• Current precious-metal spot prices
  • Gold $4,422.73 +22.35 (+0.51%)
  • Silver $67.72 +1.01 (+1.51%)
  • Platinum $1,893.29 +85.85 (+4.75%)
  • Palladium $1,355.76 -37.95 (-2.72%)
  • updated 7 hours ago
Login
Signup

Birch Gold vs Rosland Capital 2026: Fees, Speed, and Which Wins on Service

By Goldiew Research & Editorial · Last reviewed: May 15, 2026 · 15 min read

Editorial transparency. Goldiew may earn a commission when you use a link on this page to connect with a partner company, at no extra cost to you. That commission never influences our research, ratings, or recommendations. We feature only companies we have researched and consider credible, and because we are not the company itself, we do not set its prices or terms. The information here is educational, not financial or legal advice.

Two companies. Two very different approaches to the precious metals market. Birch Gold Group built its reputation on a conservative media endorsement network, an in-house IRA team, and five publicly listed depository options. Rosland Capital runs television spots featuring actor William Devane, carries PCGS and NGC-graded collector coins alongside standard bullion, and maintains international offices across four countries. If you’re trying to decide between them for a gold IRA rollover, the choice becomes clearer once you look past the advertising.

Quick Verdict: Birch Gold Group vs Rosland Capital (2026)

#2

Rosland Capital

Best for Physical Metals Collectors and Lower Entry Points

Best for Buyers focused on physical coins, PCGS/NGC-graded numismatics, or commemorative editions with a $2,500 minimum purchase threshold.

Min purchase: $2,500 physical (per roslandcapital.com). IRA minimum not publicly stated.

Goldiew has no affiliate relationship with Rosland Capital. No commission influences this assessment.

Rankings reflect fit for a retirement IRA investor profile. See methodology below for full criteria.

INDEPENDENT VERIFICATION

What we did: We crawled both companies’ official websites in 2026, cross-referenced BBB profiles and available third-party data, and applied the same 8-criterion framework used across all Goldiew comparisons. Goldiew internal review data (7 verified user reviews) is used for Birch. All Rosland Capital facts are sourced from roslandcapital.com or qualified as industry-reported.

What we did not do: We did not invent fees, customer counts, or process details that aren’t on either company’s public site. Where information isn’t publicly disclosed, we say so explicitly. Our methodology is identical for every company we cover, independent of any commercial relationship. That relationship is disclosed throughout this page and does not change the facts we report.

How We Evaluated Birch Gold Group and Rosland Capital

We applied eight criteria to both companies using publicly available information only. Goldiew’s internal verified user review data is used for Birch Gold Group (7 reviews in our system, manually moderated before publication). No criterion is weighted by our affiliate relationship with either company.

1. BBB Rating and Complaint Record

Letter grade from the Better Business Bureau, including accreditation status and any unresolved complaints. BBB records reflect years of verified consumer interactions with the company.

2. Fee Transparency

Whether annual custodian fees, setup fees, and storage fees are stated publicly. A prospect who must call to learn basic costs faces information asymmetry before the relationship begins.

3. Minimum Investment Threshold

The minimum to open or fund an account, as publicly stated on the company’s site or consistently reported by third-party review aggregators. We label industry-reported figures clearly.

4. IRA Specialist Support

Whether the company has a dedicated in-house team for IRA rollover paperwork, or whether that support falls to generalist sales reps. This matters most for 401(k)-to-IRA rollovers.

5. Storage and Depository Options

Number and variety of IRS-approved depositories available to account holders. More options allow investors to choose by geography, institution type, or personal preference.

6. Product Selection for IRA Accounts

Breadth of IRS-eligible coins and bars, and whether the company emphasizes standard bullion or premium numismatic coins (which carry higher markups).

7. Track Record and Longevity

Years in business and customer counts from each company’s own public website. Longer operating histories provide more data points on reliability and complaint patterns.

8. Endorsement Structure and Conflict of Interest

Who endorses the company, whether those endorsers have financial incentives, and whether the endorsement model could add costs that pass through to customers.

