a source for any editorial claim.
- Indiana Code 34-55-10 (Property Exempt from Execution)
- Indiana Code Title 6 Article 3 (State Adjusted Gross Income Tax)
- Indiana Department of Revenue County Tax Rates
- IRS Publication 590-B: Distributions from IRAs
- IRS Retirement Plans FAQs: IRA Investments
- Indiana Secretary of State Securities Division
- Indiana Attorney General Consumer Protection Division
- FINRA Investor Complaint Center
- SEC Tips, Complaints, and Referrals
- Augusta Precious Metals official website (May 2026)
- Birch Gold Group official website (May 2026)
- Noble Gold Investments official website (May 2026)
- Better Business Bureau company profiles
Methodology: provider facts verified against official company websites only (PUBLIC-tagged sources). Minimum investment figures are industry-reported from third-party review sites and are not confirmed by providers’ public websites. Use them as a screening guide, not a contract. Goldiew user ratings reflect verified reviews from our platform. Partner relationships with Augusta, Birch, and Noble are disclosed throughout this guide.