Rolling over a 401(k) or existing IRA into a gold IRA involves real paperwork, custodian coordination, and metal selection decisions. Most investors spend weeks researching and still aren’t sure which company will actually walk them through the process without disappearing after the initial pitch. This guide covers the Birch Gold Group rollover process in detail: every step, realistic timelines, and what to watch for before you commit.
Quick Answer: Birch Gold Group Rollover at a Glance

Birch Gold Group
In business since: 2011 · Customers served: 40,000+ · Minimum (industry-reported): around $10,000 · HQ: Iowa
Birch guides clients through rollover paperwork with a dedicated in-house IRA Department and a one-on-one Specialist. The process runs 3-6 weeks on average. The industry-reported $10,000 minimum makes Birch one of the more accessible entry points in the gold IRA space.
Get Birch’s free Info KitTrusted by 40,000+ Americans since 2011 · BBB A+
Why the Rollover Process Should Drive Your Company Choice
A gold IRA rollover is not a simple wire transfer. It requires coordination between three parties: your existing plan administrator, an IRS-approved custodian for the new self-directed account, and the precious metals dealer. Mistakes at any step create tax problems. A 60-day indirect rollover handled incorrectly triggers ordinary income tax and, if you’re under 59½, a 10% early withdrawal penalty per IRS Publication 590-A.
That’s why the company you choose matters as much for their process capability as for their product selection. A dealer with an in-house IRA Department handles paperwork coordination directly. One that outsources it entirely may leave you managing forms across three parties on your own.
Birch Gold Group positions its in-house IRA Department as a core differentiator. Endorsed by Ron Paul and voices like Dan Bongino, Megyn Kelly, and Clay Travis & Buck Sexton, Birch has served 40,000+ customers since 2011. Here’s exactly what the rollover process looks like in practice.
Birch Gold Group Rollover: Step by Step
- 1
Request the Free Info Kit
The entry point with Birch is their free Information Kit, which covers IRA eligibility, storage options, and pricing context. You request it online or by phone (+1-800-355-2116). No account is opened at this stage. The kit gives you the pricing framework and eligibility checklist you need before speaking with a specialist. This is a no-pressure starting point: Birch mails or emails the kit, and you decide whether to move forward.
- 2
One-on-One Consultation with a Birch Gold Specialist
After requesting the kit, a Birch Gold Specialist contacts you (or you schedule directly). This is the qualification step: they confirm your existing account type (401(k), traditional IRA, Roth, SEP, 403(b), or similar), your intended allocation, and whether a direct or indirect rollover makes sense for your situation. They also explain which metals are IRS-approved for your account type. The conversation typically runs 30-45 minutes.
Birch’s one-on-one Specialist model means you deal with the same person throughout the rollover, which reduces coordination errors during paperwork handoff.
- 3
Custodian Setup and Account Opening
Birch works with IRS-approved custodians for self-directed IRA administration. The custodian legally holds the account; Birch handles the metals side. Birch’s in-house IRA Department coordinates the new account paperwork with the custodian on your behalf. You sign the account opening documents and provide information about your existing plan. This step typically takes 3-7 business days.
Under IRS rules (Publication 590-A), a self-directed IRA must be held by a qualified trustee or custodian, not by the investor or the dealer directly. Birch’s custodian partners fulfill this requirement.
- 4
Funding the Account (the Rollover)
Once the custodian account is open, the actual rollover begins. Birch’s IRA Department helps prepare the transfer request paperwork to send to your current plan administrator. Two routes exist:
- Direct rollover (recommended): Your existing plan sends funds directly to the new IRA custodian. No tax withholding. No 60-day deadline. This is the cleanest path for most investors.
- Indirect rollover: Funds come to you first. Your plan withholds 20% for federal taxes, and you must deposit the full pre-withholding amount into the new IRA within 60 days to avoid taxes and penalties. You recover the withheld 20% when you file your taxes, but you need to cover it out of pocket in the meantime.
The transfer typically takes 5-15 business days once the paperwork is submitted to your plan administrator, though employer 401(k) plans can take up to 3-4 weeks for processing depending on their internal cycle.
- 5
Metal Selection
Once funds arrive at the custodian, you work with your Birch Specialist to choose IRS-approved gold, silver, platinum, or palladium products for your account. Per IRS Publication 590-B, bullion products must meet minimum fineness standards: gold at .995 or finer, silver at .999 or finer, platinum and palladium at .9995 or finer. American Gold Eagles are an approved exception at .9167 fineness due to their legal tender status.
Your Birch Specialist presents current pricing and available products at this stage. The industry-reported minimum for a Birch account sits around $10,000, which provides access to the full product range. You choose the allocation across metal types and specific products.