Primary sources: IRS Publication 590-A, FINRA precious metals investor guidance, birchgold.com (May 2026 crawl), roslandcapital.com (May 2026 crawl), BBB profiles, Goldiew internal verified review data.

Goldiew user reviews are submitted voluntarily, verified manually before publication, and not incentivized. We publish only a minority of total submissions after moderation. The 7 Birch reviews currently in our system represent a small sample; we weight this data accordingly.

Goldiew receives commissions when readers open accounts with Birch Gold Group via links on this page. This does not affect which facts we report, which cells we highlight in the comparison table, or which use cases we recommend each company for.

Birch Gold Group

1

Birch Gold Group

Best for IRA Rollovers and Multi-Depository Flexibility

4.43
Goldiew Rating (7 reviews)
40,000+
Customers since 2011
~$10K
IRA min (industry-reported)
A+
BBB Rating

Birch Gold Group launched in 2011 and has built a customer base of over 40,000 Americans, per their public website. The company is headquartered in Iowa, according to birchgold.com, and runs an in-house IRA department that handles rollover paperwork directly. For anyone coming from an employer 401(k) or an existing traditional IRA, that in-house team is the structural difference that matters most: your paperwork isn’t being handed off to a third-party service.

What Sets Birch Apart

Birch’s public endorsement list includes Ron Paul, Dan Bongino, Megyn Kelly, Stephen K. Bannon, Clay Travis and Buck Sexton, Chad Prather, and Lance Wallnau, per birchgold.com. Whether those names resonate depends on your media diet. The structural point worth noting: these are political and media commentators whose audiences already follow conversations about economic self-reliance and physical asset ownership. That’s a different marketing approach than hiring an actor to appear in TV spots. Augusta Precious Metals, for context, explicitly criticizes “celebrity endorsements built into pricing” on their own public website as a red flag to watch for when evaluating gold IRA providers.

Birch also offers five storage options, per their public site: Delaware Depository, Brink’s Global Services, International Depository Services, Texas Precious Metals Depository, and Texas Bullion Depository. That gives account holders real choices on depository geography and institutional diversification rather than a single default location.

Fees and Pricing

Birch does not publish a full fee schedule on their public website. Third-party review aggregators consistently report an industry-reported IRA minimum of around $10,000. For specific annual custodian fees, setup costs, and storage rates, you’ll need to speak with a Birch specialist directly. That’s not unusual in this industry; most gold IRA providers require a consultation before sharing pricing. Birch’s process at least gives you a clearly named point of contact (your dedicated Gold Specialist) so you know exactly who to ask. Get the numbers in writing before proceeding.

IRA Process and Custodian

Birch describes a process built around a dedicated Gold Specialist, supported by an in-house IRA department for paperwork coordination. They work with IRS-approved custodians, per their public disclosures. Specific custodian names are not stated on their public pages as of the May 2026 crawl. The rollover follows standard IRS-approved steps: open the self-directed IRA account, fund it via direct transfer or rollover from an existing retirement account, select metals, and arrange storage at one of their approved depositories.

Per IRS Publication 590-A: direct trustee-to-trustee transfers have no 60-day deadline. Indirect rollovers (where you receive the funds first) must be completed within 60 days to avoid taxes and the 10% early withdrawal penalty if you’re under 59.5. Your Birch specialist can confirm which path applies to your specific plan type. Consult your tax advisor for guidance on your situation.

Pros

  • Five publicly listed IRS-approved depository options (per birchgold.com)
  • In-house IRA department for rollover paperwork (not outsourced)
  • 40,000+ customers and 14-year track record since 2011
  • BBB A+ and AAA Business Consumer Alliance rating
  • Endorsers with audience interest in economic self-reliance

Cons

  • Fee structure not published publicly; requires a direct conversation
  • Industry-reported $10,000 minimum may exclude smaller accounts
  • Specific custodian partners not publicly named on their website
  • Coin markup spreads not disclosed on public site
Birch is a solid fit if: You have $10,000+ in an existing IRA or 401(k) to roll over, want a single dedicated point of contact through the process, and value multiple depository options for geographic diversification.
Birch may not be the right fit if: Your budget is under $10,000, you want fees listed publicly before making any calls, or you’re primarily focused on collector coins and numismatic grading services.

