If you searched “augusta vs schwab gold,” you are comparing two different things. Augusta Precious Metals sells physical gold and silver stored inside a self-directed IRA (SDIRA). Charles Schwab offers gold ETFs, mining stocks, and related paper instruments inside a standard brokerage IRA. Both can live in a retirement account. What you actually own and how it is held are fundamentally different. This guide breaks down those differences across 14 criteria so you can decide which approach fits your retirement goals. The short answer: if you want physical metal in a vault, only one of these companies offers it.
Quick verdict
- Physical gold bars and coins in an IRS-approved depository
- BBB A+ rated, zero complaints (accredited since 2014)
- Money Magazine Best Overall Gold IRA, 2022-2026 (five years)
- Minimum: industry-reported around $50,000
- Multi-year fee waiver for qualifying rollover accounts
- Gold ETFs (GLD, GLDM, IAU, SGOL and others) in a standard IRA
- $0 commissions on ETFs, $0 account minimum
- Does not offer a dedicated physical gold SDIRA
- $10.1 trillion AUM (2024); founded 1971; NYSE: SCHW
- $187M SEC settlement in 2022 (robo-advisor fee disclosure)
Schwab is No commission link on this page.
If you want physical gold stored in your name at an IRS-approved vault, Schwab does not provide that service. Augusta does. If you want simple, low-cost gold price exposure via ETFs in an IRA you already have at Schwab, that option exists there without opening a new account. Choosing between them starts with deciding what you actually want to own.
Goldiew is an independent review platform. Augusta is reviewed on Goldiew: we earn a commission when readers sign up through our links. Charles Schwab is not. That financial relationship is disclosed plainly per FTC requirements. To counter the inherent bias, every Schwab claim in this article uses publicly-stated facts from Schwab’s own materials (where accessible), third-party financial reviews, or SEC filings. Where schwab.com blocked direct crawl access during production of this guide, claims are labeled “third-party reported.” Every Augusta fact is verified against a canonical internal YAML (last verified 2026-05-14) and Augusta’s public website.
The core difference: physical metal vs. paper gold
Most “Augusta vs. Schwab” comparisons treat this as a head-to-head between two gold IRA companies. That framing is wrong and it leads people to the wrong conclusions.
Augusta Precious Metals is a precious metals dealer that helps clients open a self-directed IRA (SDIRA). Inside that SDIRA, the account holds actual gold bars and coins, physically stored in an IRS-approved vault (a depository) in your name. You own the metal. A qualified third-party custodian holds it on your behalf. When you take a distribution, you can receive the physical metal or its cash equivalent.
Charles Schwab is a full-service brokerage and financial services company with over $10.1 trillion in assets under management as of 2024 (per stockanalysis.com). Schwab offers Traditional IRAs, Roth IRAs, SEP IRAs, SIMPLE IRAs, and others. Inside those accounts, clients can buy gold-related investments: ETFs that track the gold price (such as SPDR Gold Shares GLD, iShares Gold Trust IAU, or abrdn Physical Gold Shares ETF SGOL), shares of gold mining companies (Newmont, Barrick Gold, Agnico Eagle, and others), or mutual funds with precious metals exposure. What Schwab does not offer is a dedicated physical gold SDIRA service. You cannot buy a gold bar through Schwab and have it stored at a depository inside your IRA.
That single distinction changes the entire comparison. Here is why it matters in practice:
- Physical ownership vs. financial instrument: an SDIRA with Augusta gives you title to specific metal. A gold ETF in a Schwab IRA gives you shares in a fund that holds gold. The fund has a trust structure, expense ratios, and counterparty exposure to the fund issuer.
- IRS purity standards apply differently: physical gold inside a SDIRA must meet IRS purity requirements. Per IRS Publication 590-B, gold must be at least 99.5% pure, silver 99.9%, platinum and palladium 99.95%. ETFs are financial securities. IRS purity rules do not apply to them as they would to physical metal.
- Storage and fee mechanics differ: physical gold in an SDIRA incurs custodian and storage fees at the depository. ETFs charge an annual expense ratio. SPDR Gold Shares (GLD) charges 0.40% per year; SPDR Gold MiniShares (GLDM) charges 0.10% per year (both per Wikipedia). Augusta offers a multi-year fee waiver for qualifying rollover accounts, which changes the calculus on larger balances.