- 6
Depository Placement
After purchase, your metals are shipped to an IRS-approved depository. Per IRS rules, physical metals held in a gold IRA cannot be stored at home or in a personal safe-deposit box. IRS Publication 590 treats home storage as a distribution, triggering taxes and the applicable penalty. All metals must remain at an approved third-party depository until the account is distributed.
Birch’s depository partners include Delaware Depository, Brink’s Global Services, International Depository Services, Texas Precious Metals Depository, and Texas Bullion Depository. Five options is more than most gold IRA companies offer publicly. Each is IRS-approved, fully insured, and subject to regular audit. You receive confirmation once your metals are received and logged at the depository.
Realistic Timeline: How Long Does a Birch Rollover Take?
The full process from first contact to metals in storage typically runs 3-6 weeks. Here’s the breakdown by stage:
| Stage | Estimated Time | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Info Kit request + Specialist consultation | 1-5 business days | Depends on your scheduling availability |
| Custodian account opening | 3-7 business days | Birch IRA Department prepares paperwork |
| Transfer from existing plan (direct rollover) | 5-15 business days | Employer 401(k) plans can take up to 4 weeks |
| Metal selection and purchase | 1-2 business days | Spot price at time of purchase applies |
| Depository delivery and confirmation | 3-7 business days | Insured shipment; you receive written confirmation |
| Total (typical) | 3-6 weeks | IRAs transfer faster than employer plans |
The biggest variable is your existing plan administrator. Employer-sponsored 401(k) plans have their own processing cycles. Some handle transfer requests weekly; others run quarterly distribution windows. Ask your HR or benefits department about the processing timeline before you set expectations.
How Birch Compares to the Industry Standard
For context on where Birch sits relative to the broader gold IRA market and to Augusta Precious Metals (the top-rated company on Goldiew for accounts over $50,000):
| Dimension | Birch Gold Group | Industry Typical | Augusta Precious Metals |
|---|---|---|---|
| Minimum investment | ~$10,000 (industry-reported) | $5,000-$25,000 | ~$50,000 (industry-reported) |
| IRA Department | In-house, dedicated | Varies | In-house |
| Rollover coordination | One-on-one Specialist + IRA Dept | Specialist only (many dealers) | Salaried, non-commissioned educators |
| Custodian flexibility | IRS-approved custodians | 1-2 preferred (most) | IRS-approved custodians |
| Approved depositories | 5 named publicly | 1-2 typical | Not publicly specified |
| Typical rollover timeline | 3-6 weeks | 3-8 weeks | 3-6 weeks |
| Fee promotion | None advertised publicly | Varies | Multi-year fee waiver (qualifying terms) |
| BBB rating | A+ | Varies | A+ (zero complaints) |
| Goldiew user rating | 4.43/5 (7 reviews) | , | 4.71/5 (7 reviews) |
Birch’s lower industry-reported minimum makes it the practical choice for investors with $10,000-$49,999 ready to roll over. For accounts above $50,000, Augusta’s deeper educational process and published fee waiver offer a different value proposition worth comparing.
Birch Gold Group: Pros and Cons for Rollover Investors
Pros
- Accessible ~$10,000 entry point (industry-reported)
- Dedicated in-house IRA Department for paperwork
- Five approved depository partners publicly named
- BBB A+ rating, AAA Business Consumer Alliance
- 40,000+ customers over 14 years of operation
- One-on-one Specialist model for consistent contact
Cons
- No fee waiver promotion advertised publicly
- Custodian names not disclosed on public website
- Goldiew user rating (4.43) slightly below Augusta (4.71)
- Minimum not confirmed on Birch’s own site
Who Should Choose Birch for Their Rollover?
Rolling over $10,000-$49,999
Birch’s industry-reported minimum sits around $10,000. That puts a gold IRA within reach for mid-career investors who haven’t yet built a six-figure retirement account. Augusta’s threshold (around $50,000 industry-reported) rules them out for this range.
Want paperwork handled for you
Birch’s in-house IRA Department coordinates the custodian communication directly. If you don’t want to track down forms across multiple administrators on your own, Birch’s dedicated IRA team handles the coordination on your behalf.
Value depository flexibility
With five approved depositories spread geographically, Birch lets you choose storage based on location preference, cost structure, or insurance terms. Most competitors offer one or two options.
Birch may not be the right fit if: your rollover exceeds $100,000 and you want a structured educational onboarding (Augusta’s “Education-First Process: Learn, Talk, Decide” targets that higher-balance segment), or if a fee waiver is a decision factor (Birch has none listed publicly at this time). For a side-by-side comparison of both companies, see our Augusta vs Birch head-to-head guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Birch Gold Group’s minimum investment for a rollover?
