Georgia residents researching a gold IRA face one of the more retiree-friendly state tax frameworks in the Southeast. Georgia runs a flat individual income tax of 5.19% in 2025. O.C.G.A. Section 48-7-27 allows a Retirement Income Exclusion of up to $35,000 for taxpayers ages 62 to 64 (or permanently disabled), and up to $65,000 for those age 65 or older. Georgia is consistently cited among the top US retirement destinations, in part because of this exclusion combined with full exemption of Social Security benefits and the state’s milder cost-of-living relative to coastal alternatives. This guide covers what those rules mean for a Georgia investor evaluating a gold IRA, and which providers fit at common account sizes. We are not financial advisors. Consult your tax advisor and a licensed financial advisor before making retirement decisions.
Quick Verdict: Top Gold IRA Picks for Georgia Residents
Augusta Precious Metals
Best for accounts over $50,000, salaried educators, no commission pressure
Min: industry-reported ~$50,000 Get Augusta’s free Gold IRA guideMoney Magazine #1 (2022, 2023, 2024, 2025, 2026) · BBB A+ Zero Complaints
Birch Gold Group
Best for accounts starting around $10,000, accessible entry point
Min: industry-reported ~$10,000 Get Birch’s free Info KitTrusted by 40,000+ Americans since 2011 · BBB A+
Noble Gold Investments
Best for Georgia investors who want Texas-based depository storage
Min: industry-reported ~$20,000 Get Noble’s free Gold & Silver guide16,000+ investors · $2.5B safeguarded · Texas Depository
Rankings reflect best-fit per investor profile, not absolute scores. Ratings come from Goldiew user reviews (manually moderated). Past performance is not a guarantee of future results. We are not financial advisors. Consult your tax advisor and a licensed financial advisor before making retirement decisions.
Goldiew built this guide using verified facts from provider websites (crawled May 2026), Georgia statutory text (O.C.G.A. Title 48 Chapter 7 and Title 44 Chapter 13), IRS Publication 590-B, Georgia Department of Revenue retirement income guidance, and Office of the Attorney General Consumer Protection Division resources. We hold active affiliate relationships with Augusta, Birch, and Noble, disclosed throughout. Company facts cross-referenced against our company verification database, last verified 2026-05-14. Editorial team: Goldiew Editorial.
Georgia Income Tax on IRA Distributions: The Real Numbers
Georgia taxes IRA distributions as ordinary income at a flat individual income tax rate. The state moved from a graduated bracket system to a flat rate under HB 1437 (2022) and subsequent acceleration legislation. The 2025 flat rate is 5.19%, with further scheduled reductions on the legislative path subject to revenue targets.
The table below shows the Georgia flat individual income tax rate that applies to ordinary income, including traditional IRA distributions, after standard deduction and adjustments.
| Georgia Income Tax (2025 Tax Year) | Rate |
|---|---|
| All Georgia taxable income (flat rate, 2025) | 5.19% |
| Scheduled rate path under HB 1437 trajectory | Stepwise reductions, subject to revenue triggers |
Georgia does not impose a separate municipal income tax in any of its cities. Atlanta, Augusta, Columbus, Macon, Savannah, Athens, Sandy Springs, Roswell, Johns Creek, Albany, Warner Robins, and Alpharetta residents all face the same state income tax structure as residents of smaller Georgia counties. The flat rate simplifies retirement income tax modeling: there are no bracket-thresholds to calculate around, and the marginal rate is the average rate on Georgia taxable income.
A Roth gold IRA is funded with after-tax dollars, so qualified distributions are not subject to Georgia state income tax. For Georgia residents in the federal top bracket who plan to remain in-state through retirement, a Roth conversion analysis is worth a conversation with a Georgia-licensed CPA before initiating a traditional gold IRA. We are not tax advisors. Consult your advisor for your specific situation.
Georgia Retirement Income Exclusion: Up to $65,000 at Age 65+
Georgia O.C.G.A. Section 48-7-27 establishes the Retirement Income Exclusion, one of the most generous state-level retirement income tax breaks in the country. Two age tiers apply, and the dollar amount increases at age 65.
| Taxpayer Profile | Maximum Annual Exclusion |
|---|---|
| Ages 62 to 64, or permanently and totally disabled (any age) | Up to $35,000 |
| Age 65 or older | Up to $65,000 |
| Married filing jointly, both spouses age 65+ | Up to $130,000 (combined) |
The exclusion is per taxpayer. A married couple filing jointly where both spouses are age 65 or older may each claim up to $65,000 in qualifying retirement income, for a combined household exclusion of up to $130,000 per year. A couple where one spouse is 65 and the other is 62 to 64 may stack $65,000 and $35,000 for a combined $100,000.