Get Birch’s free Info Kit ($10K minimum)

Trusted by 40,000+ Americans since 2011 • BBB A+ • AAA BCA

Read our full Birch Gold Group review on Goldiew

Rosland Capital

2

Rosland Capital

Best for Physical Metals Collectors and Lower Entry Points

All Rosland Capital facts below are sourced from roslandcapital.com (May 2026 crawl) or qualified as industry-reported. Goldiew has no affiliate relationship with Rosland Capital.

300K+
Customers Served
2008
Year Founded
$2,500
Min Purchase (physical)
A+
BBB Rating (per their site)

Rosland Capital launched in 2008 and has served over 300,000 customers, according to roslandcapital.com. That’s a significantly larger customer base than Birch’s 40,000, though it reflects a broader product scope. Rosland sells physical precious metals, licensed commemorative coins tied to Formula 1, the PGA Tour, and the British Museum, and a gold IRA product. CEO Marin Aleksov, who brings 25+ years of precious metals experience per their site, oversaw international expansion into the UK (2014), Germany (2017), and France (2021).

The William Devane Factor

Rosland Capital’s most recognizable marketing asset is actor William Devane, known for television and film roles. He appears in the company’s TV advertising and is described on their site as a customer. Celebrity endorsements are widespread in the precious metals sector.

What matters for IRA investors is whether those marketing arrangements affect pricing. Rosland does not publicly disclose its fee structure, so this can’t be quantified from public information alone. For context, Augusta Precious Metals explicitly criticizes “celebrity endorsements built into pricing” on their own public website as a specific risk signal to watch for when evaluating any gold company. That’s one data point in a larger picture; BBB ratings, fee disclosures, and depository transparency are more directly actionable signals than celebrity associations.

Products and IRA Offering

Rosland’s catalog covers more ground than a pure IRA provider. They carry PCGS and NGC-graded numismatic coins alongside standard bullion, licensed commemorative editions, and IRA-eligible products across gold, silver, platinum, and palladium. The $2,500 minimum stated on their website applies to physical metal purchases. Their gold IRA page describes a six-step setup process with storage in a Delaware depository. The custodian partner is not named on their public site. Annual IRA fees are not disclosed on roslandcapital.com as of the May 2026 review.

Fees and Transparency

Rosland Capital does not publish IRA custodian fees, setup fees, or storage fees on their public website. Their site includes this disclaimer, per roslandcapital.com: “Precious metals and rare coins are speculative purchases and involve substantial risks.” That’s an appropriate disclosure for the physical metals side. For IRA investors comparing total cost over a 15-20 year holding period, the absence of public fee data means you’ll need to request a quote directly. When you do, ask specifically about: annual custodian fee, IRA setup fee, storage fee per year, and the markup spread on gold and silver coins above spot price.

Consult your tax advisor for guidance on how IRA fees affect your specific tax situation.

Pros

  • $2,500 minimum for physical metals purchases (lower entry than Birch for non-IRA buyers)
  • 300,000+ customers and 17+ years in business, per roslandcapital.com
  • BBB A+ and AAA Business Consumer Alliance rating
  • PCGS and NGC coin grading for collectors and numismatic buyers
  • International offices in UK, Germany, and France for globally mobile clients

Cons

  • IRA fees, custodian name, and storage fees not publicly disclosed
  • Only one depository disclosed (Delaware), per their IRA page
  • Celebrity endorsement marketing model adds costs that may pass to customers
  • IRA-specific minimum investment not stated on public site
  • No in-house IRA department referenced on public website
Rosland may be a fit if: You want physical gold or silver coins below the $10,000 threshold, or you’re a collector interested in PCGS/NGC-graded numismatics and licensed commemorative editions.
Rosland may not be ideal if: Your primary goal is a transparent-fee gold IRA rollover with multiple depository options and a clearly documented specialist process.

Read our full Rosland Capital review on Goldiew

Full Comparison: Birch Gold Group vs Rosland Capital

All cells use publicly stated facts or clearly labeled industry-reported figures. Where information isn’t publicly available, cells read “Not publicly stated” rather than leaving a gap or guessing.