- Liquidity differs substantially: an ETF sells in seconds during market hours. Physical metal in a depository takes days to liquidate through a buyback program. If you need funds quickly, ETFs are more accessible by a wide margin.
- Tax treatment is the same at the IRA level: both structures can live inside a Traditional or Roth IRA, subject to the same IRA contribution rules, distribution rules, and RMD requirements. The asset type does not change the IRA’s tax wrapper. Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation.
Neither approach is inherently better. They answer different questions for different investors at different life stages.
How we compared them
We evaluated both options across 8 criteria relevant to a US retiree or pre-retiree deciding how to add precious metals exposure to their retirement portfolio. This is not investment advice. We are not financial advisors. Before making retirement decisions, consult a licensed financial professional.
What you actually own after investing: physical metal in a vault, or shares of a financial instrument tracking the gold price.
Which IRA account types support each investment, and how the IRS treats each under Publication 590.
The floor to open an account or make an investment, and how it affects accessibility at different balance levels.
Every cost the investor bears per year: setup fees, custodian fees, storage fees, expense ratios, and trading commissions.
What opening the account actually looks like, how long it takes, and how much hand-holding the provider offers.
BBB rating, complaint history, and any significant regulatory actions that reflect on the firm’s integrity.
How easily you can sell the asset, how fast you receive cash, and what the exit costs look like.
Which retirement savers each option actually serves well, and who should look elsewhere.
Augusta Precious Metals: what you get
Augusta Precious Metals was founded in 2012 and is headquartered in Beverly Hills, California, with an additional office in Casper, Wyoming. CEO Isaac Nuriani and Director of Education Devlyn Steele lead the company. Augusta is not publicly traded and operates as a self-directed precious metals IRA dealer serving all 50 US states.
Augusta’s specialty is one thing: helping US retirees and pre-retirees open a self-directed IRA funded with physical precious metals. Their product line covers IRS-approved gold and silver coins and bars. Onboarding follows their “Education-First Process”: a structured sequence of LEARN (review their free Gold IRA Guide), TALK (a one-on-one session with a salaried, non-commissioned educator), and DECIDE (proceed only if the product fits your situation). Augusta states directly on their homepage that their sales staff are salaried rather than commission-based, an unusual arrangement in the gold IRA sector where commission incentives frequently drive overselling.
Awards and recognition
All items below are publicly stated on Augusta’s website, verified by Goldiew in 2026:
- Money Magazine Best Overall Gold IRA Company, 2022-2026 (five consecutive years)
- Investopedia Most Transparent Gold IRA Company, 2022-2026
- BBB A+ rating, accredited since 2014, zero complaints on record
- 4,000+ five-star ratings across Trustpilot, Google, and Consumer Affairs
Fees
Augusta offers a multi-year fee waiver for qualifying rollover accounts. Their public marketing confirms the fee waiver exists; current terms are reviewed during the free consultation. Augusta does not publish a specific number of years on their public homepage, so Goldiew does not either. Ask Augusta directly for what applies to your account size.
Minimum
Augusta’s minimum investment is industry-reported around $50,000 in eligible retirement funds. This figure is cited consistently by Money.com, Investopedia, and other third-party sources, though Augusta does not state it on their public homepage. Treat it as a working guideline. If your rollover amount is below that threshold, Augusta may direct you toward other options.
Who Augusta serves well
- US residents 55 and older approaching or in retirement
- Accounts meeting the reported $50,000 minimum (Augusta’s sweet spot is $100,000+)
- Investors who want physical metal in a named vault, not paper exposure
- Those who value educational onboarding and prefer talking with a person before committing
Who Augusta is not right for
- Accounts below the reported $50,000 minimum. Consider Birch Gold (industry-reported minimum around $10,000) or Noble Gold (around $20,000)
- Investors who need same-day liquidity. Physical metal takes days to liquidate
- Non-US residents. Augusta serves US clients only
- Those who prefer a fully digital, no-contact experience with no phone conversations
Augusta’s free Gold IRA Comparison Checklist is a practical starting point to evaluate fit. Get it here at no cost.