Qualifying retirement income under Section 48-7-27 covers a broad set of categories. Within the dollar cap, up to $4,000 of earned income (W-2 wages or self-employment) may be included; the rest must be unearned (passive). Distributions from a self-directed gold IRA fall into the IRA category and qualify within the cap.
- Interest income: bank, money market, bond, and similar interest payments
- Dividend income: qualified and ordinary dividends from stock and fund holdings
- Net capital gains: the taxable net of long and short term gains and losses
- Net rental income: from real property, after allowable deductions
- Royalties
- Pensions and annuities: public and private defined benefit pensions, commercial annuities
- IRA distributions: traditional IRA, Roth IRA (taxable portion if any), SEP-IRA, SIMPLE IRA distributions, including from a self-directed gold IRA
- Up to $4,000 of earned income: W-2 wages or self-employment income, capped within the total exclusion
At Georgia’s 5.19% flat rate, the maximum age 65+ exclusion of $65,000 represents up to $3,374 in annual state income tax savings per qualifying taxpayer. For a married couple filing jointly with both spouses 65 or older, the combined potential savings reach $6,747 per year. Over a 20-year retirement, that maximum-case scenario yields roughly $67,000 to $135,000 in cumulative state tax savings, assuming the exclusion remains at current dollar amounts.
The Retirement Income Exclusion does not apply to taxpayers under age 62 unless they are permanently and totally disabled. The exclusion is claimed on Georgia Form 500, Schedule 1. Verify the current exclusion amounts and qualifying categories with the Georgia Department of Revenue at dor.georgia.gov when you file, since amounts and rules may be adjusted by future legislation. Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation.
Why Georgia Attracts Retirees: Tax Framework Plus Cost of Living
Georgia is consistently ranked among the top US destinations for relocating retirees. The state’s retirement income tax framework explains a meaningful portion of this pattern. Three structural features combine:
- The Retirement Income Exclusion (up to $65,000 at 65+): for an Atlanta-area retiree with a $60,000 gold IRA distribution, the entire distribution may be excludable from Georgia state income tax, provided other category caps and taxpayer rules are met.
- Full Social Security exemption: Georgia does not tax Social Security retirement benefits at the state level. For retirees whose Social Security is a significant share of income, this is meaningful relief.
- No estate or inheritance tax: Georgia abolished its estate tax in 2014 and has no inheritance tax. Wealth transferred to heirs faces only federal estate tax considerations.
Cost-of-living factors also drive the inflow. Georgia property taxes are below the national median in most counties, with a homestead exemption and additional age-65 homestead exemptions available in many jurisdictions. Healthcare access varies by region, with the Atlanta metro and Augusta containing major medical centers (Emory Healthcare, Piedmont Healthcare, Augusta University Health, Northside Hospital). For retirees relocating from higher-cost coastal states, the combined effect of lower property costs, the Retirement Income Exclusion, and Social Security exemption can free up disposable income relative to comparable retirement budgets elsewhere.
For gold IRA decision-making, the Georgia tax framework matters in two ways. First, the $65,000 exclusion at age 65 means a Georgia retiree may schedule annual gold IRA distributions to make full use of the exclusion before any state tax applies, reducing effective lifetime state tax exposure. Second, the absence of state-level estate tax simplifies inheritance planning if a Georgia resident expects to leave IRA assets to heirs. Coordinate annual distribution scheduling with your tax advisor and a licensed financial advisor.
IRA Creditor Protection Under Georgia Law
Georgia provides statutory creditor protection for individual retirement accounts. O.C.G.A. Section 44-13-100 lists property exempt from levy by creditors, including IRAs under Internal Revenue Code Sections 408 and 408A. A gold IRA structured as a self-directed traditional or Roth IRA falls within these categories under Georgia exemption law. Georgia is a federal bankruptcy opt-out state, so Georgia residents in bankruptcy use Georgia exemptions rather than federal exemptions for most property categories, but IRAs receive parallel federal bankruptcy protection under BAPCPA either way.