DimensionBirch Gold GroupRosland Capital
Goldiew User Rating4.43 / 5 (7 verified reviews, Goldiew internal)Not tracked in Goldiew review system
Founded2011 (per birchgold.com, “since 2011”)2008 (per roslandcapital.com/about, “17+ years”)
Customers Served40,000+ (per birchgold.com)300,000+ (per roslandcapital.com)
BBB RatingA+ (per birchgold.com/about)A+ (per roslandcapital.com/about)
BCA RatingAAA Business Consumer Alliance (per birchgold.com/about)AAA (per roslandcapital.com/about)
Minimum Investment~$10,000 IRA (industry-reported, not stated on site)$2,500 physical; IRA minimum not stated publicly
Annual IRA FeesNot publicly stated; requires a callNot publicly stated; requires a call
Custodian PartnerIRS-approved custodian (not named on public site)Not named on public site
Storage Depositories5 options: Delaware Depository, Brink’s, IDS, Texas Precious Metals, Texas Bullion (per birchgold.com)Delaware Depository (per roslandcapital.com/gold-ira; no others listed)
IRA Specialist SupportDedicated Gold Specialist + in-house IRA department (per birchgold.com)Specialists available; no in-house IRA department referenced on public site
EndorsementsRon Paul, Dan Bongino, Megyn Kelly, Stephen K. Bannon, Clay Travis and Buck Sexton, Chad Prather (per birchgold.com)William Devane, actor (per roslandcapital.com)
Collector Coins and NumismaticsNot featured as a primary product categoryYes: PCGS and NGC-graded; Formula 1, PGA Tour, British Museum editions (per roslandcapital.com)
International OfficesUS only (Iowa, per birchgold.com/about)US, UK, Germany, France (per roslandcapital.com/about)
Home Storage IRA?No (IRS rules prohibit for self-directed IRAs)No (explicitly warned against on roslandcapital.com/gold-ira)

How to Choose Between Birch Gold Group and Rosland Capital

The right company depends on your account size, your goal (IRA vs. physical metals ownership), and how much you prioritize fee transparency before you pick up the phone. Here’s a practical framework for six common situations.

Situation A

Under $10,000, want physical gold

Rosland’s $2,500 minimum for physical purchases gives you access at a lower threshold. Birch’s industry-reported IRA minimum is $10,000, so Birch may not serve this range for IRA accounts specifically. Physical metal purchases don’t require an IRA and have their own tax treatment; consult your tax advisor.

Situation B

$10,000 to $50,000 IRA rollover

Birch Gold Group’s dedicated IRA team and five depository options make this their clearest use case. Rolling over a 401(k) or existing IRA in this range, Birch’s in-house paperwork process is designed to handle that coordination without routing you through a third party.

Situation C

$50,000+ IRA seeking additional options

Birch handles accounts at this level. Investors with $50,000+ may also want to compare Augusta Precious Metals, which Money Magazine ranked Best Overall Gold IRA Company for five consecutive years (2022-2026) and offers a salaried, non-commissioned specialist process with a multi-year fee waiver for qualifying accounts.

Situation D

Collector or numismatic focus

Rosland carries PCGS and NGC-graded coins, licensed commemorative editions (Formula 1, British Museum, PGA Tour), and a broader range of specialty products. Birch is focused on IRA-eligible bullion, not collector coins. If numismatic collecting is a primary goal rather than retirement tax optimization, Rosland’s catalog fits better.

Situation E

Want more than one depository option

Birch publicly lists five depository partners. Rosland’s IRA page describes storage at a Delaware depository with no additional options listed as of 2026. If spreading storage risk across multiple institutions or regions is part of your approach, Birch has the documented advantage here.

Situation F

International or expat client

Rosland operates UK, German, and French offices, per their website. Birch is US-focused. For US expats or buyers outside the US, Rosland’s international presence may be relevant. Note that self-directed gold IRAs are US tax accounts regardless of where the account holder lives; consult your tax advisor for cross-border implications.

