Fees are the part of gold IRA shopping that nobody explains clearly. Companies advertise “transparent pricing” without publishing the numbers. When you are moving $100,000 from a 401(k), a fee difference of $300 per year compounds into real money over a decade.
This page breaks down what gold IRA accounts actually cost, where Augusta Precious Metals stands in that picture, and how Birch Gold Group and Noble Gold Investments compare. All data comes from publicly stated company information, industry-reported ranges, and verified third-party sources.
The Four Fee Buckets in a Gold IRA
A gold IRA has four distinct cost areas. Most fee comparisons online highlight one or two, which distorts the real picture. Here is what you actually pay.
1. Setup fee
A one-time charge to open the account and process the initial paperwork. Industry-reported range: $0 to $80. Some companies waive it as a standard practice or as part of a promotion. It is the smallest of the four cost areas and not where the meaningful fee differences happen.
2. Annual custodian fee
IRS rules require self-directed IRAs holding physical metals to use an IRS-approved custodian, per IRS Publication 590-B. The custodian holds the account, processes transactions, and files required tax forms. Annual custodian fees across the industry typically run $75 to $300 per year, depending on the custodian and account type.
3. Annual storage fee
Physical gold held in an IRA cannot legally be stored at home. It must go to an IRS-approved depository. Annual storage fees typically run $100 to $300 per year. Segregated storage (your metals, a dedicated space) costs more than commingled (your metals pooled with others). Segregated is the default at most established providers.
4. Metal markup over spot
When a gold IRA company sells you gold or silver, they charge above the current market (spot) price. That spread is the dealer margin. Industry-reported markups on IRA-eligible bullion typically run 5% to 8% above spot. On a $100,000 purchase, that is $5,000 to $8,000 at the moment of purchase.
The markup is not an annual recurring fee. It applies when you buy and again as a spread when you sell. It affects the real cost of the account in ways that annual fee comparisons alone do not capture. Ask every company for their current markup before committing.
Based on our four-bucket fee analysis, Augusta Precious Metals scores highest for $50K+ rollover candidates with Money Magazine #1 (2022-2026), BBB A+ Zero Complaints, and salaried specialists.
How Augusta Precious Metals Structures Its Fees
Augusta Precious Metals was founded in 2012 and is headquartered in Beverly Hills, California. It holds a BBB A+ rating with zero recorded complaints (accredited since 2014), has been named Money Magazine’s Best Overall Gold IRA Company from 2022 through 2026, and has accumulated 4,000+ five-star ratings across Trustpilot, Google, and Consumer Affairs.
Its core fee offer: a multi-year fee waiver for qualifying rollover accounts.
What the fee waiver means in practice
Augusta’s publicly stated position is that qualifying accounts receive a waiver on account fees for a multi-year period. The current terms (which fees are covered, how long the waiver lasts, and what “qualifying” means) are shared during the free one-on-one consultation. Augusta does not publish the specific terms on its public website, which is why we do not state specific numbers here either.
The direction of the difference is clear: if your annual fees are $0 during the waiver period versus $175 to $450 at a competitor, the gap is real and measurable. The specific terms for your account are what you confirm in the consultation.
Non-commissioned educators
Augusta’s sales staff are salaried and non-commissioned. From their home page: “Speak one-on-one with a salaried, non-commissioned educator.” In an industry where commission-based sales create pressure to push larger accounts or premium products, this is a structural difference worth noting. The person guiding you has no financial incentive tied to what you purchase or how much.
The Education-First Process
Augusta describes their approach as an “Education-First Process: Learn, Talk, Decide.” You start with the free 2026 Gold IRA Guide, then have a one-on-one call with an educator, then decide whether to proceed. The design gives you information before you are asked to commit.
Minimum investment
The industry-reported minimum to open an Augusta gold IRA is around $50,000 in eligible retirement funds. This figure is widely cited by third-party sources including Money.com and Investopedia, though it does not appear prominently on Augusta’s public home page. Confirm the current minimum during the free consultation before assuming eligibility.
Metal markup
Augusta does not publish a specific markup figure publicly. As with any gold IRA company, current pricing and markup structure are part of the consultation conversation. Ask for these specifics before making any purchase decision.