This matters for several Georgia resident profiles. Business owners, licensed professionals with malpractice exposure (physicians, attorneys, dentists), and investors facing litigation risk can treat a gold IRA as a structure that holds wealth outside the reach of most private creditor claims, as long as the assets remain inside the IRA. Once funds are distributed from the IRA, the Section 44-13-100 protection ends with respect to those distributed amounts.
Key limitations to understand:
- Federal bankruptcy protection: Under BAPCPA, IRAs receive bankruptcy protection up to an inflation-adjusted federal cap. The cap is updated periodically by the IRS; as of the most recent IRS announcements, the inflation-adjusted limit is approximately $1.5 million per individual. Rollover IRAs that contain 401(k) or pension rollovers are protected without the dollar cap.
- Federal tax liens: Federal tax liens by the Internal Revenue Service can reach IRA assets. Georgia exemption law protects against most private creditors, not the IRS.
- Fraudulent conveyance: Funding an IRA to evade a specific known creditor may be challenged as a fraudulent transfer under Georgia law and unwound by a court.
- Divorce: Qualified domestic relations orders and Georgia equitable distribution principles in divorce proceedings can reach IRA assets.
- Inherited IRAs: The US Supreme Court ruled in Clark v. Rameker (2014) that inherited IRAs are not exempt under federal bankruptcy law. Georgia state-law treatment of inherited IRAs is fact-specific. Consult an attorney for estate planning that involves leaving a gold IRA to heirs.
Georgia exemption law does not influence which gold IRA provider you should choose. All three providers reviewed below use IRS-approved custodians and depositories, so the creditor protection analysis is identical regardless of the company you select. The statute applies to the account structure, not the provider.
Georgia Regulators: Verifying a Legitimate Precious Metals Provider
Georgia has two primary state-level regulators relevant to a gold IRA decision. The Georgia Securities Division within the Office of the Secretary of State regulates broker-dealers, investment advisers, and securities transactions under the Georgia Uniform Securities Act of 2008. The Georgia Office of the Attorney General Consumer Protection Division handles complaints about unfair or deceptive trade practices, including misleading precious metals marketing aimed at Georgia consumers.
Verifying a gold IRA provider before funding the account is straightforward. A legitimate company will meet all of these criteria:
- IRS-approved custodian: A gold IRA must be held by a qualified IRA custodian approved by the IRS. The custodian, not the precious metals dealer, holds legal title to the account. Verify the custodian’s registration independently before signing.
- Approved depository: Physical metals must be stored in an IRS-approved depository, not at home or in a private safe. The IRS prohibits home storage of IRA gold under IRC Section 408(m). Any company suggesting home storage as a legal option is misrepresenting IRS rules.
- BBB accreditation and rating: Augusta and Birch hold BBB A+ ratings, confirmed on company sites. Verify ratings directly at bbb.org: type the company name, confirm the address matches what the company publishes, and read the recent complaint history.
- No pressure tactics: Legitimate providers give you time to review materials and ask questions. Any company using phrases like “act now before prices rise” or “limited-time bonus offer” should be treated with skepticism. The Georgia Securities Division investor warnings flag high-pressure sales tactics as a primary fraud indicator.
- Fee transparency: A legitimate provider discloses all annual custodial fees, storage fees, and one-time setup fees in writing before you fund the account.
To check a provider’s record or report suspicious activity in Georgia, file with the Georgia Office of the Attorney General Consumer Protection Division at consumer.georgia.gov. The Georgia Securities Division of the Office of the Secretary of State accepts complaints involving securities-related conduct at sos.ga.gov/divisions-offices/securities. The SEC investor complaint center at sec.gov/tcr handles investment fraud at the federal level. FINRA accepts complaints involving registered broker-dealers at finra.org.
Gold IRA Providers Available to Georgia Residents
All three providers below accept clients from any US state, including Georgia. None operate a physical office in Georgia, but all work with IRS-approved custodians and depositories that serve Georgia-based account holders. None of the precious metals depositories are physically located in Georgia, which is standard for the industry. Most precious metals depositories are concentrated in Texas, Delaware, Utah, and Massachusetts.