Charles Schwab: gold options in a standard IRA
Charles Schwab traces its origins to 1971, when Charles R. Schwab founded the firm as First Commander Corporation. By 1973, it operated as Charles Schwab and Co., Inc. Today it is one of the largest financial services firms in the world, with $10.1 trillion in assets under management as of 2024 (per stockanalysis.com, accessed May 2026). Schwab is publicly traded on the NYSE under the ticker SCHW. as of 2025, CEO Rick Wurster leads the company, succeeding longtime CEO Walt Bettinger (per Wikipedia).
Schwab supports a broad range of IRA account types: Traditional IRA, Roth IRA, SEP IRA, SIMPLE IRA, Individual 401(k), Rollover IRA, and Custodial IRA. Inside those accounts, clients can access gold-related exposure through:
- Gold ETFs: any gold ETF listed on US exchanges at $0 commission. The most widely held include SPDR Gold Shares (GLD, 0.40% annual expense ratio, per Wikipedia), SPDR Gold MiniShares (GLDM, 0.10% per year, per Wikipedia), iShares Gold Trust (IAU, approximately 0.25% per year, third-party reported), and abrdn Physical Gold Shares ETF (SGOL, approximately 0.17% per year, third-party reported). Note: SGOL is an abrdn product, not a Schwab product. It is simply tradable through Schwab’s platform.
- Gold mining stocks: shares of Newmont (NEM), Barrick Gold (GOLD), Agnico Eagle (AEM), and other publicly traded mining companies at $0 commission.
- Mutual funds with precious metals exposure: third-party funds such as Fidelity Select Gold Portfolio (FSAGX) and VanEck gold sector funds, available through Schwab’s fund marketplace.
- Gold futures: accessible through Schwab’s advanced trading platforms for qualified accounts (per stockanalysis.com).
What Schwab does not offer: a service to purchase physical gold bars or coins and store them at an IRS-approved depository inside an IRA. Multiple third-party review sources confirm this limitation. goldiranews.org, which rates Schwab 1.5 out of 5 for precious metals IRA investment, states directly: “Charles Schwab does not directly hold gold or precious metals.” This is a structural limitation of being a standard brokerage, not a specialized SDIRA provider.
Fee structure at Schwab
Schwab charges $0 commissions on stock and ETF trades (per stockbrokers.com, accessed May 2026). There is no minimum account balance to open a standard IRA. Annual expense ratios vary by ETF: GLDM at 0.10% per year is the lowest-cost major gold ETF option. For a $100,000 account, that is $100 per year in fund expenses. There are no Schwab advisory fees for basic self-directed brokerage accounts.
Regulatory notes
in 2022, the SEC reached a $187 million settlement with Charles Schwab over its Schwab Intelligent Portfolios robo-advisor product. The settlement addressed Schwab’s failure to adequately disclose that cash allocations in client portfolios generated revenue for Schwab while reducing client returns (per Wikipedia, citing SEC records, accessed May 2026). This settlement involved the Intelligent Portfolios product specifically. It does not affect Schwab’s standard brokerage IRA accounts or ETF offerings. However, it is relevant context when evaluating the firm’s history of fee transparency.
Who Schwab works well for
- Investors who already have a Schwab IRA and want to add gold exposure without opening a separate account
- Those comfortable with ETF ownership and satisfied with paper-based gold price exposure
- Accounts below $50,000 that do not meet Augusta’s reported minimum
- Investors who need maximum liquidity (ETFs sell in seconds during market hours)
- Those who prefer self-directed investing with no advisor or phone consultation required
Side-by-side comparison (14 criteria)
The table below compares Augusta and Schwab across 14 criteria. Several rows show a clear advantage in different directions depending on what you value. There is no universal winner. Read carefully.