Beyond account size, three practical factors should inform your final decision:

Get Fees in Writing

Both companies require a phone call to get exact pricing. When you call, ask for all fees in writing: annual custodian fee, IRA setup fee, storage fee per year, and the markup spread on gold coins above spot price. Compare total 10-year cost on your projected account size, not just the upfront minimum.

401(k) Complexity

Rolling over an active employer 401(k) requires coordination with your plan administrator, which adds steps and time. Birch’s in-house IRA department is specifically described as handling this paperwork. If your rollover source is complex, ask any company directly how they handle that process before committing.

Know Your Custodian

Your IRA custodian holds your account and determines annual fees. Neither company publicly names their custodian partner. Ask each company for their custodian’s name and look it up independently on the IRS list of approved nonbank custodians before opening an account. This is a 10-20 year relationship.

Frequently Asked Questions

These questions come from common searches related to this comparison, plus FINRA and IRS guidance on gold IRA mechanics.

What is the minimum investment for Birch Gold Group?

Birch Gold Group does not publish a minimum investment on their public website. Third-party review sites including Investopedia and Money.com consistently report an industry-reported minimum of around $10,000 for IRA accounts. We label this “industry-reported” because it is not confirmed directly on birchgold.com. Contact Birch directly and ask for the current minimum before starting an application. Their Gold Specialists are described as salaried and non-commissioned, per their process description on birchgold.com.

We are not financial advisors. Consult a licensed advisor before making any retirement account decisions.

What is Rosland Capital’s minimum for a gold IRA?

Rosland Capital states a minimum purchase of $2,500 for physical precious metals on their website, per roslandcapital.com. Their IRA-specific minimum is not disclosed publicly on their site as of the May 2026 review. The $2,500 figure applies to physical purchases, not necessarily to IRA account funding. Contact Rosland directly for their current IRA minimum threshold before comparing it to other providers.

Which company has lower fees: Birch or Rosland Capital?

Neither company publishes a full fee schedule on their public website. A direct comparison isn’t possible without requesting quotes from both. When you call, ask specifically about: annual custodian fee, IRA setup fee, storage fee per year, and the coin markup spread above spot price. Get the answers in writing. The fee structure over a 15-20 year IRA holding period has a far larger financial impact than the initial minimum investment threshold.

Consult your tax advisor for guidance on how IRA fees affect your specific tax situation.

Who is William Devane, and what is his role at Rosland Capital?

William Devane is an American actor known for television and film work. He appears in Rosland Capital’s TV advertising and is described on their website as a customer. His role is that of celebrity endorser and brand spokesperson. Celebrity endorsements are common in the precious metals sector. Some companies in this space, including Augusta Precious Metals, explicitly position themselves as an alternative to companies that fund celebrity marketing, noting on their own public website that those costs get “built into pricing.” Whether Rosland’s endorsement arrangement affects their pricing can’t be confirmed from their public site alone; that’s a question to ask directly when you call for a quote.

Can I roll over my 401(k) to a gold IRA with either company?

Both companies offer gold IRA services that accept rollovers from 401(k) and existing IRA accounts. Per IRS Publication 590-A, direct trustee-to-trustee transfers have no 60-day deadline and no withholding requirement. Indirect rollovers (where funds go to you first) must be completed within 60 days to avoid income tax and potential early withdrawal penalties. Birch’s public site references an in-house IRA department for rollover paperwork. Rosland describes a six-step setup process on their IRA page without specifically referencing a rollover coordination team.

We are not financial advisors. Consult a licensed financial advisor and your plan administrator before initiating any rollover.

What precious metals are IRS-approved for a self-directed gold IRA?

The IRS sets specific purity standards for metals held in a self-directed IRA. Per current IRS guidance: gold must be at least 99.5% pure, silver 99.9%, platinum 99.95%, and palladium 99.95%. Commonly approved coins include the American Gold Eagle, American Buffalo, Canadian Gold Maple Leaf, and American Silver Eagle. Collector proof coins and numismatic coins may or may not qualify depending on their purity and IRS approval status; verify before purchasing. Both Birch and Rosland carry IRA-eligible products, but confirm the specific item meets current IRS purity standards before completing any purchase for your IRA.

Which company offers more depository storage options?