Augusta Precious Metals
Best overall for accounts above $50,000 · Founded 2012 · Beverly Hills, CA
Augusta Precious Metals opened in 2012 and operates on a salaried, non-commissioned educator model the company brands as its Education-First Process. The three stages (Learn, Talk, Decide) give prospective customers time to review materials and have a one-on-one conversation with an educator before committing. For Georgia investors who prefer to take time evaluating a significant retirement move, Augusta’s pace tends to fit.
What differentiates Augusta for Georgia investors
Augusta received Money Magazine’s Best Overall Gold IRA Company award for years 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025, and 2026. The company also received Investopedia’s Most Transparent designation for the same period. Augusta reports a BBB rating of A+ with zero complaints at the time of this writing (verified May 2026). The salaried, non-commissioned educator structure means no sales representative has a financial incentive to push you toward a larger transaction, a meaningful distinction for Georgia retirees with substantial accumulated retirement assets.
Augusta offers a multi-year fee waiver promotion for qualifying rollover accounts. The current terms are disclosed during the free consultation, not on the public site. Ask specifically about the fee waiver terms when you speak with the educator. Consult your tax advisor for the tax implications of any rollover from an existing IRA or 401(k) plan.
Fees and costs
Augusta does not publish a full fee schedule on its website. Industry reporting consistently cites setup fees, annual custodial fees, and annual storage fees in ranges typical for self-directed IRA providers. For accounts that qualify for the fee waiver promotion, the cost structure is materially different from standard accounts. Request a complete written fee disclosure before signing any account paperwork.
Process and custody for Georgia residents
Augusta uses a qualified self-directed IRA custodian to hold account assets. Physical metals are stored at an IRS-approved depository. The process involves rollovers from existing 401(k), 403(b), 457(b), or IRA accounts (direct or indirect rollover, depending on your situation). Your existing plan administrator initiates the transfer; Augusta’s team coordinates the rest. For Georgia residents rolling over from a Georgia-based employer plan or a Georgia public retirement system rollover-eligible distribution, standard federal rollover rules under IRS Publication 590-B apply. Georgia does not impose state-level rules on the rollover transaction itself. Resulting IRA distributions in retirement will be taxed as Georgia ordinary income, subject to the Section 48-7-27 Retirement Income Exclusion where applicable.
Pros
- Money Magazine Best Overall five consecutive years
- BBB A+ rating with zero complaints
- Salaried educators, no commission pressure
- 4,000+ five-star ratings across verified platforms
- Multi-year fee waiver available for qualifying accounts
Cons
- Industry-reported minimum around $50,000
- No depository in Georgia
- Full fee schedule not on public website
Get Augusta’s free Gold IRA guide + company checklist
Free, no sales pressure. Past performance is not a guarantee of future results.
Birch Gold Group
Best for lower-minimum entry · Precious metals focus since 2011 · Burbank, CA
Birch Gold Group focused on precious metals IRAs starting around 2011 and reports having served over 40,000 customers since then. The company is headquartered in Burbank, California, and markets to a conservative retail investor audience. For Georgia investors with smaller rollover amounts who do not meet Augusta’s minimum, Birch is the most accessible credible option on this list.
What differentiates Birch for Georgia investors
Birch reports the lowest entry minimum of the three providers reviewed here. Industry sources consistently cite approximately $10,000. The company provides a one-on-one Birch Gold Specialist paired with an in-house IRA department to handle paperwork, a model that many first-time precious metals IRA buyers find less intimidating than a multi-stage onboarding process. Birch uses multiple depositories including Delaware Depository, Brink’s Global Services, International Depository Services, and Texas Precious Metals Depository, giving Georgia-area clients several geographic options for storage.
Fees and costs
Birch does not publish a full fee schedule on its public website. Setup fees, annual custodial fees, and storage fees are typical for the industry and will be disclosed in your account paperwork before you fund. No fee promotions are advertised on Birch’s public site. Request a complete written fee breakdown before proceeding.
Process and custody for Georgia residents
Birch uses IRS-approved custodians for account administration. The onboarding process starts with a specialist call, followed by account setup documentation, then coordination of the rollover or transfer. Timeline from initial call to funded account is typically four to six weeks, depending on the originating plan administrator’s processing speed. For Georgia residents, no state-specific forms are required in addition to standard federal IRA documentation. Subsequent distributions will be reported on Form 1099-R and flow into Georgia Form 500 calculations, subject to the Section 48-7-27 exclusion where applicable.