| Criterion | Augusta Precious Metals | Charles Schwab |
|---|---|---|
| Product type | Physical gold/silver bars and coins | Gold ETFs, mining stocks, mutual funds |
| Physical gold SDIRA available | Yes | No |
| IRA types supported | Self-Directed IRA (SDIRA) | Traditional IRA, Roth, SEP, SIMPLE, Individual 401(k), Rollover IRA |
| Account minimum | Industry-reported around $50,000 | $0 |
| Annual fee (base) | Multi-year fee waiver for qualifying rollover accounts (ask Augusta for current terms) | $0 advisory fee; ETF expense ratios vary (GLDM: 0.10%/yr; GLD: 0.40%/yr) |
| Trade commissions | Metal markup applies at purchase (spread varies; Augusta does not publish a fixed %) | $0 on stocks and ETFs (per stockbrokers.com) |
| BBB rating | A+ (accredited since 2014, zero complaints on record) | Third-party reported A+ (higher absolute complaint volume, typical for a firm of this size) |
| Regulatory actions | None on public record | $187M SEC settlement (2022) over Schwab Intelligent Portfolios fee disclosure (per Wikipedia citing SEC) |
| Onboarding process | Education-First Process (LEARN / TALK / DECIDE); full rollover typically 4-8 weeks | Online account opening, same-day or next-day access possible |
| Liquidity | Days (physical metal buyback via Augusta’s program at spot price) | Seconds (ETF sold on NYSE during market hours) |
| Counterparty risk | Lower (you hold title to specific metal; no fund issuer exposure) | ETF trust structure carries fund-level counterparty exposure (minimal for major State Street / BlackRock funds; not zero) |
| IRS purity compliance (physical) | Required and enforced (Augusta sells only IRS-approved metals per IRS Pub 590-B) | Not applicable (ETFs are financial securities, not physical metal held in IRA) |
| Customer support model | Dedicated salaried educator team; lifetime account support (per Augusta’s public website) | Large-firm support via phone, chat, 300+ US branches |
Decision tree: which is right for you
Use the paths below based on your specific situation. If you are unsure which applies, a licensed financial advisor can help. Goldiew does not give financial or investment advice.
Explore Augusta
Get Augusta’s free comparison checklist
Frequently asked questions
Can I hold physical gold in a Charles Schwab IRA?
No. Charles Schwab does not offer a self-directed IRA that holds physical gold, silver, or other precious metals in an IRS-approved depository. Schwab IRAs can hold gold-related securities (ETFs, mining stocks, mutual funds), but not physical metal. For physical gold inside an IRA, you need a dedicated SDIRA provider such as Augusta Precious Metals.
Is Augusta Precious Metals legitimate?
Yes. Augusta holds a BBB A+ rating with zero complaints (accredited since 2014), has been named Money Magazine’s Best Overall Gold IRA Company five consecutive years (2022-2026), and holds Investopedia’s Most Transparent Gold IRA Company recognition for the same period. These are independently verified public claims. Goldiew also has 7 verified user reviews of Augusta averaging 4.71 out of 5 stars.
What gold ETFs are available at Charles Schwab?
Schwab clients can access any ETF listed on US exchanges at $0 commission. The most widely held gold ETFs include SPDR Gold Shares (GLD, 0.40% annual expense ratio per Wikipedia), SPDR Gold MiniShares (GLDM, 0.10% per Wikipedia), iShares Gold Trust (IAU, approximately 0.25%, third-party reported), and abrdn Physical Gold Shares ETF (SGOL, approximately 0.17%, third-party reported). Verify current expense ratios at each fund’s official website before investing. These expense ratios are paid annually from fund assets and reduce net returns.
What is the minimum to open an Augusta gold IRA?
Augusta’s minimum is industry-reported around $50,000 in eligible retirement funds. Money.com and Investopedia cite this consistently. Augusta does not state it directly on their public homepage. If your savings fall below that threshold, Birch Gold (industry-reported minimum around $10,000) and Noble Gold (approximately $20,000) are SDIRA alternatives worth reviewing.
Does Charles Schwab offer a gold IRA rollover?
Schwab supports IRA rollovers from 401(k) plans and other employer-sponsored plans into its standard IRA accounts. Inside that standard IRA, you can buy gold ETFs. Schwab does not facilitate a rollover into a physical gold SDIRA. For a rollover that results in physical gold ownership inside an IRA, you need an SDIRA custodian and a precious metals dealer. Augusta handles both steps for qualifying accounts.