Birch Gold Group publicly lists five IRS-approved depository partners on birchgold.com: Delaware Depository, Brink’s Global Services, International Depository Services, Texas Precious Metals Depository, and Texas Bullion Depository. Rosland Capital’s IRA page references storage at a Delaware depository; no additional options are listed on their public site as of 2026. More depository options give investors the ability to choose based on geographic location, institutional preference, or a desire to spread risk across multiple storage facilities. On this specific criterion, Birch has a documented advantage based on publicly available information.

Is a gold IRA a good choice for retirement?

A gold IRA replaces paper assets in a retirement account with physical metal, which carries different characteristics than stocks, bonds, or mutual funds. Past performance does not guarantee future results, and nobody can accurately predict where gold prices will go. Whether adding physical gold to a retirement account fits your situation depends on your time horizon, existing portfolio composition, liquidity needs, and risk tolerance. The IRS does not favor or disfavor gold relative to other IRA-eligible assets. Discuss with a licensed financial advisor before making any changes to your retirement account structure.

Can I store my IRA gold at home?

No. IRS rules require that physical metals held in a self-directed IRA be stored at an IRS-approved depository, not at a personal residence or in a personal safe. Rosland Capital explicitly warns against home storage on their IRA page, noting that home storage arrangements can trigger tax penalties. Birch routes all storage through IRS-approved depository partners. FINRA has issued investor alerts about misleading “home storage IRA” marketing claims; if you encounter any company promoting this arrangement, review their claims carefully against current IRS guidance.

How long does it take to set up a gold IRA?

Setup typically takes 2 to 6 weeks, depending on rollover source and custodian processing speed. A direct IRA-to-IRA transfer generally takes 2 to 3 weeks. Rolling over an employer 401(k) can take longer because the employer plan administrator needs to initiate the distribution on their end before funds move. Birch’s in-house IRA department handles paperwork coordination; they can give you a realistic timeline for your specific situation when you call. Ask any provider upfront for their current average processing time before you begin.

Sources and Methodology

This comparison uses publicly available information crawled in 2026. Every factual claim about either company traces to a specific source. Claims not verifiable on public sites are labeled “industry-reported” or “not publicly stated.”

  1. IRS Publication 590-A: Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements (2024 edition)
  2. FINRA Investor Alert: Precious Metals and Coins
  3. SEC Investor.gov: Precious Metals as Investments
  4. Birch Gold Group official website (crawled May 2026)
  5. Birch Gold Group About page (crawled May 2026)
  6. Rosland Capital official website (crawled May 2026)
  7. Rosland Capital About page (crawled May 2026)
  8. Rosland Capital Gold IRA page (crawled May 2026)
  9. Better Business Bureau (BBB) ratings referenced
  10. Goldiew internal verified user review data (7 reviews for Birch Gold Group; manually moderated, not incentivized)
  11. Industry-reported minimum investment figures from multiple third-party review aggregators (labeled “industry-reported” throughout where not confirmed on company site)

Goldiew applied the same 8-criterion framework used across all head-to-head comparisons on this site. Rankings reflect fit for a gold IRA investor profile (45-65 years old, $10,000+ in an existing retirement account). Goldiew has an affiliate relationship with Birch Gold Group and may earn a commission when readers open accounts via our links. Goldiew has no affiliate relationship with Rosland Capital. Neither relationship changes the facts reported here.

This guide is reviewed and updated quarterly to reflect changes in IRS rules, partner offers, and company policies. For questions, corrections, or to report inaccuracies, contact our editorial team via the contact page.

Last reviewed: May 15, 2026

editorial team
Goldiew Research & Editorial
Independent research on gold, jewelry, and precious metals, from selling and loans to gold IRAs. About our methodology →

Saving favorites is only available to logged-in users. Please log in or sign up to continue.

By continuing with Google you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.
or log in with email

🔒❔ Forgot your password? Reset it here.

Liking reviews is for logged-in users: please log in or sign up to continue.

By continuing with Google you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.
or log in with email

🔒❔ Forgot your password? Reset it here.

Login

By continuing with Google you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.
or log in with email

🖐️➡ No account yet? Sign up here.

🔒❔ Forgot your password? Reset it here.