Pros
- Lower minimum, accessible for smaller accounts
- 40,000+ customers since 2011
- Multiple depository options including Texas
- BBB A+ rating
- Dedicated in-house IRA department
Cons
- No fee waiver promotions advertised
- Lower Goldiew user rating than Augusta and Noble
- No Georgia-area physical offices
Trusted by 40,000+ Americans since 2011 · BBB A+
Noble Gold Investments
Best for Texas Depository access · Encino, CA · 16,000+ investors
Noble Gold Investments is headquartered in Encino, California, and reports that its team has helped over 16,000 investors safeguard more than $2.5 billion in wealth through gold and silver IRAs. Noble’s marketing references industry experience going back to 2003, though Noble Gold Investments as a corporate entity is more recent. For Georgia investors, Noble’s most distinctive feature is its Texas-based depository option.
What differentiates Noble for Georgia investors
Noble is the only provider on this page with a Texas-based depository as a primary offering. For Georgia investors who want physical gold stored in a facility geographically closer than the East Coast depositories, the Texas Depository is a concrete differentiator. Noble also offers a home delivery option for non-IRA precious metals purchases. That product is separate from a gold IRA and does not receive IRA tax treatment.
Fees and costs
Noble does not publish a full fee schedule publicly. Contact Noble directly for a complete fee breakdown covering setup, annual custodial fees, and storage. No active fee promotions are advertised on Noble’s public website.
Process and custody for Georgia residents
Noble’s onboarding follows a four-step process: application, connection with a custodian, specialist call to select metals, and delivery to the depository. The company uses a trusted IRS-approved custodian for account administration. Rollover and transfer documentation is handled with Noble’s specialist team. The process typically takes four to six weeks from initial contact to funded account. For Georgia residents, distributions in retirement flow into the Section 48-7-27 calculation, subject to the age-based exclusion caps.
Pros
- Texas-based depository as primary option
- 16,000+ investors, $2.5B safeguarded
- High Goldiew user rating (4.67)
- Non-IRA home delivery option available
- Clear four-step process
Cons
- Mid-range minimum (~$20K reported)
- BBB rating not confirmed on public pages at time of crawl
- No fee waiver promotions advertised
Get Noble’s free Gold & Silver guide
16,000+ investors · $2.5B safeguarded · Texas Depository
Full Comparison: Augusta vs Birch vs Noble for Georgia Investors
The table below covers the dimensions that matter most for a Georgia resident evaluating these three providers. Any cell marked in gray italic indicates a fact not publicly stated on the company’s website as of the May 2026 crawl.
| Dimension | Augusta Precious Metals | Birch Gold Group | Noble Gold Investments |
|---|---|---|---|
| Goldiew User Rating | 4.71 / 5 | 4.43 / 5 | 4.67 / 5 |
| BBB Rating | A+ · 0 complaints | A+ | Not confirmed this crawl |
| Founded | 2012 | Precious metals IRA focus since 2011 | Industry experience ref. to 2003; corporate entity more recent |
| Customers / Scale | 4,000+ five-star ratings | 40,000+ served since 2011 | 16,000+ investors, $2.5B safeguarded |
| Min. Investment (reported) | ~$50,000 | ~$10,000 | ~$20,000 |
| Sales Model | Salaried, non-commissioned educators | Specialist plus IRA department | Specialist call |
| Custodian | Qualified IRA custodian (not publicly named) | IRS-approved custodian (not publicly named) | Trusted custodian (not publicly named) |
| Depositories | Not publicly specified | Delaware · Brink’s · IDS · Texas Precious Metals · Texas Bullion | Proprietary Texas Depository |
| Fee Waiver Promotion | Yes (qualifying terms, ask during consultation) | None advertised | None advertised |
| Public Fee Schedule | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Key Award | Money Magazine Best Overall 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025, 2026 | BBB A+ · Business Consumer Alliance AAA | Not publicly specified |
| Georgia Securities Division / AG Record | No public record found | No public record found | No public record found |
Which Provider Is Right for Your Georgia Situation?