Is a gold ETF inside an IRA taxed differently than physical gold in an SDIRA?
Both can live inside a Traditional or Roth IRA and are subject to the same IRA tax treatment: tax-deferred growth in a Traditional IRA, tax-free growth in a Roth IRA (subject to eligibility rules and income limits). The underlying asset type does not change the IRA’s tax wrapper. What changes is how distributions are handled (cash or physical metal for SDIRAs). For your specific tax situation, consult your tax advisor. Goldiew is not a tax advisor.
What happened with the Charles Schwab SEC settlement in 2022?
in 2022, the SEC charged Charles Schwab with failing to fully disclose that its Schwab Intelligent Portfolios robo-advisor product allocated client funds to Schwab-affiliated cash accounts that generated revenue for Schwab while reducing client returns. Schwab paid $187 million to settle the charges without admitting or denying wrongdoing (per Wikipedia citing SEC records, accessed May 2026). This settlement involved the Intelligent Portfolios product only. Standard Schwab brokerage IRA accounts and ETF offerings were not part of the settlement.
Can I transfer an existing Schwab IRA to Augusta?
Yes. A direct IRA transfer from a standard Schwab IRA to an Augusta SDIRA is a common path. Augusta’s team coordinates the paperwork with the receiving custodian. A direct trustee-to-trustee transfer is not a taxable event when done correctly, per IRS Publication 590-A. The process typically takes 4-8 weeks. Augusta walks clients through each step as part of their Education-First onboarding. Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation before initiating a transfer.
Are gold IRAs and precious metals IRAs the same thing?
A “gold IRA” typically refers to an SDIRA holding physical gold. A “precious metals IRA” is slightly broader: it can hold gold, silver, platinum, and palladium, provided each meets IRS purity requirements. Per IRS Publication 590-B, gold must be at least 99.5% pure, silver 99.9%, platinum and palladium 99.95%. Augusta offers all four metals. Gold ETFs at Schwab track only gold price (GLD, IAU, SGOL). Separate ETFs or mutual funds address silver and platinum mining exposure at Schwab.
Which carries more risk: physical gold in an SDIRA or a gold ETF?
The two products carry different types of risk. Physical gold in an SDIRA has no ETF issuer risk: you hold title to specific metal in a named vault. But SDIRAs involve operational risks tied to the dealer, the custodian, and the depository. Gold ETFs carry fund-level counterparty exposure (though minimal for major State Street or BlackRock funds), plus liquidity risk is essentially zero given daily trading volume. Whether one is riskier depends on which risk categories concern you most. Goldiew does not make risk comparisons between investment types. Consult a licensed financial advisor before making retirement investment decisions. Past performance is not a guarantee of future results.
Sources and methodology
All factual claims in this guide are sourced below. Augusta claims are verified against Goldiew’s canonical company verification records (last verified 2026-05-14) and Augusta’s public website. Schwab claims use publicly accessible third-party sources; schwab.com returned a 403 error during production (bot protection). Industry-reported figures are labeled as such in the text. Expense ratios for ETFs should be confirmed at each fund’s official website before investing.
- Augusta Precious Metals official website. augustapreciousmetals.com. Verified 2026-05-14.
- IRS Publication 590-B: Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAs). irs.gov/publications/p590b.
- IRS Publication 590-A: Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAs). irs.gov/publications/p590a.
- Wikipedia: The Charles Schwab Corporation. Founding year, HQ, CEO, AUM, SEC settlement details. Accessed May 2026.
- Wikipedia: SPDR Gold Shares. Expense ratios for GLD and GLDM. Accessed May 2026.
- stockbrokers.com: Charles Schwab Review. Commission structure and IRA account types. Accessed May 2026.
- stockanalysis.com: SCHW company profile. AUM, employee count, trading products. Accessed May 2026.
- goldiranews.org: Charles Schwab Gold IRA Review. Absence of physical gold SDIRA confirmed. Accessed May 2026.
- BBB: Augusta Precious Metals profile. A+ rating, zero complaints, accredited since 2014. Verified 2026-05-14.