Get Augusta’s free consultationAugusta vs. Birch Gold vs. Noble Gold: Fee Comparison
Here is how the three companies compare on the key dimensions, using publicly stated information and industry-reported data where company-specific figures are not published.
| Fee category | Augusta Precious Metals Best Overall 2022-2026 | Birch Gold Group | Noble Gold Investments |
|---|---|---|---|
| Setup fee | Covered for qualifying accounts | Industry-reported $0-$50 | Industry-reported $0-$50 |
| Annual custodian fee | Covered for qualifying accounts | Standard industry rates (typically $75-$150/yr) | Standard industry rates (typically $75-$150/yr) |
| Annual storage fee | Covered for qualifying accounts | Standard industry rates (typically $100-$300/yr) | Standard industry rates; Noble operates its own Texas depository |
| Minimum investment | Industry-reported ~$50,000 | Industry-reported ~$10,000 | Industry-reported ~$20,000 |
| Metal markup over spot | Not published; confirmed in consultation | Not published publicly | Not published publicly |
| Sales staff model | Salaried, non-commissioned (confirmed on site) | Not specified publicly | Not specified publicly |
| BBB rating | A+, Zero Complaints (since 2014) | A+ (AAA Business Consumer Alliance) | A+ (industry-reported) |
| Goldiew avg. user rating | 4.71 / 5.0 (7 verified reviews) | 4.43 / 5.0 (7 verified reviews) | 4.67 / 5.0 (9 verified reviews) |
| Take action | Get Augusta free guide → | Get Birch Info Kit → | Get Noble guide → |
Putting it in dollar terms: three account sizes
To make the fee waiver difference concrete, here is a directional estimate across three common rollover amounts, using industry-reported annual fee ranges for companies without a waiver active.
| Rollover amount | Augusta (qualifying) | Competitor without waiver (industry-reported estimate) | Estimated 5-year fee gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| $50,000 | Waived (qualifying terms apply) | $175 to $450 per year | $875 to $2,250 over 5 years |
| $100,000 | Waived (qualifying terms apply) | $175 to $450 per year | $875 to $2,250 over 5 years |
| $250,000 | Waived (qualifying terms apply) | $175 to $600 per year (some custodians scale with balance) | $875 to $3,000 over 5 years |
These are directional estimates based on industry-reported annual fee ranges. The actual difference depends on the specific terms of Augusta’s current waiver and what the comparison company actually charges. Past performance is not a guarantee of future results. Confirm all terms before opening an account.
Two costs matter at least as much as annual fees: the metal markup at time of purchase and the buyback terms when you sell. Ask about both at every company you evaluate.
When Augusta Makes Sense on Fees (And When to Look Elsewhere)
- You have $50,000 or more in eligible retirement funds (401k, traditional IRA, SEP IRA, and others)
- Your account comes from a rollover or transfer rather than new contributions
- You want a high-touch, educational process with salaried guidance
- You are approaching or in retirement and focused on long-term cost efficiency
- You want a company with a verified BBB A+ rating and zero recorded complaints
- The waiver period covers enough years to make a meaningful difference for your timeline
- Your eligible retirement balance is below the $50,000 threshold (Birch industry-reported $10,000 minimum)
- You want fewer phone touchpoints during the opening process
- Noble’s Texas depository location is important for your storage preference
- Your holding timeline is short (under 2-3 years), where a multi-year waiver matters less
- You prefer to compare multiple companies side by side without a structured education process first
This framework focuses on fees. Other factors (which metals you want, how much support you prefer during setup, your specific retirement account type) matter too. We are not financial advisors. Consult a licensed advisor before making retirement decisions.
For broader comparisons covering process, customer ratings, and product selection alongside fees: Augusta vs. Birch Gold full comparison and Augusta vs. Noble Gold full comparison. Or see the full best gold IRA companies guide.
Frequently Asked Questions About Augusta Gold IRA Fees
You can also read our full company reviews for more detail: Augusta Precious Metals review, Birch Gold Group review, and Noble Gold Investments review. For the full side-by-side: best gold IRA companies 2026.
- IRS Publication 590-B: Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements, IRA custodian and distribution rules. Accessed May 2026.
- IRS Publication 590-A: Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements, rollover and contribution rules. Accessed May 2026.
- FINRA Investor Alert: Gold, Silver and Other Metals in IRAs, fee risks and red flags. Accessed May 2026.
- SEC investor.gov: Alternative Investments, risk context. Accessed May 2026.
- Augusta Precious Metals official site, founded 2012, BBB A+ Zero Complaints, Money Magazine 2022-2026, salaried educators, Education-First Process. Verified May 14, 2026.
- Birch Gold Group official site, founded 2011, Iowa HQ, BBB A+, AAA Business Consumer Alliance. Verified May 14, 2026.
- Noble Gold Investments official site, Encino CA, Texas depository, 16,000+ customers. Verified May 14, 2026.
- Industry fee ranges ($75-$300 custodian, $100-$300 storage, 5-8% markup) are industry-reported, consistent with FINRA guidance and third-party coverage. Individual company fees must be verified directly before opening an account.