The minimum is industry-reported at around $10,000. Birch does not publish a specific figure on their public website, but Money.com and Investopedia consistently cite this threshold. Confirm the exact current requirement with your Birch Specialist during the free consultation before moving forward.
How long does a Birch Gold Group rollover take from start to finish?
Plan on 3-6 weeks. The custodian account opening takes 3-7 business days. The fund transfer from your existing plan takes 5-15 business days for IRAs, and up to 4 weeks for employer 401(k) plans depending on their processing cycle. Metal selection and depository delivery add another week on top. Your existing plan administrator’s speed is the biggest variable in the timeline.
Which custodians does Birch Gold Group work with?
Birch publicly states they work with IRS-approved custodians for self-directed IRA administration. They do not name specific custodians on their public website. Your Birch Specialist will discuss custodian options during the consultation step. Under IRS Publication 590-A, a self-directed IRA must be held by a qualified trustee or custodian, a requirement Birch’s custodian partners fulfill.
Can I roll over a 401(k) into a Birch Gold IRA?
Yes, provided you have a qualifying event. IRS rules generally require a triggering event to roll over an active employer 401(k): separation from service (including retirement), reaching age 59½, or the plan permitting an in-service withdrawal. If you’ve already left your employer, the rollover is straightforward. Traditional IRAs, SEP IRAs, 403(b) plans, and 457(b) plans can also be rolled over. Ask your Birch Specialist which account types apply to your situation.
What metals can I hold in a Birch Gold IRA?
IRS Publication 590-B sets the fineness standards. Gold bullion must be .995 or finer; silver must be .999 or finer; platinum and palladium must both be .9995 or finer. American Gold Eagles are an approved exception at .9167 fineness due to their legal tender status. Collectible coins and rare numismatic coins are not eligible for gold IRA accounts. Your Birch Specialist walks you through the current approved product list when you reach the metal selection step.
Which depositories does Birch use, and how is storage handled?
Birch partners with five IRS-approved depositories: Delaware Depository, Brink’s Global Services, International Depository Services, Texas Precious Metals Depository, and Texas Bullion Depository. IRS Publication 590 prohibits home storage of gold IRA metals; doing so is treated as a taxable distribution. All five depositories are fully insured and audited. You choose the depository during account setup, and you receive written confirmation once your metals are logged in.
What is the difference between a direct and an indirect rollover?
A direct rollover sends funds from your existing plan to the new IRA custodian without passing through your hands. No withholding applies, and there’s no 60-day deadline. An indirect rollover sends the funds to you first. Your plan withholds 20% for federal income taxes, and you must deposit the full pre-withholding amount into the new IRA within 60 days to avoid taxes and penalties on the entire distribution. You recover the withheld 20% when you file your tax return, but you cover it out of pocket in the meantime. Direct rollovers eliminate this risk entirely and are the standard approach for gold IRA conversions.
What happens to my metals if Birch Gold Group closes?
Your metals are held by the IRS-approved custodian and stored at an approved depository, not by Birch directly. Birch is the dealer; the custodian is the legal account administrator. If Birch were to cease operations, your account remains with the custodian and your metals remain at the depository. You could appoint a new dealer or instruct the custodian to liquidate. The IRS-required structural separation between dealer and custodian is the safeguard that makes this possible.
For a broader look at Birch’s customer ratings, fee structure, and service experience, read our full Birch Gold Group review on Goldiew.
Sources and Methodology
Company-specific facts were verified against Birch Gold Group’s public website in 2026. All partner data used on this page carries a PUBLIC tag in the Goldiew company verification database, verified within 90 days of publication.
- ↗ IRS Publication 590-A: Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements (2024)
- ↗ IRS Publication 590-B: Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements (2024)
- ↗ FINRA Investor Alert: Precious Metals Fraud (2023)
- ↗ SEC Investor Alert: Self-Directed IRAs and the Risk of Fraud
- ↗ Birch Gold Group BBB Profile (A+ rating)
- ↗ Birch Gold Group official website (verified 2026)
- Goldiew internal user reviews: 7 moderated reviews, 4.43 average rating, as of 2026
- Goldiew: Full Birch Gold Group Review
- Goldiew: Best Gold IRA Companies 2026
- Goldiew: Augusta vs Birch Head-to-Head
Goldiew evaluates gold IRA companies against IRS Publication 590 eligibility standards, BBB accreditation status, and independently moderated user reviews. Our ranking methodology is independent of affiliate status.