Account size is the most direct filter. Most gold IRA providers set minimums that reflect the economics of self-directed IRA administration. Below the minimum, the annual fees can eat into returns too quickly to make structural sense. Use the ranges below as a starting point, then factor in the other variables that follow.
None of these providers
At under $10,000, the annual custodial and storage fees typical of a gold IRA make this structure cost-inefficient. A standard IRA or 401(k) with conventional asset classes is likely more appropriate. Build the account first; revisit gold IRA eligibility when you approach $20,000 to $25,000.
Birch Gold Group
Birch is the only provider here with an industry-reported minimum around $10,000. At this account size, request a complete fee schedule first and calculate the annual fee as a percentage of account value to confirm the structure makes financial sense for you.
Birch or Noble
At this range, both Birch and Noble meet the reported minimums. The decision comes down to storage preference (Noble’s Texas Depository versus Birch’s broader options) and whether Birch’s reported-lower minimum leaves room on fees.
Augusta Precious Metals
Above $50,000, Augusta’s fee waiver promotion and its education-first, no-commission model become the most relevant differentiators. Request the fee waiver details during the free consultation. The terms matter most at this account size.
Augusta with professional tax advice
At this level, federal tax exposure on distributions, combined with Georgia Section 44-13-100 creditor-protection planning and potential Roth conversion analysis, warrants a conversation with a Georgia-licensed CPA or financial advisor before funding the account. Augusta’s salaried educator can coordinate alongside that advisory relationship.
Plan with the $65,000 exclusion in mind
If you are 65 or older, the Georgia Retirement Income Exclusion allows up to $65,000 of qualifying retirement income to escape state income tax. Coordinate annual gold IRA distributions with your tax advisor to fit the exclusion. For a married couple filing jointly with both spouses 65+, the combined room is up to $130,000.
Beyond account size, three factors should shape the final decision:
Sales process preference
If you want extended time to review educational materials before speaking with a specialist, Augusta’s three-stage process fits. If you prefer a direct single-specialist relationship, Birch or Noble fits better.
Storage geography
For Georgia-based investors who want physical metals stored in the Southern US rather than the Mid-Atlantic, Noble’s Texas Depository is the nearest major option among these three providers. Birch also includes Texas Precious Metals Depository among its choices.
Fee structure
Always request the full fee schedule in writing before signing. Calculate the annual cost (custodial plus storage) as a percentage of your expected average account balance. For accounts over $100,000, Augusta’s fee waiver terms can represent a material dollar difference.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Georgia tax gold IRA distributions?
What is the Georgia Retirement Income Exclusion under O.C.G.A. 48-7-27?
Are IRA assets protected from creditors in Georgia?
What is the minimum to open a gold IRA?
How does a 401(k) rollover to a gold IRA work for Georgia residents?
Can I store gold IRA metals at home in Georgia?
What gold products are IRS-approved for an IRA?
How do required minimum distributions (RMDs) work with a gold IRA in Georgia?
Does Georgia tax Social Security retirement benefits?
How do I report a suspicious gold IRA company in Georgia?
Does Georgia have an estate or inheritance tax?
Sources and Methodology
Goldiew compiled this guide using direct crawls of provider websites (May 2026), Georgia statutory text, IRS publications, and official regulatory resources. No affiliate portal documentation was used as a source for any editorial claim.
- Georgia Department of Revenue
- Georgia Department of Revenue: Retirement Income Exclusion
- Georgia General Assembly (O.C.G.A. Title 48 Chapter 7, Title 44 Chapter 13)
- IRS Publication 590-B: Distributions from IRAs
- Georgia Office of the Attorney General Consumer Protection Division
- Georgia Securities Division (Office of the Secretary of State)
- FINRA investor complaint center
- SEC Tips, Complaints, and Referrals
- Augusta Precious Metals official website (May 2026)
- Birch Gold Group official website (May 2026)
- Noble Gold Investments official website (May 2026)
- Better Business Bureau company profiles
- IRS Retirement Plans FAQs: IRA Investments
Methodology: provider facts verified against official company websites only. Minimum investment figures are industry-reported from third-party review sites and are not confirmed by providers’ public websites; treat them as a screening guide, not a contract. Goldiew user ratings reflect verified reviews from our platform. Partner relationships with Augusta, Birch, and Noble are disclosed throughout this guide. Last reviewed: 2026-06-08. Editorial team: Goldiew Editorial.